We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything you need.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Reviewed June 16, 2006

We spent 1 week here in May 2006. 2 adults & 2 kids. We are travelling from europe so i was pleased with the 2 bedroom appartment as it contained all that we needed. Tea, coffee , washing machine with powder. The appartments are modern but do look like some of the couches should be recovered. There is also internet access in the rooms although we were not able to get ours to work.
The appartment also had a lovely view of glenelg beach , but as it was low season there were lots of trucks on the beach doing some sort of renovation.
Pool was great and it is also very easy to get into Town with the tram.
All together we were happy there.
If you arrive with a car you do have to pay for parking.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank N W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

898 - 904 of 923 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2006

This is a hotel with modern design. Room is clean, spacious, cooking and laundry facilities are just great!

There is a small pool and gym at 2nd floor. The pool is at best good for 2 to 3 families for water play coz swimming will be a problem.

Be aware tho, becoz of it's near-sea location, it the price is a little steeper than those in the city. Parking is 12 bucks a day. Again, 2 streets off ANZ HW, free parking is available from 5pm to 8am next day. The choice is yours.

We saw sunset while strolling along the windy beach just outside the hotel. The property is a little walk to the reowned Jetty Road where all the happenings are.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alexgoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2006

My family and I stayed in this hotel last year during the city-bay fun run.
The hotel room was gorgeous, it was very large and spacious and beautifully decorated, and the spa/sauna/gym and pool was great! The spa is not huge so it we didn't get to use it much, but everything else was great! The pool is large and very clean, the two saunas were also clean and the gym was very modern and had lots of equipment.
The hotel staff seemed very nice, they were very helpful when we spoke to them.
I'd definitely stay again and highly reccommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank georgie2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2006

We stayed at the Plaza Pier for four nights in Jan 06. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment on their website at a price of $190 a night. While generally quite happy we had the following problems:
1)The second bedroom didn't have proper walls, only frosted glass sliding doors with a smallish double bed. You can't stay in the lounge watching TV or reading when someone is in this room trying to sleep as it is flooded with light and noise.
2) The dishwasher didn't work
3) Having to pay ($16 a day) for parking is ridiculous
4) The gym consisted of a couple of treadmills and exercise bikes. No weight equipment at all.
5) Beware of Adelaide on public holidays. Everything is shut. We couldn't buy food for self catering for two days.
6) Get a room well away from the nightclub

On the other hand
1) Great position
2) The cafes on the ground floor (Italian and Thai - didn't try the restaurant)were nice and good value.
3) Furnishings/bed/towells good
4) Really nice bathroom.

In summary, expect a four star experience. I don't know how this qualifies as a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rdk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2006

Stayed at the Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel in Glenelg first week in February 2006 - Initially we were placed in a first floor apartment directly over the bar and one thing the Aussies like to do is celebrate Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights - didn't get to sleep until 2-30AM - Reception were very helpful and moved us to the fifth floor facing the beach - heard no more. All round this is a nice apartment hotel directly on the beach (which is superb) and if you are an airplane buff you can watch aircraft taking off and landing at Adelaide airport to your hearts content.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Robertn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2006

Booked this hotel on the recommendation of a work colleague. They suggested that we stay in the suburbs rather than the city centre. Glad we took the recommendation; this hotel is located directly on the beach and is in a lovely location. The hotel is an apartment type hotel and has all the facilities you would expect, fridgefreezer, oven/hob, toaster, kettle, dishwasher, washing machine. The Hotel also has a number of restaurants on site as well as a coffee bar and bar.

There is some building work going on next to the hotel but this did not detract from our stay. We had a fabulous sea view - the sunsets were amazing. We travelled into the city centre using the tram which took about 30mins.

Overall this was a great hotel in a great location, cost a bit more but was worth every penny to be near the beach.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AAD1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2006

We stayed her on the first leg of our trip. We arrived at the hotel at 9am and hotel room was available, but i had paid an extra A$80 so it would be, as we had flown 24 hours from the UK and had our 2 year old with us. We booked directly with the hotel and paid A$250 per night, but i feel that it was worth it. The only down side was that breakfast was not included and it cost us A$25 each. There are 3 restaurants (Posh food, Indian, Pizza) and one coffee shop (Lovely latte's)

The staff were polite, but not that interactive. The rooms are well equiped with everything you need for a selfcatering holiday.

Glenelg is only about a 5 minute walk along the beach. It has all the shops you could need, Woolworth supermarket, bakery, pubs, restaurants etc. There is also the tram that will take you directly into Adelaide in about 25 minutes.

We had paid for a sea view, but our room was on the side of the hotel, so we had a view of the marina as well, so a little disappointed not a full sea view. The rooms are big enough, but not large. It 4 adults were staying in the two bedroom apartment, you might be on top of each other. There is only a settee, which is very ikeaish and would not seat 4 adults.

There was building work happening on the other side of the hotel (building a new hotel) but we were the other side, so did not hear anything. We did find our during our visit that some of the apartments are privately owned, as on our first afternoon the room above was having some repairs carried out and we had to complain about the drilling, but it did stop once we had notified the front desk.

Over all, i would recommend this hotel for a self catering family holiday by the sea.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Country_Lass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: $111 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing