We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for one night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Port Lincoln
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Good for one night”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

Booked as a mystery hotel. Located a short drive from the airport which is what we needed for an early morning flight. One bedroom self contained apartment. My only complaint was there was only two pillows and a heap of cushions. Please provide 4 for those of us that like two each. Good location for a longer stay close to Jetty Road, restaurants and the beach.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frangipani69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. It is wonderful to hear that you found our apartments well appointed and the location convenient to explore Glenelg. We regret that you were uncomfortable due to the pillows, we do keep spare pillows in the wardrobe should you require in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    372
    156
    80
    52
See reviews for
192
347
36
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 5, 2014

Location, location, location, on the beach, right in the hub of Glenelg so restaurants are all with in walking distance and your right next to the beach.
The room was fantastic, separate bedroom, small kitchen facility so you can prepare your own meals and a living room with a view over the gulf. Decor is modern, fresh and very clean.
Staff were very polite and helpful, overall a very enjoyable experience.
You wont be disappointed spending one night or a week at the Oaks.

Room Tip: Ask for the beach side, the view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2014
Thank you for taking time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It was great to hear that you enjoyed the location and the proximity suited your requirements. We are glad that you found our apartments well equipped, modern and clean. We do pride ourselves on our service and I am pleased that you found all the staff friendly and helpful. On behalf of the team at Oaks Plaza Pier we look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

The only thing going for this hotel is the location.
Arrived in Adelaide for medical reasons and expected a stress free stay.
After 3 days of complaining that the washer/dryer was not working, the staff told me it was my imagination. They finally sent maintenance who said it was broken and would take 2 days to fix.
I am still waiting for the tv and the toilet to be fix.
They moved us to another room over the pub.
With 2 kids and a husband in hospital the partying from the pub until 2 am on Friday and Saturday was a bit much.
Had to ring 3 times to get room serviced and was abused by housekeeping that how dare I expect her to clean the room.
Rooms are run down for the amount they charge so would be looking for somewhere else next time.
The staff did not make any effort to help and where useless.
Wouldn't stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask to be away from the pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. It is disappointing to read that you experienced lower standards in the presentation of the apartments and our service. We will pass your comments in regards to the maintenance issues onto the Maintenance Manager for their immediate attention. We do apologise that the staff were unable to assist you with this during your stay and we will take much from this case to further develop our staff and improve the overall guest experience. We regret that you were inconvenienced by the noise from the bar. The bar is owned and operated by a different company and we will pass on your feedback to them. We apologise for the issues mentioned and hope that this has not marred your overall impression of us and we would like to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenelg hotels

Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2014

It is a great hotel it has all the facilities you would possibly need it has a indoor heated pool and a gym and a sauna and they are all on level 2. The apartments are spacious and a average size kitchen. In the lobby the staff are very welcoming and helpful.it has secure underground parking and it has big parking spaces. In total this hotel is excellent and it certainty is a family friendly hotel so I give this hotel a ten out of ten.

Room Tip: Try to get a ocean view apartment
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldwide_Empire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to hear that you found our apartments modern, clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. We are ideally located and are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful views, restaurants and the convenience of the car park. It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful and professional. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2014

The Oaks was a nice choice for a short honeymoon. It was clean, comfortable and super modern, with a well-equipped kitchen that had absolutely everything you can think of. The balcony view of the ocean was amazing. We enjoyed the convenience of having dinner at the restaurant several nights which was second-to-none. The undercover parking was convenient and staff were friendly and helpful. A great stay overall.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiquidTelevisi0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to hear that you found our apartments modern, clean, comfortable and beautifully appointed. We are ideally located and are glad that you enjoyed the beautiful views, restaurants and the convenience of the car park. It is great to hear that you found our staff helpful and professional. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Our second stay in this sprawling apartment hotel, for several positive reasons: rooms are affordable apartment-style (with a small galley kitchen/laundry), clean, modern, spacious, some with absolute ocean views/balconies and reasonably quiet (save for the hordes of outer-suburban twenty-somethings whom invade this hotel on weekends, cramming ten to a room, for noisy drunken binges).
A selection of four well-run in-house restaurants with reasonably good food, a five minute walk to the cafes of Jetty Road, easy access to downtown via the tram service, beachfront location, plus a ten-minute cab ride to Adelaide Airport make Oaks Plaza Pier a convenient alternative to high-priced city hotels.
Just a few words of warning: sleep quality is poor - wiry mattresses are brutally hard, with limp feather pillows in dire need of replacement. Add in polyester-filled duvets, and you'll awaken with a sore back, neck and a tad sweaty. Urrk!
Finally, if you travel here with a car, be very wary of the parking lot racket. The hotel does have a private lot, with a daily $22 fee, which on both our visits we were told was full. So, we had no alternative but to park in the adjacent private lot, which is mercilessly patrolled by an over-zealous parking attendant, whom fined us $88 for being 2 minutes late to renew our 24-hour parking ticket. We witnessed her then berate (read: abuse) an elderly couple for parking in a disabled space, even though they produced their permit! You have been warned!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We are glad to read that every time you stay with us you find our apartments modern, clean and well equipped and you were able to enjoy our facilities and services. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our beautiful location and explore Glenelg. We apologise for the discomfort caused due to the bedding and are happy to provide any extra bedding should you require in the future. We regret the inconvenience caused with regards to the car park, the tickets are issued by Care Park to control unauthorised parking in the car park. If you are experiencing any issues, please contact the hotel for assistance. Due to limited availability in the secure car parking, it does need to be booked in advance. We would love to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My friend and I stayed in one of your two bedroom ocean view apartments on the fifth floor. Our husbands thought they would surprise us with a nights stay in your hotel, as they felt we both needed a night to ourselves away from the kids and the opportunity for a sleep in the following morning.The apartment itself was absolutely lovely with a stunning view of the beach, however you can imagine our disappointment when the beds in both bedrooms were two single beds pushed together.  Unfortunately the beds were extremely uncomfortable with the hard edges of the single beds running down the centre, this made it impossible to stretch out and make the most of the size of the bed.We were also unable to get a solid nights sleep due to the noise level and the bass of the music from the night club on the ground floor. Although we were five stories up we could clearly hear the music while in our bedrooms.
Again, the apartment was really very lovely but overall the beds and the music from the night club, left us rather disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location but regret that the bed was not very comfortable and you experienced discomfort. Most of our beds are King Splits but we are happy to provide any extra bedding should you require in the future. We apologise that you were inconvenienced by the noise from the bar. The bar is owned and operated by a different company and we will pass on your feedback to them. The front desk staff do monitor the noise levels, hence in future when staying with us please do not hesitate to inform the front desk staff and they can speak to the bar to lower the noise. We do apologise for the issues mentioned and hope this has not marred your overall impression of us and we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,648 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing