We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“amazing setting in modern facilities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“amazing setting in modern facilities”
Reviewed March 1, 2009

My partner booked us 1 night stay in an apartment which was really really nice. she paid a fair amount for it but we had a ocean view and balcony and the apartment was a large size with cooking facilities and nice simple decor. it was perfect for a quiet, clean , modern bit of luxury for a break. the pool and spa is nice too :)

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank netsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    372
    157
    80
    52
See reviews for
193
347
37
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
solihull
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2009

We arrived at the check-in desk after flights of over 26 hours, tired, but excited to be in Australia to visit our daughter and grandchildren who had moved to Adelaide three and a half years ago, to be told that the apartment we had booked over a year ago ( high floor, ocean view, yes no problem) , was now a first floor apartment over what can only be described as a goods-inward-warehouse entrance, and also overlooking a car park and quite literally over a taxi rank.
When we voiced objection to offer, we were met with an air of total indifferance by the male member of staff who's name began with the letter 'L' no hint of wanting to do anything to help in easing the upset that we wre now feeling, just a flat refusal to do anything but to say ''we are full '' and then turn and walk away into an office.

We had paid a lot of money for this trip and did not have the funds to go elseware otherwise we would not have hesitated,so we had to put up with the sounds of the deliveries in the mornings (so no alarm clock was needed ''big deal'') also the garbage collection, not the best place to be having breakfast on the balcony with massive skips full of heaven knows what being hoisted higher than the balcony and emptied into the truck and only a few metres from the building.
Gen elg is a great place and we would love to return but on no account will we ever return or recommend the Oaks Plaza Pier to ANYONE.
On checking out we were told that we had to pay a fee for the underground car park and even when it was ( with great difficulty ) 'politly ' pointed out that we DID NOT EVEN HAVE A CAR it was some minutes , after checking and re-checking with some one over the phone that we were told (almost as if they were doing us a favour) that ''that there will be no fee to pay''

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rojandjeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plaza_Pier, Area Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 6, 2009
This is not the kind of experience we would like our guests to enjoy when visiting the Plaza Pier. It is extremely unfortunate that these guests used a travel agent which booked a different room type with the property than what they had promised and sold to the guest.

After reading the response from rojandjeen, they indicate that they booked this apartment a year in advance and had booked an ocean view apartment. There is not any doubt in our minds that this guest probably did book this accommodation more than a year in advance, and that the agent promised them an ocean view room. However, when the agent booked with the property they certainly did not do this a year in advance. Additionally, this particular agent does not have a contract to even book ocean view apartments and as such could have never been able to book it with the hotel.

For this guest it is extremely unfortunate that they did not book directly with the hotel but rather through a less than honest travel agent. As you can read, the guest requested and apparently was promised a high floor and ocean views by the agent and and been told by the agent would not be a problem, despite the fact the property had never been contacted about this. Also as previously mentioned, this agent does not have contracted rates for ocean view or high floors.

This particular guest booked through a U.K. Travel Agent that has been offered extremely discounted wholesale rates at the Plaza Pier. These rooms are deeply discounted to the agent, but appearantly the agent has not passed these savings on to the guest, nor informed them that they are unable to book ocean view rooms for this rate. We clearly regret that an agent has done this to these poor guests and as such presented our property in poor light.

In this instance, it is truly a terrible experience for the guest that has been promised something by a travel agent which clearly the agent has no ability to honor. These guests were given the room type for the amount paid for on their behalf by this wholesale travel agent. We regret that the travel agent has misled the guest and unfortunately the guest is under the assumption that the hotel has not gotten the booking correct.

We have had several complaints about this particular U.K. based agent regarding similar issues. We will not be renewing the agreement with this agent for the next year at the Plaza Pier.

We suggest that to avoid any misrepresentations by agents, it is best to contact the property directly in order to make reservations. By doing this, the exact room type is clearly described and a confirmation is sent to the guest indicating this. This will prevent agents from promising things which they cannot book and subsequently leaving the hotel property to repair the damage. By contacting the property direct you will be booking the room directly with the property and there will be no chance for misrepresentation in order to make a commission.

We would like to apologise to any guest where the agent has not booked what has been promised to them. It would certainly be truly disappointing to arrive somewhere thinking that they were getting something specific, only to find out it was something different. It is unfortunate that these guests were led to believe that they had booked premium rooms when in reality discount rooms through a wholesaler were actually what was booked and as such what was offered to the guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenelg hotels

adelaide
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2009

This is the worst experience ive ever had with hotel/apartment staff. They were rude and abrupt. I was booked for a oceanview room but got a room looking at some buildings with a partial view, the room was very dirty and furnishings, curtains stained. When booking in there i was told we couldnt use a combined credit/debit card as a holding deposit, but it turns out they accepted it. The Manager was very rude and said basically if we didnt have a credit card on checking in that we would lose our gift voucher (which had been a christmas gift). When we asked for directions to a local restaurant, the girl on the desk said, i have no idea where it is and hung up. Unbelievably rude. I would not recommend this hotel and would never stay with Oaks again.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — rudeness of staff
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LesleyDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend in Adelaide for a friends wedding. This is the second time that we have stayed here for a friends wedding and both times the service and attitude of the staff have been rather lacking.

The first time I just thought it might have been that they were having a bad weekend (that was in September of last year). I lost a pair of shorts in the room and asked if the cleaners had accidently picked them up but the staff behaved as if it was a massive ordeal to try and find them and eventually I was told that no one had found them. No big deal though .

This weekend however from the moment we checked in to the hotel we were made to feel as if they didn't really care if we were there or not. We asked them for directions to one of the restuarants and we made to feel like idiots (yes Ok if we had walked a bit further along we would have found it)

When I booked on the hotels website a month ago I asked if we could have a late checkout as out flight back to QLD wasn't until later that afternoon. When we called to make sure it was ok to have a late check (once we got there) we were told that we had to call on the day of checkout to see if it was possible. SO on the day of checkout my husband called to reception and requested a late check out at 9.15am nd was granted a 45minute extension to 10.45am (so generous).

However about 10.010am we received a call from reception reminding us that checkout was at 10am I explained that my husband had already arranged a late checkout with someone however I was very bluntly told that because there was no record on the system I had to leave immediately.. Ummmm What????

I tried to explain what had happned as my husband was in the shower at the time however got no where. They didn't want to know my side of the story and it was their incompetent staff who had made the mistake in the first place. We have resolved never to stay there again no matter how desperate we are for somewhere to stay..

Very poor form!

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank Remy074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2009

We finished our Great Ocean Road trip from Melbourne to Adelaide at the Paks Plaza Pier. We spent two nights there just before Christmas and had a wonderful time.

We got the room last minute for very cheap, and really had no idea what to expect but what we got was a brand new, clean, 1 bedroom apartment which even had laundry facilities in room which was great at the end of our trip.

Glenelg is only 10 mins drive from airport which makes it a great business place to stay as well.

The beach was lovely, and we had dinner in one of the hotel's restaurants watching the sun set in front of us.

Parking was below the hotel and although we had to pay for it, we knew that before arriving.

The balcony (we had city-view, ocean-view would be fabulous) was huge!

Internet was not free - that would be something the hotel should perhaps look at if they are trying to retain business market.

Lots of cafes/restaurants all around the hotel. The Stamford is just close by too.

Had a unexpectedly great stay here.

  • Liked — The views!
  • Disliked — Didn't have complimentary internet.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank GWorldTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2009

We booked a one bedroom apartment for a week, when I booked I told them that we would be drivining from Melbourne and did they have parking available, yes not a problem at all.
When we arrived after a 8 hour drive we where told by a very rude guy behind the desk that infact they did not have parking as such under the building that is pay as you go in a public park carpark.
When I asked how I paided for a weeks parking he told me to read the machine and follow the instructions. I ask what if we want to go out and look around Adelaide would we be able to get back in under the public carpark he told me that if we went out they could not be sure if we could get back in as it is busy on the weekends?
The guy at the front desk was so rude about the whole thing my husband told him that we will not be staying and would not be paying the cancellation fee which he did agree to after awhile.
We told them to let people know that it is a Park At Your Own Risk in a public carpark so people will know.
We did end up have a great time in Adelaide in anther hotel up the road with water views and somewhere to leave our car

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
Helpful?
1 Thank brent66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We stayed Jan 2008. Family with two small boys 7 and 3.
Rooms were great and clean. All amenities you need.
Excellent location right on the beach front. Walk to everything you could need. Restaurants, tram, shops etc etc.
Although checkin was alittle slow as alot of people leaving, we didn't have a problem and staff were polite to us. Key didn't work first time and they fixed it immediately.
Beds comfortable and room cleaned every day. Washer/dryer in apartment. Full kitchen. not that we used it...
We enjoyed our stay so much we are booked to return this Dec for 5 nights over new years eve and looking forward to it very much. Fantastic place if you have kids and have had friends stay recently on our recommendation who also enjoyed their stay.
Coffee shop downstairs should have been opened, must have gone broke, but other restaurants in the hotel are good quality.
Booked a sea view this year - had park view last year and hoping to get a good apartment with view of new years celebrations, as kids won't make midnight. And we can still enjoy it.
But - recommend this place as one of the best at Glenelg and perfect for families with kids. Booked via Qantas and got a good deal. Hope this year is as much fun as last year and looking forward to it very much.

  • Liked — Location and cleanliness. Apartment style perfect for family with little kids. right on beach!!
  • Disliked — Checkin slow. coffee shop downstairs not operating, no newspaper each day - would be nice.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank calekids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing