We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff to a point” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff to a point”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We arrived in the afternoon to find that our booking had been missed placed! However the manager on duty was very help full and made sure our booking was met however we were unable to get our original ocean view room and really the only problem we had was with house maid as they were supposed to have provided extra pillows which never turned up and the washing machine was extremely confusing and we ended up taking wet clothes home.
Apart from these minor issues we had a good stay and would stay again if or when we return to Adelaide .

Room Tip: If you need to wash you clothes I would recommend you send them out and get them dry cleaned.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are glad to know that the manager on duty was quickly able to reslove your booking issue and you found him very helpful. We will be discussing the housekeeping issues with the supervisor and it is unfortunate that you had to take wet clothes as reception staff would have been able to assist you with the dryer option. It is nice to know that you had a good stay and would stay again on your return to Adelaide . We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    351
    147
    77
    51
See reviews for
178
323
35
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Very clean nice place to stay, staff very polite and welcoming, only used room service nice food. Very quite and bonus to have a balcony for smoking. Will defiantly stay again whilst work pays a bit pricy for me personally. Good parking and good access to local shops etc, public transport within walking distance

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had a pleasant stay and found the place quite nice to stay for your work stop over. The balcony with each apartment is definetly a bonus and a place to relax and unwind. We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

My husband and I stayed here on Saturday 5th & Sunday 6th October for our 18th wedding anniversary. We arrived at about 2pm and check in was smooth and easy and the staff at the check in counter were all helpful and welcoming. We were allocated room 214 which is an ocean view 1 bedroom apartment. This was on the same floor as the pool which was convenient when wanting to use these facilities. The room was clean, spacious and comfortable. There is a full sized fridge in the kitchenette which is great when you wish to bring food etc for cooking in the apartment. There are basic crockery, cutlery and other kitchen needs for preparing meals during your stay. The only other suggestion I would have is to have an egg flip for those who wish to cook bacon and eggs in the morning. This was not a problem for us as I just cooked poached eggs instead. There is a dishwasher and dishwashing powder is supplied to be used in here. The dishwasher in this room did leak a small amount however I just grabbed a bath mat from housekeeping and put that on the tiles in front of it and that prevented any issues. There is a spacious lounge/dining area with a 2 seater lounge, dining table with 3 chairs, a desk with chair and flat screen tv. The lounge opens out onto a balcony overlooking Glenelg beach with a small table and 2 chairs. This is a great spot to enjoy breakfast while watching the area slowly come alive. It is also a great place to sit and watch the sunset over the beach while enjoying a glass of wine etc. The bedroom has a good sized, comfortable queen/king bed with bedside tables and 2 cupboards. One cupboard has the iron, ironing board and luggage rack with some hanging space for longer garments. There was also a spare pillow in this cupboard if needed. The other cupboard has hanging space for shorter garments, 5 or 6 drawers and the in room safe. There is also a shelf at the top which is great for storing away smaller bags if you want to keep them out of the way. The only downside with this cupboard is that the door does not open all the way because of the bedside table and therefore the drawers only open about 2 inches. I have smaller hands so managed to use them but for someone with bigger hands this could be a problem. This is a definite design fault and I would have probably flipped the location of the 2 cupboards and had the one with the ironing board in the corner near the head of the bed. There is a door between the 2 cupboards which takes you into the bathroom. The bathroom is a good size with 4 mirror door cupboards with plenty of shelving to put all your toiletries etc away. There is also a shelf under the cupboards which gives you even more space for toiletries, hairdryers etc. There is a hairdryer supplied in one of the cupboards so there is no need to bring your own if you don't want to. The shower is over the bath and has great water pressure. The glass screen only comes out from the wall about 40cm so the floor does get wet when showering, especially when washing your hair. As the space is quiet narrow between the wall and the screen I don't think the screen could have been made any longer as it would then be an issue with elbow room. The lighting in the bathroom is great when applying makeup etc. There is a door off the hallway to access the bathroom as well. We did not see housekeeping on the Sunday at all however this was not a problem for us as we were happy to reuse our towels etc, make our own bed and do any basic cleaning of dishes etc. On the Sunday morning we did use the pool and spa and were able to grab a couple of extra towels from housekeeping on our way there as they were doing their rounds of cleaning vacated rooms. I was also able to grab some more dishwashing powder etc from them by just asking the staff who were cleaning nearby rooms. Overall we really enjoyed our stay here and none of the little issues impacted our stay in a negative way. The hotel is in a fantastic location for walking along the beach, to nearby restaurants or bars and even the tram which takes you into Adelaide if you wish. I would not hesitate to stay here again and would happily recommend this property to others looking to stay in this area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us to celebrate your wedding anniversary. We appreciate your feedback in regards to staff and pleased to know you found them to be helpful and welcoming. It is also nice to know that you liked your one bedroom ocean view apartment to be clean, spacious and comfortable. It is certainly a wonderful experience to sit on the apartment balcony and watch the sun set over the beach. We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

Sadly on arrival the lady who checked us in was less than pleasant. Then she asked for a deposit, which wasn't explained when we booked and I queried why, she was abrupt and if I hadn't already paid by credit card I would've left! Got to the room, gorgeous but no info about any of the restaurants along the pier, only that some accepted billing to the room. I rang reception to find out further info. They had no idea.
Luckily meeting up with friends made our short trip sweet, as this experience didn't.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Guggenmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. As part of our check-in process we do require a pre-authorization on a credit card and this policy is advised in all our confirmation letters including the registration card signed during check-in. We are glad to know that you liked your apartment. It is unfortunate that we were unable to assist you with your specific request and you did not recieve the appropriate feedback. We once again thank you for your review and look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

We are staying in a one bedroom apartment for 6 months overlooking the park and on the second floor. We have become used to the noisy crowds at night which filter up to our apartment but if you want a peaceful stay it would be wise to go higher and perhaps if the budget can afford it over to the beach side or a corner site which is apparently larger but not on the marina side as the bar is directly on the ground floor. The bar can become very noisy around 2am most nights so choose wisely. There is also an in-house cafe and Indian Restaurant as well as the Scool bar, we haven't been to the Indian or Scool yet. We have been to the cafe which overlooks the water, it is very nice.

We are fortunate enough to be able to go out our door and across the hallway, straight into the pool area which has a sauna and spa plus there is a gym which has a cross-trainer, bike, rower and treadmill at no charge. It also has tv's to relieve any boredom.

The staff are always friendly and helpful and are keen to answer questions. The cleaning staff are also friendly and say hello. There is a trolley for suitcases and a public carpark for hotel guests which cost $20. We are renting one of the privately owned apartments so we get ours for free.

We are enjoying long varied walks around the Glenelg area, there is plenty to see and do. We have jumped on the tram and gone into the city. The Adelaide Markets are worth a look, lots of fabulous fresh food, take a back pack and enjoy the ride. It is also very easy to drive into the city as well.

The Glenelg waterfront and jetty are great places to go, the beach gets a bit rugged with the sea weed which settles each night but overall a super place to be with friends and the council cleans the beaches up from time to time. A walk along the jetty is always rewarding especially when the sun starts to set. The bars and restaurants are plentiful, so many to choose from. We have discovered the Sunset Bar on the Marina side, it is a good place to sit and listen to the musicians on a Sunday. It is a narrow bar which doesn't have many places to sit inside, but both the seaside and the promenade side have a few tables and chairs but you will need to be quick to secure a spot as it is very popular. There are other bars and restaurants along the marina strip including Zucca and Outback Jack's to name just a couple. Sammy's is a fabulous seafood restaurant and is worth having a meal there.

Overall we are loving living at the Oaks Pier, we hardly use our car and we cannot complain about a thing when we can sit on our balcony and watch the people, dogs and activities going on in the park on a warm night. We have another one bedroom apartment right next to us and our patios are separated by a small divider which doesn't give us all that much privacy when someone else is on the patio, but we stop and have a chat - that is what holidaying is all about isn't it?

Room Tip: Best to go up to the higher floors for peace and quiet as the first and second floors get all the ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you are having a wonderful experience and enjoying our location and facilities while staying at Oaks Plaza Pier. We also thank you for your positive feedback in regards to staff being friendly and helpful and have been able to assist you with all your queries. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gawler, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Service was ok but no assistance getting our luggage to our room (had to push our own trolley). Room was quite good except you couldn't lock the bathroom doors which was a problem for us as we were staying with 3 teenage girls! Also there wasn't much info in the room regarding hotel amenities e.g. breakfast, pool, restaurants etc. Location and parking are great, close to beach, restaurants, shopping etc. Only negative was being woken by people shouting and swearing outside the hotel in the early hours of the morning.

Room Tip: Need locks on the bathroom doors. More info on hotel amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had a nice weekend by the beach. As part of our service we dont provide a porter and guests are requested to use the luggage trolley. We do provide on check-in to every guest a welcome letter along with an information page that highlights all the facilities within the property. It is also nice to know that you liked our location close to beach, restaurants, shopping. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Excellent choice. Stunning ocean views, room clean and inviting. Great location close to jetty, beach and marina. Received excellent customer service from reservations staff re booking issue with Agoda. Would certainly recommend

Room Tip: Ocean view definately
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know you had an excellent stay in our ocean view apartment and found the unit clean and inviting. We appreciate the positive feedback on the reservation staff and glad to assist with your issue. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: Ramada Pier 16 Holdfast Prom, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing