We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Misrepresented on the website photos & disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Misrepresented on the website photos & disappointed”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The hotel is well located, clean and the staff is professional. Another positive point is the free onsite parking. However, what you see on the website is not what you get; the photos are misleading and are much newer/nicer than the actual room we had. Very thin walls so you can hear your neighours especially the bathroom water running. Carpets would need a change as they are smelly in the entire building. Quite disappointed with the experience overall and the fact that the photos are not representative of the actual hotel

Room Tip: Ask for a room with Marina view - it's most likely nicer than the one we had
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flemarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hi there,

Thank you for your feedback.

In regards to our website photos being misleading I dont believe this to be true. Most of our room shots are of our Marina View and Balcony rooms, as we like to showcase the amazing views . Those photos are a true reflection of these room types and are clearing explained on our website. The room you booked and stayed in was one of our standard rooms (no view) so you are correct in staying it was different to the photos.

Im surprised you also mention the carpets being smelly, as it was just laid over the southern side of the building 6 weeks ago, maybe it still has that new smell?

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our staff but Its important before you leave negative feedback for others to view, you have all the facts. If you have voiced this to our staff on arrival, we would have been more than happy to show you another room type to make your stay more comfortable.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    69
    94
    28
    26
See reviews for
58
102
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Renmark, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I booked a standard room on wotif.com for a winter warmer deal of $89, the room included a queen and single bed facing the marina. The room was really quite large, comfy beds and tastefully decorated. A large tv, mini bar, tea/coffee facilities. Wardrobe and hanging space. The bathroom was older in décor, but still quite large and everything in working order. I was really happy with what I got. In excellent location within walking distance to the main street of Glenelg.
We had breakfast in the Planks restaurant, buffet all you can eat for $20 and it was delicious. They only had scrambled eggs, I prefer fried and asked for some which the staff were only too happy to assist with at no extra cost.
Will definitely be back again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RivazChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Hello,

Thank you for your lovely feedback.

I see you chose our "Winter Warm up" package which is great value and has been very popular.
Im also pleased to see you enjoyed our buffet breakfast which is also great value as were improving it all the time.

We look forward to welcoming your back in the future, perhaps when the weather is nice and warm and you can enjoy the beach!

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We stayed 6 nights at the Comfort Inn Haven Marina mainly because of the location close to relatives who we were visiting, as well as the proximity to Jetty Road shops and the beach. The rooms are very comfortable and clean, the beds cosy and service excellent. The rooms are a bit dated, but clean and well furnished. We received a 25% discount off the total bill at the Plank Restaurant downstairs at the motel, and the food and service there were excellent. Overall a great place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2013

We stayed at the Comfort Inn for 2 nights with a Marina View room. Was very nice for a motel style room, all we needed, and nicely clean. The shower curtain isn't so nice, but can put up with it. There was a small gap in the window which the wind was getting through, but when we told reception, they were straight onto it with the maintenance. Free wifi in the rooms, reception staff very nice and helpful, free car parking, and a restaurant on sight, that looked really nice, didn't try it though. Location very good, on the marina and easy walk to Jetty Road and the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnitabellMilano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

Overnight stay for the family on a quick visit to Adelaide. Room was fine and comfortable, restaurant was excellent (see separate review). However my complaints: The carparking it absolutely hopeless under the building, particularly when you have a larger vehicle. My biggest issue though, the motel requires pre approval for your credit card on arrival. No problem with that but was is it with the extra $100 deposit for your key!!! When I went to checdk out next morning the receptionist was very rude and abrupt and when I queried the key deposit was tolds "well we get a lot of people staying here who have no money on their credit card" But I did a pre approval the night before so the problem is?? " Well it costs a lot to replace keys if they are lost" I advised said female that we usually stay at the Comfort Inn on Anzac Highway but had decided to try this one for a change but would not be returning (Other one doesnt even take a card swipe from me now, just pay the account next morning). Her reply, "well sorry about that thats just too bad, we have to do it" and she almost threw my Credit Card, Choice Hotel card and receipt at me. Needs a little lesson in dealing with customers I think. Sorry, will go where we are treated nicely and the rooms are at least accessible from your vehicle.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mamiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback.

In regards to the "hopeless" carparking we have three other carparks on the property for our guest and visitors to utilise, unfortunately the one you chose to park your car in can be difficult with a larger vehicle, hence the other three open carparks.

We pride ourselves on our great customer service as per our many other reviews, so im sorry you felt you where treated poorly. Our checkin staff have certain procedures they need to follow to be able to check a guets into the hotel - an imprint of a credit card or $100 cash bond to cover any incidentals is one of them. As you are a regular guest at the Anzac Highway Hotel I would say that is why they do not ask you for credit card details, as they obviously have a relationship with you that we dont.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Tribulation
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I simply can't believe that this place has only 3 stars. I booked it simply to be close to Adelaide Airport, and when I arrived assumed that the restaurant would be shut ( Tuesday night etc) but was pleasantly surprised by friendly staff and good food. The room was better than I expected for the price, and the good service continued until my departure next day. Can I get extra milk for my daughter?...no problem, can I take my unfinished wine glass to me room?,,,no problem!
This once again highlights why I no longer regard Tripadvisor as reliable advice for booking accommodation. Too many people trying to live a champagne lifestyle on a beer budget!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truelocal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you for leaving your lovely feedback... and very well put might I add.

Its a shame people use tripadvisor as their first point of compliant, if isues are brought to our attention at the time of stay we would have the opportunity to fix them!

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 4, 2013

we were in glenelg recently for a conference and decided to stay an extra couple of days to wind down and relax. we had the pleasure of staying at the comfort inn haven marina. great location close to the water and all that glenelg has to offer and it's a short trip by cab or tram into the inner city of adelaide.

the customer service at comfort inn haven marin was second to none both at the front desk, bistro and even the cleaning staff. all made us feel extremley welcome and always went over and above to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

in terms of facilities, it is nothing special but considering what we paid it was neat and tidy and somewhere to sleep for the night.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank emz03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback, we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.3 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.5 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
753 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Haven Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Haven Marina

Property: Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Address: Haven Motor Inn 6-10 Adelphi Tce, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Haven Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Haven Marina is a 68 room property that welcomes you with a familiar face and friendly smile! We are conveniently located in the Glenelg Beachside precinct of Adelaide overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. Overview copy The Comfort Inn Haven Marina welcomes you with a familiar face and friendly smile! We are conveniently located in the Glenelg Beachside precinct of Adelaide overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. A 5 minute stroll will get you to the beach and Jetty Road which offers great shopping, dining and nightlife. Comfort Inn Haven Marina is a 68 room property with complimentary on-site parking. All rooms include complimentary WiFi internet and Foxtel. Our in-house Restaurant Plank Kitchen & Bar opens out onto the deck overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. Plank Kitchen & Bar offers quality Modern Australian Cuisine, with an extensive Wine List including South Australian wines and great service ensuring a memorable dining experience. Conferencing is made easy with our professional and friendly approach, fabulous menus and flexibility to tailor make an event to suit your requirements. Reception is open from 6am-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn Haven Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Haven Marina Hotel Glenelg
Comfort Inn Glenelg
Glenelg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing