We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great locatiion.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn Haven Marina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great locatiion.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Great location and friendly service. Only disappointment was the bathroom in room, although the bedroom has had a facelift the bathroom was old. Shower over bath was small and narrow and the shower curtain did not help the situation.

Restaurant was very clean and staff friendly and efficient. A good range of selection in both food and beverages.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, May 5, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback, we appreciate you taking the time to do so. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Haven in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    67
    91
    25
    24
See reviews for
53
99
17
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

First I'll speak about the facilities.

Our room was clean, though the bathroom was a little dated. The beds were comfortable but the pillows too soft for me.

Now our one complaint.

This was a special weekend away with my sisters for my birthday. We chose this hotel for the price. My sister booked via Webjet.com. On the one booking she booked:
Room 1
Type 1 Queen Bed & 1 Single Bed No Smoking No View Air Conditioning Cable Satellite Tv
Check In Date 12 Apr '13 Check Out Date 14 Apr '13
Total No. of Nights 2 nights
No. of People 2 Adults
Room 2
Type 1 Queen Bed & 1 Single Bed No Smoking Marina View Air Conditioning
Check In Date 12 Apr '13 Check Out Date 14 Apr '13
Total No. of Nights 2 nights
No. of People 2 Adults

Now one would think that if you booked two rooms on the one booking form that you would naturally want these rooms to be next to each other or at least close, but when we arrived we were told that due to a bus load coming in that we could not have the rooms not only not together but not even in the same section of the hotel. One was on the 'old' side and the other on the 'newer' side.

So we decided not to use their dining facilities either night, instead enjoying a nice Thai in Glenelg and my special dinner at The Top of the World Restaurant (see my other review) on the second night.

I'm not sure that I would recommend this hotel or if I did I'd definitely say to contact them if you want something specific because they obviously can not think for themselves.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Toni F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for leaving your feedback, however I would like to respond to a few misleading comments.

When receiving a multiple reservation (2 or more rooms) we do our best to make sure that they’re kept close together but unfortunately some factors, such as at the time we received your booking the hotel was already full with guests already staying. I’m sure you can appreciate we cannot ask these guests to move. Another factor which you have clearly out lined is that one of the rooms you booked was a Marina view room and the other was a standard room, these rooms are in different areas of the hotel i.e.: one being at the front with a view, so in this case this is why your rooms where unable to be side by side.

We have an amazing reservation team that always strive to fulfil all our guest requests and needs when it is possible. We want all our guest to enjoy their experience at the Haven, so they keep coming back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Good location next to marina, room was adequate but dated and lacking in amenities. A good coat of paint and a clean in the bathroom would be appreciated. Noise.. well staying out the back with the inadequate parking we got a lot of noise from 1 the Kitchen @ 5am starting the exhaust fan sounded like a plane which then took of @ 6.30am. Airport is very close..Revelers kept us awake most of the night and then the Cleaning staff started, boy can the yack... Didn't eat there so can't comment. Reception was pretty non plussed when we mentioned the noise issues.. I guess you get what you pay for...won't be back.
To be fair it is in a good location, a good walk to Jetty Road and I like a walk after dinner.. There are some good restaurants along the marina.

Room Tip: if you really must.. insist on the rooms facing the street probably quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alpal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenelg hotels

Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

We booked over the phone and paid extra for a Marina View room. The room turned out to be on the ground floor so we would have kept the curtains closed for privacy - but also a tall car was parked immediately in front of our window blocking any view. The traffic noise was also very loud so we switched rooms to non-Marina View - but they insisted on charging the same price. Otherwise, the room and facilities were fine, and the motel is in a good location.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ritchie999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This was one of the many stops we had while touring VIC, SA and NSW and we stayed 3 days in this accommodation. It was close to most facilities, with a bit of walking or tram, and the rooms were clean, tidy and well serviced - although starting to show a bit of wear and age. Staff were friendly and the dining rooms were also reasonably priced and a good array of meals. Parking is good and basically right at your door.

Room Tip: Keep away from the rooms facing the main traffic area - Which unfortunately faces onto the marina an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your feedback. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forwrd to welcoming your back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jindabyne, Australia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

this is simply a car hotel- where you can drive and park at the door of your room, at $160 per night there are far, far better options in Glenelg. This is a $90 hotel max.
This hotel states that is close to the cafes etc but you will need to walk a long way to get to the main area of Glenelg. It is not close.
It was very noisy- as can be expected when cars depart each 30 minutes throughout the night and they are parked at your door, and smokers sit out front of their rooms and chat.
I was surprised to see a car hotel that still exists in a big city- such a rarity and to be avoided next time.
The room was clean and neat.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback.

Our hotel offers some very competitive rates , offten as low as $99 during the off peak period. During Feburary and of course "Mad March" with Adelaide hosting three major events our rates do reflect this peak time but are still very reasonable compared to our local competitors.

In regards to the parking, being able to park off the street and close to your room for no extra cost is a great advantage in this busy area. Most Glenelg Hotels are charging over $20 per day for parking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Came here for a conference. Expected the worse after reading some of the comments here.
Fair enough, it is a bit dated but if you get good price theres nothing to complain about. Check in was fast and friendly. Motel room a good size, well equipped & very comfortable bed.
Breakfast is bain-marie style for the hot food which I usually hate but the food here was cooked about right, and best of all it was kept hot; better than I have had in many 5 star hotels in quality (not in choice).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikkimca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BBriggs07, General Manager at Comfort Inn Haven Marina, responded to this review, April 7, 2013
Thank you for your positive feedback.

Our hot buffet breakfast is very popular with our guests/locals and at a reasonable price too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.5 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.3 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.8 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Haven Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Haven Marina

Property: Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Address: Haven Motor Inn 6-10 Adelphi Tce, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Comfort Inn Haven Marina 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Haven Marina is a 68 room property that welcomes you with a familiar face and friendly smile! We are conveniently located in the Glenelg Beachside precinct of Adelaide overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. Overview copy The Comfort Inn Haven Marina welcomes you with a familiar face and friendly smile! We are conveniently located in the Glenelg Beachside precinct of Adelaide overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. A 5 minute stroll will get you to the beach and Jetty Road which offers great shopping, dining and nightlife. Comfort Inn Haven Marina is a 68 room property with complimentary on-site parking. All rooms include complimentary WiFi internet and Foxtel. Our in-house Restaurant Plank Kitchen & Bar opens out onto the deck overlooking the Holdfast Shores Marina. Plank Kitchen & Bar offers quality Modern Australian Cuisine, with an extensive Wine List including South Australian wines and great service ensuring a memorable dining experience. Conferencing is made easy with our professional and friendly approach, fabulous menus and flexibility to tailor make an event to suit your requirements. Reception is open from 6am-11pm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn Haven Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Haven Marina Hotel Glenelg
Comfort Inn Glenelg
Glenelg Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing