We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Problem well settled”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Problem well settled”
Reviewed March 14, 2014

We arrived at the hotel after a long drive so did not take a lot of notice of the bathroom. The following day we noticed the grout around the bath was black with mould. We complained and the staff were just so helpful. They moved us to another suite of rooms without any increase in cost. We didn't eat in the hotel so cannot comment on the food but the rooms were made up each day and they actually kept to their environmental statement of not changing the towels if you didn't want them to, a very rare occurrence in other hotels.

The parking was expensive but i think that is cities around the world. All in all a good hotel but even in our new bathroom the same mould was appearing so they really do have to look at the cleaning of baths and showers.

Room Tip: Although the sound of a seafront room sounds idyllic, they do appear to be smaller and the park view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier. It is dissapointing to read that your apartment had mould in the bathroom but glad that the staff were helpful in providing you with a room move. I will pass on your comments regarding the mould to our Maintenance Manager for his immediate attention. We are happy that you were satisfied with the housekeeping service and helping us to save the environment. Unfortunately, due to our location the car parking charges are a bit expensive but are pleased that you were able to enjoy our hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    248
    372
    158
    80
    52
See reviews for
194
348
37
183
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Service wasn't up to previous standards. Room wasn't made up after night 2 and coffee/milk wasn't renewed after night 1. Requests for fresh towels after night 2 then weren't delivered. Room did smell odd at times.

Room Tip: The park view is good value
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHNuri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Plaza Pier. The comments you made will be passed onto the appropriate people for any improvements. We do value all the feedback we receive so again thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Plaza Pier and we do hope to see you back at Oaks Plaza Pier in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

Our two night stay at the Plaza Pier was less than satisfactory.
No tea no milk in our room.
Shower water runs beyond shower creating a very wet bathroom floor.
Window did not close properly.
Beds are somewhat uncomfortable.
Battery cover on radio remote broken and did not secure batteries and hence had no remote for the radio.
No Pay TV.

Staff are dry and unhelpful.
Our list of issues was bought to their attention on the morning of day 1 with a hint of helpfulness. However nothing was done. On checking out on morning 2 and again expressing our list of concerns we were met with a very unmeaningful 'Sorry about that'.

Needless to say. We will not stay there again!

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DelJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Allow me to take this opportunity to thank you for reviewing Oaks Plaza Pier. It is very disappointing to read comments like yours. It is regrettable that you found the bed uncomfortable, however we do receive feedback saying how comfortable our beds are and the feedback about the bathroom has been passed on to maintenance.

The feedback you provided will be passed on to the staff as we strive for 100% customer satisfaction and it is upsetting to read that we did not achieve this in this instance.
We do hope you will allow us another opportunity, in the future, to rectify your image of Oaks Plaza Pier
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

This hotel is in a great location - right on Gleleg Beach and only a short walk to the Glenelg tram stop. We had a room overlooking the beach (not sure if we got upgraded) and the view is superb. Try and get a room that overlooks the beach when you book. The room had great facilities, very modern and even had a washer/dryer which was very convenient. It is close to great restaurants at the Wharf and also in the centre of Glenelg and only 20 mins from the Adelaide CBD (via the tram). If you have a hire car parking is expensive and limited, but this seems typical of Adelaide in general.

Room Tip: Try and get an ocean view room if you can - the view is fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPVPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you taking the time to review your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier and it is very good for us to read such positive reviews. It is good to read that you like the location of Oaks Plaza Pier as we do have one of the best locations for Glenelg. I am happy to read you found the apartments facilities modern and well equipped. We do hope to see you back at the Oaks Plaza Pier in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

All in all good. Bed was a little hard for my liking. Housekeeping left a bit to be desired. Cleaned some things but not others. Bathroom neede a good clean. The shower screen is not big enough and the floor gets drenched. All in all good though.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shanemelb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Plaza Pier. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and the comments you made will be passed onto the appropriate people. We do value all the feedback we receive so again thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Plaza Pier and we do hope to see you back at Oaks Plaza Pier in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
788 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

This was my second stay at this hotel. The location is great and the room was roomy and the bed was one of the best beds I have slept on in a hotel for months. I just wish the desk staff would smile. It was like they hated their job and everything was just a mundane routine. I even had to walk behind the front desk to get my bag they held for me until check in time. Not because no one was there but because the check in staff just said "there it is you come and get it". Not only horrendous service but surely letting guest behind the counter is not standard operating procedure and it would be a safety issue too.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Plaza Pier. We are glad to read that you have stopped with us on multiple occasions. As a valued customer the comments you have raised have been passed on to the staff. We thank you for choosing to stay with us at Oaks Plaza Pier and look forward to seeing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I booked 3 nights in a 2 bedroom beach-facing apartment after having stayed here previously in 2013. It has a great location close to the centre of Glenelg and great views. Unfortunately the check-in experience was nothing more than cursory and hardly welcoming. Our room wasn't available until 2pm and even once the keys to the room were released to us, the cleaner hadn't finished the room and still needed to mop-up. We couldn't enter the room for a further 15 mins. The rooms are fairly well specified with washer/dryer, kitchen, dishwasher etc. However basics that you would find in any other serviced apartment - e.g. sugar, tea, coffee were missing which added to a general feeling of indifference here. The indoor pool (which is a good feature) has thousands of broken or missing tiles which still haven't been fixed in over a year and are a health and safety issue. Yet the most disappointing and most galling experience at this hotel is the internet. The 'top' offer is AUD $18 a day for an 'unlimited' plan, but read the small print and you find this is actually restricted to 100 Mb after which it is then heavily speed restricted. This makes it impossible to access a company VPN or any basic video services such as YouTube. There is no other plan available that offers truly unrestricted internet. The service is provided by GETIN2NET but neither the hotel nor the hotel seem to accept responsibility for the existence of such draconian restrictions. It makes it impossible to work or study. The pricing and structure of the plan is completely out of sync with data plans at any other hotel I have stayed in around the world and needs to be addressed immediately.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank justinhewelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Plaza. It is good to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel being close to all that Glenelg has to offer. I do apologize that your room was not ready upon check in; this has been addressed with the housekeeping manager. In regards to the internet, we have taken your feedback to the company that provides our internet service and are working out alternative internet packages. We do thank you for bringing this to our attention and look forward to welcoming you back to Oaks Plaza Pier in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
1,668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing