We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

plank kitchen and bar
Ranked #71 of 161 Restaurants in Glenelg
Price range: $6 - $21
Cuisines: Australian, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Plank Kitchen is located at the Comfort Inn Haven Marina. The bright and airy cafe opens out onto the deck over looking the Patawalonga River and Holdfast Shores Marina. Quality Modern Australian Style Cuisine, Plank is fully licensed with an extensive wine list including South Australian wines. Offering personalised friendly service we ensure a memorable dining experience. Plank is open 7 days for lunch and A la Carte dinner. A la Carte or Continental Buffet Breakfast, served from 6.00Am daily. View our 'Breakfast and Lunch Menu' and 'Dinner Menu'. Enjoy a smoothie or energizing juice from our fresh juice menu. Smoothies $6.50, Choose from some wild flavours: Manga Bango, All Berry Blast, Strawberry Sensation, Chocolate Banana Bang. Pizzas, snacks, tea, coffe and drinks available all day, visitors welcome and don't forget our patio is pet friendly!
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

My second time there and it was lovely. The steaks were perfect and the staff excellent. Would definitely recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bangor263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    25
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Renmark, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Buffet Breakfast is a must!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The buffet breakfast was value for money at $20 p/p - all you can eat hot breakfast, as well as continental (toast/cereals/yoghurt/juices/tea/coffee)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RivazChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
173 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great Gleleng Restaurant”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

First time we have eaten here. Service was great, atmosphere was great and food, particularly the steaks, were done to perfection and tasted great.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in glenelg”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Quiet little place, away from the main hubbub of glenelg. You would normally drive past but it is well worth going. I have eaten here a couple of times and the food is fantastic. Parking is easy and prices are quite reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AdelaideSparky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Ok, I admit it. I was reluctant to dine in this restaurant. I had relegated it to just another hotel restaurant having had too many bad experiences in the past. My companions, tired and hungry, decided that they liked the look of the menu and that was that....we were staying in! The restaurant is well suited to summer weather and casual dining as the doors can be opened to enjoy the peaceful outlook of the river and marina across the road. In (almost) winter the dining room seemed a little cold and sparse, although this did not detract from our experience. The service that the staff delivered was great; fun, efficient and professional, we were able to also chat to the chef which was a nice change. Our meals (salmon, barramundi and steak) were extremely good, great flavours and presented very well. A bowl of 'seasonal vegetables' was a little small for three people to share so I'd recommend ordering two. The wine list had a number of wines to choose from however I found it a little disappointing given the wonderful wines that South Australia has to offer. The one drawback for this restaurant is perhaps it's location, given that it is hidden away from the crowds of Jetty Road so would potentially not attract passing tourists. This could also be a plus as it therefore isn't full of tourists...I'm sure the locals would be quite happy keeping this place to themselves! Would definitely recommend

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed plank kitchen and bar also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to plank kitchen and bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing