We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“good hotel”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

This is a huge hotel situated right on the beach. It was a fully equipped apartment with everything you need. The washer/drier was particularly welcome as we had been away from home for 2 weeks by then. It was well furnished and the bed was comfy and clean although the couch and chairs could do with a bit of a clean up.. Other than that it was lovely and clean, the bathroom and balcony too. It was a large corner balcony with triple view. On one side was the park, in front of us was the marina and the other side was the beach. Nice balcony furniture and a pleasure to sit out there.
One disappointment was the continental breakfast. It was a really pathetic offering for $12.99. Just toast, cereal, yoghurt and a few pastries. You had to pay extra for tea of coffee. After the breakfast experience we didn't stay in for dinner. We ate else where for half the price.

The location was fairly good. Not too far to walk to the main street for all the shops and restaurants, and the back of the hotel was directly on the beach.

Room Tip: Take your own breakfast food.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give such positive feedback on Oaks Plaza Pier! It is good to read that you found the apartment to be well equipped and the bed comfy. The majority of views we have at Oaks Plaza Pier are some of the best in Glenelg, especially when you can sit out on the balcony.

I am sorry to read that the continental breakfast was below your standards, but unfortunately the food and beverage is managed by a separate company so we cannot do anything about the prices, but this feedback will be communicated to the restaurant. Again thank you for taking the time to review Oaks Plaza Pier and we hope to see you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

891 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    240
    366
    156
    78
    51
See reviews for
188
345
36
180
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (286)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barossa Valley
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013 via mobile

We frequently stay here and love it every time. Sometimes as just a couple and others with the whole family. Recently stayed with the family on the top floor in a 2 bedroom 2 bathroom apartment full facilities and great views of the city, airport and sea. Ideally located to walk to wonderful eating facilities, the kids loved the fun at the beach. Morning swims in the on site swimming pool was great too. Staff at reception very helpful. Also loved the restaurants downstairs in the facility. Looking forward to returning soon

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Getaways43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is great to hear that you are a regular patron to the hotel and that you have enjoyed each visit. It is pleasing to read you enjoyed the views and amenities we have to offer at Oaks Plaza Pier and your feedback about how helpful the staff were will be passed on to them as I know they appreciate the feedback. Once again thank you for taking to the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you back for another stay at Oaks Plaza Pier soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Lee was very helpful when we arrived when we went up to our room fantastic clean spacious and fabulous view , staff very pleasant and helpful needed some more pillows and hangers and they were sent up straight away , ideal position for everywhere in the Adelaide area will book there again if I'm lucky enough to get back to oz , thanks oaks plaza for a great stay

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jojo147england
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Front Office Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Firstly I’d like to thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on Oaks Plaza Pier. It is fantastic to read that you found Lee helpful and this feedback has been passed on to him. At Oaks Plaza Pier we strive to fulfill all guests’ needs and are glad to hear this was achieved in a timely manner. We do hope that you manage to return to Australia, and in particular Glenelg, so that we can accommodate you at Oaks Plaza Pier.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
240 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

We had a one bed roomed ocean view room and the view was brilliant. The kitchen and bathroom were probably due renewal but perfectly serviceable, clean and comfortable.

I note some complaints about miserable reception staff and can only say the staff we dealt with and Lee in particular were cheerful, efficient and eager to please. Requests for more hangers and pillows was fulfilled within minutes.

We didn't dine in but can recommend the lemon cream donuts available at Cafe Blu.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: A sea view room is brilliant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gjw5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay in a one bedroom ocean view apartment and were able to enjoy the spectacular ocean view. We appreciate your feedback on staff and glad to know you found them cheerful, efficient and eager to please. It is also nice to know that you found the apartment amenities as perfectly serviceable, clean and comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back soon to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2013

I have stayed at the Oaks Plaza at least 5 times for business and am always happy to return. The location is perfect being right on a beautiful beach and walking distance to many restaurants but nothing beats the Thai restaurant at the hotel. Had a small problem and would like to thank Gareth for sorting it out so quickly and professionally and for also having a laugh with me about it. Staff are generally polite but formal. A five minute walk before going to work and you pass the marina, the beach on the sand or the walking track. Even the view from the non beach balcony is very pleasant and with a glimpse of the water so blue it could be a painting. The balcony was huge with a table and chairs. Be back again next time.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AussieEils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are as always delighted with having you stay with us again on your business trips and glad to know that you enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your feedback on staff and happy to know we were able to assist you. Our location is handy being right on a beautiful beach and walking distance to many restaurants. We look forward to welcome you back soon to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turku, Finland
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have never had a hotel that offers a view such as the one I had when first walking into the room. I had a 1 room suite on the 7th floor and was greeted by a view of heaven.
When I first checked in I had a room facing the other way but the kind staff gave me an ocean view when requested.
What can I say? I spent my work trip in an office with a sea view. I enjoyed spectacular seafood nearby. I slept like a baby to the sound of the waves. I enjoyed a lovely flat white, poached eggs and sourdough toast for breakfast.
If I must balance my review with any criticism, I would say the breakfast ordering could be a bit more organized. Otherwise, brilliant! See you next year with my family in tow!

Room Tip: Choose the ocean view, room 710.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DumptruckMotorcade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful stay in our one bedroom ocean view apartment. It is most certainly a breathtaking view overlooking the ocean from your apartment balcony and glad we were able to upgrade you to an ocean view apartment. It will be truly amazing if we can all work in an office with a sea view and we look forward to welcome you back to the property with your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
210 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2013

We stayed here for 8 nights on our first ever trip to South Australia. We chose this Hotel due its beach location and we requested a room with beach view. The Apartment was a 1 bedroom apartment with a self contained kitchenette, which meant we could make our own meals if we wanted. We opted to buy breakfast groceries and some drinks for sundowners. The Location of this Hotel is fantastic - right in the heart of Glenelg, very close to shops, restaurants and pubs. Getting to the beach is merely a few steps out of the front door of the Hotel. The room was very quiet, the bed was very comfortable and the kitchen facilities included crockery, cutlery, wine and juice glasses, a dishwasher, cooktop, oven and a fridge.
The bathroom had an over bath shower, which was ok, although one couldn't help but mess water everywhere as the glass partition is a bit small. The room also had a TV in the living area and the bedroom.
The Hotel is very large and has various types of rooms including a pool on level 2. We didn't use a lot of the facilities because we were out a lot, but our stay was very relaxing and nice. We tried the restaurants on the ground floor a couple of times. Service was not great, which is probably a shame because all else was definitely worthwhile.
We had a car and opted to use the parking offer given to us by the hotel which was charged at $20 a day. If you would like to save a bit on parking you can simply buy an all day ticket in the same car park below the hotel for $18 per 24 hours.

The only negative of this hotel was the fact that wireless internet was only available free for half an hour a day. This seems a bit out of touch with what is offered in hotels worldwide these days, and although we did not need access a lot as we were there for the beach and sunshine, I think it might be a good idea for the hotel to review their policy on this. We noted broadband was also available, but many people travel with wireless devices these days.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the beach have the sunset view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWGH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay on your first trip to Glenelg and really enjoyed our beachfront location. It is truly fantastic that the beach is merely a few steps away from the porperty and our guests can enjoy the beach and sunshine. It is also nice to know that you liked the facilities in our one bedroom apartment which includes a full kitchen. We do value your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
728 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: Ramada Pier 16 Holdfast Prom, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing