We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, location, but be aware of the nazi parking attendant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great hotel, location, but be aware of the nazi parking attendant”
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Our second stay in this sprawling apartment hotel, for several positive reasons: rooms are affordable apartment-style (with a small galley kitchen/laundry), clean, modern, spacious, some with absolute ocean views/balconies and reasonably quiet (save for the hordes of outer-suburban twenty-somethings whom invade this hotel on weekends, cramming ten to a room, for noisy drunken binges).
A selection of four well-run in-house restaurants with reasonably good food, a five minute walk to the cafes of Jetty Road, easy access to downtown via the tram service, beachfront location, plus a ten-minute cab ride to Adelaide Airport make Oaks Plaza Pier a convenient alternative to high-priced city hotels.
Just a few words of warning: sleep quality is poor - wiry mattresses are brutally hard, with limp feather pillows in dire need of replacement. Add in polyester-filled duvets, and you'll awaken with a sore back, neck and a tad sweaty. Urrk!
Finally, if you travel here with a car, be very wary of the parking lot racket. The hotel does have a private lot, with a daily $22 fee, which on both our visits we were told was full. So, we had no alternative but to park in the adjacent private lot, which is mercilessly patrolled by an over-zealous parking attendant, whom fined us $88 for being 2 minutes late to renew our 24-hour parking ticket. We witnessed her then berate (read: abuse) an elderly couple for parking in a disabled space, even though they produced their permit! You have been warned!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dale A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We are glad to read that every time you stay with us you find our apartments modern, clean and well equipped and you were able to enjoy our facilities and services. We are pleased that you were able to enjoy our beautiful location and explore Glenelg. We apologise for the discomfort caused due to the bedding and are happy to provide any extra bedding should you require in the future. We regret the inconvenience caused with regards to the car park, the tickets are issued by Care Park to control unauthorised parking in the car park. If you are experiencing any issues, please contact the hotel for assistance. Due to limited availability in the secure car parking, it does need to be booked in advance. We would love to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    366
    156
    78
    51
See reviews for
188
345
36
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2014

My friend and I stayed in one of your two bedroom ocean view apartments on the fifth floor. Our husbands thought they would surprise us with a nights stay in your hotel, as they felt we both needed a night to ourselves away from the kids and the opportunity for a sleep in the following morning.The apartment itself was absolutely lovely with a stunning view of the beach, however you can imagine our disappointment when the beds in both bedrooms were two single beds pushed together.  Unfortunately the beds were extremely uncomfortable with the hard edges of the single beds running down the centre, this made it impossible to stretch out and make the most of the size of the bed.We were also unable to get a solid nights sleep due to the noise level and the bass of the music from the night club on the ground floor. Although we were five stories up we could clearly hear the music while in our bedrooms.
Again, the apartment was really very lovely but overall the beds and the music from the night club, left us rather disappointed with our stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CBossm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our location but regret that the bed was not very comfortable and you experienced discomfort. Most of our beds are King Splits but we are happy to provide any extra bedding should you require in the future. We apologise that you were inconvenienced by the noise from the bar. The bar is owned and operated by a different company and we will pass on your feedback to them. The front desk staff do monitor the noise levels, hence in future when staying with us please do not hesitate to inform the front desk staff and they can speak to the bar to lower the noise. We do apologise for the issues mentioned and hope this has not marred your overall impression of us and we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2014

I must say that I'd heard good things about this hotel and was looking forward to my first visit. Unfortunately I was very disappointed. Firstly being a corporate guest I didn't expect to have to pay the $150.00 security deposit. Further having to pay rediculous prices for breakfast and unsecured parking was also very disappointing. Then to get to my room and find the curtains were damaged and wouldn't close properly and an airconditioning system that didn't do it's job convinced me never to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. A preauthorisation is a standard procedure at all our Oaks properties to cover incidentals and this gets released automatically within a few days. It is disappointing to read that you experienced lower standards in the presentation of the apartments and will pass on your comments to the Maintenance Manager for their immediate attention. We do have secure car parking available, but due to limited availability, it does need to be booked in advance. Unfortunately, the car park is monitored by a third party and hence we do charge a fee for car parking. We will pass on your feedback about the restaurant to the F&B Manager. We do apologise for the issues mentioned and hope this has not marred your overall impression of us and we can welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenelg hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

When someone unknown to you makes your booking you take a big risk that it will work out ok - but in this case I couldn't be happier. From the moment I arrived I was treated beautifully - by the young woman at reception - so that was a great beginning. The apartment had all one would need but with a view across the water that was sensational. A comfortable bed, and plenty of room to spread out - a high quality hairdryer that worked (not always the case in hotels!) and an acceptable selection of amenities - including tissues. As it was a business trip the two in-house restaurants offered what I needed without requiring a walk - but if I had wanted more choice then 5 minutes away Jetty Road Glenelg has brilliant selection of cafes and restaurants, but a stroll across the Marina Bridge brings a further offering of high quality eateries. So if you're thinking of visiting Adelaide and want a relaxed location with everything nearby then the Oaks does it well. There were families there but you'd hardly have known - perhaps they use their common sense and don't mix business guests with families on holiday?? Whatever - I have no hesitation in recommending this property!

Room Tip: I asked for a power board to be placed by the bed so I could use my iPhone and iPad - not a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
We really appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to hear that your were pleasantly surprised with our apartments and found them comfortable, beautifully appointed and spacious; it is always good to have that extra space whilst travelling. We are glad that you were satisfied with our amenities and facilities. We are ideally located with excellent views and close proximity to many restaurants and are pleased that you were able to enjoy our restaurants. We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future so you can explore our beautiful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Spent two nights here on a winter deal. Had a lovely room overlooking the sea. The room was spacious, comfortable and included a kitchenette.
The restaurants in the hotel offered good deals and as the weather was wild and wet, it was great not to have to leave the hotel at night.
There was a lovely pool, spa and gym on our floor, which we didn't have time to use, but may in future.
I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the sea as it's lovely to sit on the balcony and watch the action on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROSELLA_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. It is wonderful to hear that you found our apartments spacious, well appointed and beautifully presented. We are glad that you were able to enjoy our restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon to try out our facilities.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 18, 2014

We booked 2 rooms for a family reunion ,and stayed for 3 nights .During that time we found the staff to be very helpful and professional.The central location to restaurants ,and transport in the horrible weather was greatly appreciated .As we are residents of Adelaide ,I am sure this hotel will be our first choice,in the future.

Room Tip: Consult staff
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and found helpful and professional. We are in an excellent location and are glad that you found this convenient and were able to explore Glenelg. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
194 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Regular stayer at this location for many years.has had quite a few refirbs in that time.Suite rooms are great and reasonably cheap this time of the year,Beds that are king size have that annoying lump in the middle,but thats a personnel whinge.Park rooms have the best views .Breakfast is now in the relaxed food court for a lack of a better term. Newspapers are now available free. Thats was always my beef with this hotel.Car parking still underneath,

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gazzz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We appreciate your repeat business and are pleased to read that you found the apartments beautifully presented this time. It is great that you enjoy our facilities and services. We regret any inconvenience caused with regards to the king beds, in future when staying with us we can provide some additional bedding if it helps. We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
729 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: Ramada Pier 16 Holdfast Prom, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing