We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best hostel i've been in australia.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenelg Beach Hostel
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“One of the best hostel i've been in australia.”
Reviewed January 15, 2013 via mobile

Although this hostel is outside adelaide its worth to spend a couple of days there. its near the beach (2min walk) and you can all kind of shops near by. the rooms, bathrooms and the kitchen are clean and big enough to feel comfortable. i would defenetely recommend this hostel to others.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrigi1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    38
    13
    7
    6
See reviews for
1
20
32
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cologne, Germany
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This Hostel is just awesome. I had a beautiful 6-bed dorm for 28 dollars a night and it was 3 minutes from the beach away. It is in the beautiful glenelg (south adelaide) with shopping stores and restaurants all around. It has free wifi and everything is very clean, even the bathrooms. The hostel building itself is already stunning. Its a very old building from the 19th century.
It is a very quiet hostel but they also have a really good bar/nightclub just in the hostel cellar and they offer cheap drinks every day. However the its still very quiet in the rooms at nights. The only bad thing is that there is no AC in the rooms.
I just can recommend this hostel, its definetly the best in adelaide (and i've already seen several in adelaide).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snoop187371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012

A big converted house, five minutes away from the quaint Glenelg promenade. Stayed in a 7 bed dorm during the Ashes 2010/11 and the hostel was full of fellow cricket fans. Can’t fault the communal area or fully equipped kitchen, which was perfect to cook up a cheap tea in an expensive part of the world. Only three bathrooms which meant a bit of a wait during the morning rush. A tip for internet use – go to the library round the back of McDonalds to get free wi-fi! Tram takes you to central Adelaide in half an hour. Nice spot.

Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Richhufc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Glenelg - laidback surf town

Hostel - great location, strange setup, good beer garden

This hostel has a weird setup, passageways leading everywhere, staff arent very helpful and lazy.

We arrived to the hostel, checked in and given two keys each. We were told to walk outside and enter in door 5. Walked around confused and the staff werent very helpful.
twin share room bed was comfortable, but hot inside the room. No aircon, just a ceiling fan.

Bar served cheap beer and had a big beer garden to meet new people. Although one of the staff members decided to prune the garden hedge and left it for numerous days with thorns on the ground.

All in all, not a bad place

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryszy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 29, 2012

This is a straightforward Gappie type hostel. Bar downstairs which runs loud and late. I had a small but clean single room. Stayed in July and freezing cold at night with only one provided blanket. Very noisy until late. Bedroom backed onto courtyard at back of bar. Guys from the room next door smoking and chatting on balcony outside my window until 3am, my room smelt of smoke.
Couldn't find the so-called breakfast!
Fine if you're intending on going out drinking with mates, but I wouldn't recommend to anyone else.

Room Tip: Don't pick 5c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drtombradley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ko Pha Ngan, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2012

Located just steps from the Tram stop and beach in Glenelg, this is the perfect place to stay in Adelaide. The rooms are fan cooled and have single beds instead of bunks so you don't feel so crammed in. Staff was friendly and helpful. Kitchen and common room were adequate, though the floors have seen better days. there's a liscenced bar on premises, and a nice common area in the back. Was great for a few days stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

Having been to Adelaide a few times, I prefer staying in the bay as opposed to the city, plus the tram is half a block from the hostel and takes you directly to the center when needed. Rooms are average for a hostel and could use more plugs. Bed was comfy enough and bathrooms fine. There is a great bar/common area and outside courtyard. The owner is very friendly and the hostel has a social atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petegas78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.3 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
742 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.3 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#1 of 12 in Glenelg
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenelg Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Beach Hostel

Property: Glenelg Beach Hostel
Address: 1 Moseley Sq, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Glenelg Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adelaide's only beachside backpackers hostel, housed in a beautiful heritage building with high lofty ceilings, period features and open fireplaces. Female only, mixed dorms and private rooms available, all with linen and light breakfast included. Full facilities including 24hr backpackers TV lounge, kitchen, internet cafe, laundry, licensed bar and beer garden on site. visiting Adelaide... stay at the beach! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelWorld, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Glenelg Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing