We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay on the beach...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We had a park view apt but that was OK as the beach was just downstairs. The reception desk was average. They really did not go beyond basic service. Were nice enough, gave you the key told you were the elevators were and that was it! Nothing about other amenities, place for breakie, pool, gym, etc. I am still amazed that in this day'n'age you get slugged high rate to use Internet/wifi. It's incredible. The other issue is you need to pay $20/day for parking. I think there should be a considerable discount if not included for longer stays! Room was quite clean. They do not check crockery/cutlery levels as we had quite a few things short. Called and they brought them up. Overall a pleasant stay and would stay again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MasciaM2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed our location and had a pleasant stay with us. It is disappointing that you found our services average. Due to the busy movement at our reception desk, we are unable to explain all our facilities, but we do provide information regarding our facilities along with your welcome letter and our reception team will happily assist with any queries. We are glad that you found our rooms clean and apologise for the missing items, which could be due to a delayed order, but are happy that they were replaced quickly. Unfortunately, the internet charges are quite high in most hotels and we provide a 30 minute complimentary usage daily. Also, due to limited car parking in the area we do charge a fee for car parking. We do apologise for the issues are will be glad to welcome you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (923)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

552 - 558 of 923 reviews

Reviewed March 18, 2014

Booked a total of 17 nights for staff and myself. Despite booking apartment rooms, staff were placed in studio rooms.
After checking out and settling my account, two days later I was charged $1,900 in error. Took many phone calls and hold time for it to be rectified 6 days after checking out. The amount has still not appeared on my credit card. I do not know how hotels can authorise and make incorrect charges after check out.
See previous rating of this property this time last year. Not having much luck here!
It is a shame, because the property is in a great location, but continues to disappoint.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room, above the 3rd floor where the ocean view is of a cement courtyard..
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Racer3661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2014

We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused. As part of the group booking, the group had booked all the rooms for studio apartments and we regret that it was not the room type you requested. We have passed on your comments to the group coordinator. With regards to the charge on your credit card, the chargeback we received was to charge the 3 rooms to your credit card and we accidently processed it not realising that 2 rooms had already been charged prior. We sincerely apologize for this error. Unfortunately refunds do take about 3-5 working days for the amount to appear in your account. We will provide necessary training to the staff concerned to ensure that the same is not repeated in the future. We hope this has not marred your overall impression and we can welcome you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Me and my aunt stayed here when we were over from Scotland and were very impressed by the attentiveness of the staff on the front desk and also by how clean the hotel was . The room was everything we could have wanted and more with very comfy beds. The hotel restaurant was also very nice with a high standard of service . The hotel has the perfect location and the beach is beautiful. The only thing we thought was the wireless internet was quite pricy but most hotels are .ball in all we had a great stay and will hopefully be over from Scotland again soon .

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
Thank Louise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We arrived at the hotel after a long drive so did not take a lot of notice of the bathroom. The following day we noticed the grout around the bath was black with mould. We complained and the staff were just so helpful. They moved us to another suite of rooms without any increase in cost. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food but the rooms were made up each day and they actually kept to their environmental statement of not changing the towels if you didn't want them to, a very rare occurrence in other hotels.

The parking was expensive but i think that is cities around the world. All in all a good hotel but even in our new bathroom the same mould was appearing so they really do have to look at the cleaning of baths and showers.

Room Tip: Although the sound of a seafront room sounds idyllic, they do appear to be smaller and the park view...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. It is dissapointing to read that your apartment had mould in the bathroom but glad that the staff were helpful in providing you with a room move. I will pass on your comments regarding the mould to our Maintenance Manager for his immediate attention. We are happy that you were satisfied with the housekeeping service and helping us to save the environment. Unfortunately, due to our location the car parking charges are a bit expensive but are pleased that you were able to enjoy our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Service wasn't up to previous standards. Room wasn't made up after night 2 and coffee/milk wasn't renewed after night 1. Requests for fresh towels after night 2 then weren't delivered. Room did smell odd at times.

Room Tip: The park view is good value
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JHNuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Plaza Pier. The comments you made will be passed onto the appropriate people for any improvements. We do value all the feedback we receive so again thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Plaza Pier and we do hope to see you back at Oaks Plaza Pier in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Our two night stay at the Plaza Pier was less than satisfactory.
No tea no milk in our room.
Shower water runs beyond shower creating a very wet bathroom floor.
Window did not close properly.
Beds are somewhat uncomfortable.
Battery cover on radio remote broken and did not secure batteries and hence had no remote for the radio.
No Pay TV.

Staff are dry and unhelpful.
Our list of issues was bought to their attention on the morning of day 1 with a hint of helpfulness. However nothing was done. On checking out on morning 2 and again expressing our list of concerns we were met with a very unmeaningful 'Sorry about that'.

Needless to say. We will not stay there again!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank DelJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing Oaks Plaza Pier. It is very disappointing to read comments like yours. It is regrettable that you found the bed uncomfortable, however we do receive feedback saying how comfortable our beds are and the feedback about the bathroom has been passed on to maintenance.

The feedback you provided will be passed on to the staff as we strive for 100% customer satisfaction and it is upsetting to read that we did not achieve this in this instance.
We do hope you will allow us another opportunity, in the future, to rectify your image of Oaks Plaza Pier

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is in a great location - right on Gleleg Beach and only a short walk to the Glenelg tram stop. We had a room overlooking the beach (not sure if we got upgraded) and the view is superb. Try and get a room that overlooks the beach when you book. The room had great facilities, very modern and even had a washer/dryer which was very convenient. It is close to great restaurants at the Wharf and also in the centre of Glenelg and only 20 mins from the Adelaide CBD (via the tram). If you have a hire car parking is expensive and limited, but this seems typical of Adelaide in general.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room if you can - the view is fantastic.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JPVPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier and it is very good for us to read such positive reviews. It is good to read that you like the location of Oaks Plaza Pier as we do have one of the best locations for Glenelg. I am happy to read you found the apartments facilities modern and well equipped. We do hope to see you back at the Oaks Plaza Pier in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 56 in Adelaide
1,679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: $111 - $331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing