We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay”
Reviewed March 25, 2014

I enjoyed my stay at Oaks. The ocean view 1 bedroom apartment was very big and the view fantastic. There were only some small faults, some mould around the bath and I noticed a used tissue under the bed however everything else was spotless. I found my room quiet at night and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Littlebirdy73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to read that you were happy with the size of the apartments and were able to enjoy the excellent views. We apologise that you experienced lower standards with regards to the housekeeping in the apartments. I will pass your comments to the Housekeeping Manager for their immediate attention. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

908 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    372
    157
    80
    52
See reviews for
193
347
37
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

We had a five day stay, had advised we would not arrive till after six pm, booked an ocean view apartment. Avoid apartment 423, restricted ocean view, when we asked to be moved receptionist said it was a very popular apartment. Agreed to transfer us, now nearly 8 pm, we had been travelling since 8am, next apartment had view, but balcony was unusable, no cover, it had been raining so furniture was wet, told no one else had complained before, couldn't move us as they were full, very unpleasant experience. We then had to waste the next morning moving again, finally a view and usable balcony. Was also told 423 is only used if necessary and manager did not know 614 had no cover on balcony. Apartments are not spacious and we had to move the bed to get to the wardrobe. Double glass doors opened to kitchen!! All three we saw were badly designed. Positive of stay great view. When we found the restaurants, very pleased with service and price. As said before no information given by reception staff on arrival, thank goodness for Amanda who handled our final move and did not say we were the only guests to complain.
Apparently pool is being fixed in April.

Room Tip: Don't be put in apartment 423 or 614,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. It is disappointing to read that your apartment did not meet your expectations and you were inconvenienced with moving rooms. Unfortunately being an apartment style building, the size and layout of the apartment depends on its location in the building and some apartments are different from others. We do provide information regarding our facilities along with your welcome letter and our reception team will happily assist with any queries. We are glad to hear that Amanda was able to assist you with the room of your choice and you were able to enjoy the views and our facilities and services. We do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Our second stay at the oaks in Glenelg and we just love it. Okay the bathrooms do need attention with mould in shower and shower screen leaks but apart from that everything is perfect for us. The locations is simply immaculate, the staff always good to us, the cleaning staff simply delightful and all the facilities are second to none. We travel with our young family a lot, and this is certainly one of the best. Thanks again for another great stay and will see you in March next year. Cheers the Wards.

Room Tip: Save up, pay the extra and get a room with the ocean view... It is worth every last cent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aljcemw6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to read that each time you stay with us our staff are friendly. We are excellently located and are glad that you found the rooms clean and enjoy our facilities. We thank you for bringing to our atttention the mould and leak in the bathroom and will pass your comments to the Maintenance Manager for his immediate attention. We look forward to welcoming you back in March next year soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a park view apt but that was OK as the beach was just downstairs. The reception desk was average. They really did not go beyond basic service. Were nice enough, gave you the key told you were the elevators were and that was it! Nothing about other amenities, place for breakie, pool, gym, etc. I am still amazed that in this day'n'age you get slugged high rate to use Internet/wifi. It's incredible. The other issue is you need to pay $20/day for parking. I think there should be a considerable discount if not included for longer stays! Room was quite clean. They do not check crockery/cutlery levels as we had quite a few things short. Called and they brought them up. Overall a pleasant stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MasciaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location and had a pleasant stay with us. It is disappointing that you found our services average. Due to the busy movement at our reception desk, we are unable to explain all our facilities, but we do provide information regarding our facilities along with your welcome letter and our reception team will happily assist with any queries. We are glad that you found our rooms clean and apologise for the missing items, which could be due to a delayed order, but are happy that they were replaced quickly. Unfortunately, the internet charges are quite high in most hotels and we provide a 30 minute complimentary usage daily. Also, due to limited car parking in the area we do charge a fee for car parking. We do apologise for the issues are will be glad to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seymour, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

Booked a total of 17 nights for staff and myself. Despite booking apartment rooms, staff were placed in studio rooms.
After checking out and settling my account, two days later I was charged $1,900 in error. Took many phone calls and hold time for it to be rectified 6 days after checking out. The amount has still not appeared on my credit card. I do not know how hotels can authorise and make incorrect charges after check out.
See previous rating of this property this time last year. Not having much luck here!
It is a shame, because the property is in a great location, but continues to disappoint.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, above the 3rd floor where the ocean view is of a cement courtyard..
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Racer3661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. As part of the group booking, the group had booked all the rooms for studio apartments and we regret that it was not the room type you requested. We have passed on your comments to the group coordinator. With regards to the charge on your credit card, the chargeback we received was to charge the 3 rooms to your credit card and we accidently processed it not realising that 2 rooms had already been charged prior. We sincerely apologize for this error. Unfortunately refunds do take about 3-5 working days for the amount to appear in your account. We will provide necessary training to the staff concerned to ensure that the same is not repeated in the future. We hope this has not marred your overall impression and we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2014 via mobile

Me and my aunt stayed here when we were over from Scotland and were very impressed by the attentiveness of the staff on the front desk and also by how clean the hotel was . The room was everything we could have wanted and more with very comfy beds. The hotel restaurant was also very nice with a high standard of service . The hotel has the perfect location and the beach is beautiful. The only thing we thought was the wireless internet was quite pricy but most hotels are .ball in all we had a great stay and will hopefully be over from Scotland again soon .

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We arrived at the hotel after a long drive so did not take a lot of notice of the bathroom. The following day we noticed the grout around the bath was black with mould. We complained and the staff were just so helpful. They moved us to another suite of rooms without any increase in cost. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food but the rooms were made up each day and they actually kept to their environmental statement of not changing the towels if you didn't want them to, a very rare occurrence in other hotels.

The parking was expensive but i think that is cities around the world. All in all a good hotel but even in our new bathroom the same mould was appearing so they really do have to look at the cleaning of baths and showers.

Room Tip: Although the sound of a seafront room sounds idyllic, they do appear to be smaller and the park view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. It is dissapointing to read that your apartment had mould in the bathroom but glad that the staff were helpful in providing you with a room move. I will pass on your comments regarding the mould to our Maintenance Manager for his immediate attention. We are happy that you were satisfied with the housekeeping service and helping us to save the environment. Unfortunately, due to our location the car parking charges are a bit expensive but are pleased that you were able to enjoy our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
752 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,665 reviews
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing