We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just an average hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
745 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
“Just an average hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

The reason I rated this average was I am comparing to other hotels I stayed at during the week. There was no real greeting when I checked in, no explanation of where the lifts were, I was asked to fill and sign the form, given a key and the check in staff then just turned their back and walk away. I e neutrally found my room, which by the way had a proper key, not a magnetic key, and along with the large tag with the room number, the magnetic lift access key, made the complete 'key' package quite cumbersome. The room was large with a kitchenette, and the bed was a king In the form of two king singles joined in the middle. Not that that should be a problem, except the join was rock hard and raised, which made it impossible to stay asleep if you rolled towards the centre of the bed. The bathroom was a reasonable size, with a bath/shower combination, that did not contain all the water from the shower because of a very short 'screen' near the shower head. The check out process was no better than the check in process. I think the only exceptional aspect of the hotel was the location.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We do appreciate you highlighting the areas of concern and regret it that it did not align with your expectation as our valued guest. We strive to provide our guests with a favourable experience that exceeds expectations and it is unfortunate that we have been unable to do so in this instance. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    351
    147
    77
    51
See reviews for
178
323
35
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

A thorougly wonderful stay at a fabulous apartment facing the ocean! If you are looking for apartment type accomodation in Glenelg this place is great. Will be staying here again on our next visit! Loved everything about it.

Room Tip: Higher floors have wonderful views of either Glenelg on the park side or Glenelg Beach and Holdfast...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrspascoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay in one of our ocean view apartments. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
143 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Had a studio facing the sea which was very nice. Great to sit on the balcony three floors above the beach. The main room was a good size with a basic kitchen including a good-sized fridge. There is an indoor pool, sauna, plunge pool and spa as well as a gym. Walking distance to a huge range of restaurants, the jetty and the tram if you want to get into Adelaide.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra to have a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gr_Taylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had an enjoyable stay in our ocean view apartment. It is also nice to know that you liked the facilities in the unit and were able to enjoy the beach view from your balcony. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
222 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

The Pier is very conveniently located relative to both Adelaide airport and to the city, which makes it great for business travellers. Its location on Glenelg Beach, and adjacent to the shops & restaurants of Glenelg, similarly suit it to a holiday break. The large well equipped units suit both--you can either work comfortably in your room, or cook some meals if you're staying for leisure. All in all, its a very good and very competitively priced option

Room Tip: Rooms on the beach side are best
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Frans_12255060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are certainly very conveniently located relative to both Adelaide airport and to the city, which makes it great for business travellers and our leisure guests who want to enjoy a holiday break by Glenelg beach. It is also pleasing to know that you liked your apartment and the amenities within the unit. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

I stayed in a one bedroom room that was amazing. Massive kitchen, living room and a nice little balcony to sit and look out over the Gulf. Great location too, whether for work in the city or just visiting family and friends. Glenelg has a lot to offer and the hotel is a must stay for anyone who likes their daily exercise. Running or walking along the esplanade is breathtaking at sunset. And the pool inside the hotel is fantastic.

I had a late arrival so the 24hr reception was a bonus and they were all too happy to allow a late check out. Parking was $18 for 24 hours which is reasonable compared with other hotels around the country.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view over the Gulf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in our one bedroom apartment and liked the kitchen, living room and the balcony to sit and look out over the Gulf. We are peferctly located for corporate and leisure guests as they can enjoy what Glenelg has to offer. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

I am so glad I found this place. It was absolutely superb. I got a great online deal where you pay upfront (no refund or changes, but an excellent price). They have 24 hour reception which is great since I didn't arrive till late in the evening, cold tired and wet. The staff on the front desk were super friendly, welcoming and helpful.

I had a park view one bed room apartment. There's a Coles Supermarket and a bottle shop within walking distance so I had grabbed a lasagne and a brew on the way and was able to heat up my own dinner in the fan forced oven. Big screen TV, good quality. Tasteful, modern, simply decorated and comfortable. I love having my own apartment when away on business, feels more homely. Modern bathroom and mine included a tub (had a lovely soak before bed the night I arrived). The park view is lovely with lots of trees. The bed was very, very comfortable. The bed room also had a wall mounted TV in it. Ducted air-conditioning made it a very comfortable stay during a chilly week in Glenelg.

On level two is a small gym, nothing fancy but it was okay. There's also a heated lap pool which is nice for a little dip. You are pretty much right in Glenelg too which is excellent. There are a stack of coffee shops and hotels and restaurants within walking distance of you plus the tram which will take you right in to Adelaide. Downstairs they have a bar, a coffee shop and a restaurant if you don't want to walk anywhere. They will also deliver food to your apartment, so on my last night there I had the fish and chips. The serving was huge and it was delivered in record time and tasted great.

All in all, a really great place to stay. I was very pleased with the cost, the staff, the location, my apartment, the food. I really have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoffreyallan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 26, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay and really liked our property. It is also pleasing to know that you found our staff on the front desk were super friendly, welcoming and helpful. We are pleased that you liked your apartment and found it tasteful, modern, simply decorated and comfortable. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Modern decor, a lovely balcony to watch the sunset, and a convenient location. The only downsides were very expensive parking and some poor customer service from the front desk. All in all though, it's a great option for an Adelaide vacation and fantastic value for money.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Stuartroaming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you liked our apartment with mordern decor, our convenient location and you were able to relax and enjoy watching the sunset from your own balcony. It is unfortunate that you had issues at front desk and our car parking charges are the same throughout the year. As you have mentioned it's a great option for an Adelaide vacation and fantastic value for money. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: Ramada Pier 16 Holdfast Prom, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing