We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pitiful service!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

After traveling from overseas for 15 hours we arrived at 11pm only to be held up at reception for another hour. After one attempt reception advised me the bank had declined my visa required for bond. Reception refused to allow me to pay a cash bond and would not allow me to access our room, so at midnight I had to contact a relative to use their visa. According to the bank there was not a problem with my visa. As I am still staying at the establishment as we could not get a refund I would appreciate some feedback from management on such terrible service. Beautiful location, great amenities, such a shame the Oaks don't have reputable assistance!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keen2visit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We do appreciate your feedback and regret the issues you dealt on check-in. As part of our check-in procedure we do require a pre-authorization on a credit card and this policy is stated under terms and conditions on the booking website. We do not accept cash bond and are unable to proceed with check-in without the appropriate authorization. The credit card provided was declining due to a card issue on arrival. It is unfortunate that the service issue is coming across in such manner as our check-in policy was advised prior to arrival. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

716 - 722 of 1,019 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is honestly the best hotel I have stayed at. The rooms are super clean and serviced daily. The staff are helpful and polite and all the rooms have a fabulous view (our room had the ocean view). The hotel is 2 minutes walk from "The Beach House" which is a water park on Glenelgs beach. It is a one minute walk to the beach (Right out front) and a 3 minute walk to the tram line which goes straight to the city at a small cost. There are loads of restraunts a long Jetty Road (just 3 minutes walk) which include mcdonalds, ice cream parlours, up market restraunts, fish and chips just to name a few. The beds in the 2 bedroom apartment we had were very comfortable and the apartment was very modern. They have a pool, sauna, steam room and a gym which are amazing, the pool is an indoor heated pool.

Room Tip: Ocean view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you had an enjoyable experience with us and enjoyed the fabulous ocean views from your own apartment. It is also pleasing to recieve positive fedback on staff and you liked our facilities within the building. Our close proximity to various attractions around Glenelg including the beach makes us a popular desitnation for our guests. Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

I stayed here with 3 friends for one night in June. We booked a 2 bedroom apartment and walked up to great views overlooking the beach. The bedroom with the ensuite was a bit small for 2 adults and we couldn't really unpack our things. When my friend booked the room he asked if we could have a late checkout and we was advised on the phone we could have a 3pm checkout with no surcharge. That night we unfortunately ended up having to attend the hospital and got back to our apartment at 6:30am. At 11am we recieved a call from reception saying we had to check out at that time and if we wanted to stay until 3pm we would have to pay an additional $150. Would not have minded the extra cost if we knew about it while booking, but not impressed being told differently. Would stay here again for an important occasion and hopefully by then they are not telling customers false information.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cheyennetiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you liked your 2 bedroom apartment overlooking the beach. We do appreciate your feedback and regret the issues in regards to departure. As advised we do have a late check-out policy and due to which we were unable to offer a 3pm departure without any additional costs. Our departure time is 10am and any late departure will affect us renting the unit on the day and prepare the apartment for a 2pm check-in. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Very modern and spacious self contained apartments at a reasonable price. I would have given 5 stars except for the food from Blu cafe downstairs. Very rude & dis-organised staff, long waits for coffee and food and average tasting meals for the price they charge.
Beds are very comfortable and I had a room with a balcony overlooking the ocean, which was nice to watch the amazing sunset.

Room Tip: ask for the 7th floor with an ocean view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KerrieEllice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you found our units very modern and spacious self contained apartment. It is also nice to know that you were able to enjoy the spectacular ocean views from your own apartment balcony. I would also like to clarify that the food and beverage outlets at the property are owned and managed by a seperate company and I will be providing them with your feedback. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

There were some mixed reviews on this hotel when we were looking to book our stay.
Having spent five nights there in the one bedroom sea side apartment we could not fault it. The bed was very comfortable, deco lovely, huge veranda and a very well equipped kitchen.
Excellent location.
A small issue on checking out when someone had booked a meal to our room, but this was sorted out.
A great central place to stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you decided to stay with us and enjoyed your stay in our one bedroom ocen view apartment. It is also glad to know that you found the amenities within the apartment to your liking and liked our beachfront location. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The works! Location, amenities, price and space. Lots of place to unpack and really settle in. And a few extra touches- big balcony, 2 tv's, washing machine, fully stocked kitchen, swimming pool.... Great stay. Great staff. Home away from home.

Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
Thank GenJozi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and liked your apartment including the amenties. As you have mentioned it is a home away from home and we look forward to welcome you back to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Have stayed at the Oaks Plaza Pier many times and absolutely love it. The best is the 7th Floor and the views are amazing. Always found the staff to be very helpful and the restaurants on site, even room service great.
Have stayed with the family and also for a quick getaway just ourselves and found all the different rooms really well appointed. Last time we stayed on the top floor Apt 702 with 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms and we could even see the planes at the Adelaide Airport which hubby really loved. Looking forward to returning soon

Room Tip: We have stayed with ocean view and also Park View, and Park View top 7th Floor was amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank champersgirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you loved your stay with us again and enjoyed the amazing view from the unit. We are also glad to know that you found the staff very helpful and have liked all the different rooms being really well appointed. It is certainly amazing watching the planes land at the Adelaide airport. We look forward to welcome you back again to the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
804 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.0 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,394 reviews
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: $119 - $349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing