We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal location in Adelaide”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Ideal location in Adelaide”
Reviewed December 2, 2010

This hotel had the best location in Glenelg Beach, Adelaide, overlooking the beach. The view from our room was amazing !! The room was very clean and nice, but they were painting and doing some reconstructions in the hotel at the time, and they were making a LOT of noise since very early in the morning (prior to 7 am), interrupting the guest´s sleep. This was annoying, and nobody in the hotel warned us about this ahead of time, and certainly no special fee due to this. No free Wifi.
Other than this, the bar and restaurants are very nice, and, as stated before, the location is really great.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YADX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    366
    156
    78
    51
See reviews for
188
345
36
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 23, 2010

stayed in a one bedroom apartment which was very comfortable, large room with great size balcony,well equiped kitchen and absolutely spotless, very central and right on the beach, plenty of restaurants and cafes nearby .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s9nra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

First, the positives. The hotel is in a fantastic location, right beside the beach and the main shopping area in Glenelg. The hotel was well-presented and clean and roomy, although the furnishings were beginning to look tired.I was staying with my husband and parents-in-law in a 2 room suite. My main problems were that there was no wifi, unless you wanted to sit in the foyer and pay $10 for 30 minutes. Not good enough for a hotel of this quality. I can get free or reasonably priced wifi in 3 star hotels in tiny country towns so it is unbelievable that a modern hotel in a capital city would not offer this. The other major problem was the one bathroom which was a half ensuite. That is, it had two doors. One leading to the shared living area and another to one of the bedrooms. I hate these. I could not believe that there was no latch on the door leading to the bedroom. There was no latch on the main door either. I had to have super quick showers, worrying all the time that my father-in-law would walk in on me. This is just plain stupid. Also, given that the suite was designed for 2 couples, it was silly to have only a 2 seated sofa in the tv area. There was plenty of room for an extra sofa. Finally, our bed had a cheap mattress. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thelawnneedsmowing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenelg hotels

southern tablelands
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

I stayed here in early September travelling with my husband who was in Adelaide on business. We got a good rate through the Entertainment book but would have been highly disappointed if we had paid the full rate. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view apartment and it was clean and although the lounge could do with a good clean it was other wise acceptable. The view is beautiful and the hotel is within walking distance of the tram into the city. The service was polite. The thai restarant downstairs was good but the hotel is within walking distance of some great restaurants at the Marina. I was a little worried after reading some of the reviews before we went but it was not as bad as some made out.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxed_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2010

We were given a one night stay at Oaks Pier Plaza as a wedding gift. The thing that annoyed us most about the gift was you couldn't use the voucher on Friday or Saturday night. The hotel itself isn't too bad. We stayed in a one bedroom ocean view apartment on level one. It would have been nicer to stay on a higher level but we coped ok with level one. The room was clean, some of the furniture is looking a little tired but have seen worse at The Grand down the road! The bed was not very comfortable and bathroom lacking the wow factor.

The pool and spa area is very nice, however the spa is quite cold. The gym looked good and was empty on both occasions we walked past. The check-in and check-out process took awhile as there seemed to be only one person on the desk which was quite annoying. I think certain rooms in the hotel would be quite noisy on the weekend due to the night club below. This hotel is just ok, make sure you get a good rate as the rack rate is VERY over priced.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bekstar82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
1 review
Reviewed August 27, 2010

Should have read the other reviews before booking this dive. Had stayed here years before and the location pulled me back. Has clearly gone down the drain. Very low grade, run down, tacky furniture, old hard beds and pillows, misleading re ocean views. I was in an expensive 2 bedroom apartment but put on only Level 2 on the side facing the above ground car park next to the gym and swimming pool. Worse thing was two very load discos pumping through the hotel walls, floors and bed Friday and Saturday night. Noise did not stop til well after 2.00 a.m. Visited Reception at 12.30 a.m. on the first night requesting quiet. Didn't work. Checked out one night early and am seeking refund for the two nights booked. Hotel is being uncooperative and bureaucratic. No sense of customer service from staff generally, although the security guys, when checking with me acknowledged the problem, there have obviously been many similar compaints. Other services - concierge, telephone operator, cafe and resaurant either non existent or rundown. Hotel is in denial, is expensive, low grade and very poor value for money. Will loose more business than it obviously has already once the reality is more widely understood by the customers.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis_murray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I found the check-in efficient and the staff friendly. We booked a one bedroom apartment and were given room 225 on the second floor. This apartment (and probably others numbered around 20 to 30 approx) only has a side or partial ocean view, despite the description being 'ocean view' in the costing, so be aware that you might not have a room on the seafront. The apartment itself was spacious enough, clean and well appointed, however the TV, and stereo are not modern and the second TV in the bedroom is very small. The contemporary sofa was broken, with exposed timber and fittings showing through the fabric and there were plenty of scratches and marks on the wall where the dining table is located. The kitchen was equipped with enough utensils and crockery etc for 4 people. The bathroom was basic, but had a large, comfortable bath and standard towels and soaps etc. Overall, not too bad, as I was expecting it to be worse after reading other reviews on this website. The big negative was being two floors above the bar, which was loud until about 3am and made sleeping impossible. Also the balcony to the apartment next door was directly outside our bedroom window and this made the noise even worse. The indoor pool, spa and sauna were okay (steam room out of order), but the gym is very basic with a few cardio machines only. On the ground floor is a casual cafe, which opens after 10.30am, forcing you to pay a fortune for breakfast in the upmarket restaurant. There is also a good value Thai restaurant which can do take-out or room service for lunch or dinner.
If you are able to guarantee a full oceanfront apartment and have this in writing, then maybe this hotel is worth staying in, otherwise give it a miss. The rooms do need updating and the technology as well.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rossco747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: Ramada Pier 16 Holdfast Prom, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing