We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, comfortable, great views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Kaipara
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Convenient, comfortable, great views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

It would be hard to beat this hotel for its views and location. There were just two of us in a spacious and well appointed two bedroom corner apartment. Attached restaurants had friendly helpful staff. Hotel reception staff were cool but efficient. Supermarket was very handy, as were other restaurants, shopping, tram and attractions.

On the downside (but minor): the microwave door neeeded attention when we arrived, there were two irons and no ironing board, and the swipe card system in the lifts was a pain. Twice I saw kitchen staff trundle bins (rubbish? ) through the downstairs foyer/reception area. That particular space was cavernous with minimal effort to make it appear welcoming . . .

Room Tip: You really want to see the beach action and sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you liked our beachfront location and enjoyed the breathtaking ocean views from your apartment. We are also glad to know that you found our staff cool but efficient and liked our proximity to restaurants, tram and Glenelg attractions. We do appreciate your feedback will look into the matters advised and we hope to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    357
    148
    77
    51
See reviews for
179
331
36
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

The views from the ocean front apartments are as advertised. All rooms in apartment are incredibly small - bedroom has insufficient space to lay down a suitcase and open it. Kitchen is a corridor. Good location - a dozen restaurants on pier next door or few minutes to Jetty Rd, and spectacular beachfront views.
Staff were breathtakingly disinterested in providing customer service. Despite assurances that all apartments had washer/dryer, our unit (319) only had washer - dont know how we were expected to dry laundry, and staff certainly didn't care. I've stayed in other Oaks properties and the staff here really let the brand down.

Room Tip: Ocean front is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theheadland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are glad to know that you liked the ocean views from your apartment. We do appreciate your feedback and regret the issues you dealt with in regards to the washing machine. There was an initial delay as the maintenance officer was preoccupied with an urgent issue and was unable to attend to this matter. I do believe that staff were able to dry your clothes in another unit as you were unable to do this in your unit. We strive to provide our guests with a favourable experience that exceeds expectations and it is unfortunate that we have been unable to do so in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

This was my first visit to Adelaide and I am so glad the Oaks was recommended. It certainly exceeded my expectations on a number of levels. The room was self contained and well equipped right down to providing washing powder, coffee plunger...the list goes on. The bedroom was separate and I had a great view over the green with a small ocean view. I made good use of the spa bath which was a nice surprise - the bathroom was well lit and very spacious. The location was excellent! I found plenty of things to do in Glenelg to keep me occupied and there was plenty of places to eat at. I would definately recommend a stay here.

Room Tip: Room 630 was a winner in my books!
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank yecartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that we exceeded your expectations on a number of levels on your first visit to Adelaide. Also glad to know that you liked your apartment and enjoyed our close proximity to things to do in Glenelg. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

As the title says this is a nice hotel in a great location on the water in Glenelg.

The one thing that was annoying were the old worn out swipe cards that dont work on the elevators.

Then the concierge with the attitude (you''ll know him when you meet him) acted like it was a huge imposition on him to reprogram a card for me.

Good hotel but the afternoon shift manager needs to understand that paying customers are the reason he is in employment.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JasperAustraliano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that your liked our Hotel and enjoyed our beachfront location in Glenelg. On certain instances the swipe card memory does get diactivated when placed next to a magentic device and does require the card to be reprogrammed. It is unfortunate to hear that you were not pleased with the service of a staff member I will certainly look into this matter further. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renmark, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

What an amazing place!
Our Room was on the 6th floor, and we had sea views for miles in all directions. The room itself was a large apartment , separate bathroom with spa, separate bedroom with king size bed, couldn't find the misses when she rolled over! Flat screen in the bedroom, large lounge area with flat screen and lounge suite, stereo, plus a full kitchen, 3/4 size fridge, dishwasher and washing machine. Sound proofing was great, with the sliding door shut, no noise, with it open beautiful sound of the ocean. I cannot speak to highly of our stay at the Oaks Plaza Pier hotel, truly amazing.
Amanda and Lee ensured our stay was memorable and stress free. Thankyou to the great staff.
We will be back!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms for me, higher the better! Look for specials.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you liked your stay in our ocean view apartment and enjoyed the sea views. It is also nice to read that you were happy with the room facilites. I do appreciate your positive feedback in regards to staff and pleased to know we were able to make your stay memorable and stress free. We look forward to welcoming you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Okay, so we arrived at the hotel for check-in quite early at 3pm. We were delighted to hear that we got a free upgrade from a studio to a one-bedroom apartment with an ocean view. (I’m guessing that they were quiet, being on the beach for the first day of winter.) My partner and I then checked out the room and found that the basin had a massive hole in it about the size of a fist. I went down and the lady at reception, who was very apologetic and booked us into room 710. My Partner and I went up to the room and were really shocked that they upgraded us again to a one-bedroom apartment with a ocean room and a spa, which was perfect. Not what we were expecting that weekend, as we were just looking for a bed to sleep on in the area, but the view was spectacular and the room was terrific.
Thanks to the Oaks Plaza Pier for the fantastic room and service they offered, will definitely stay here again when we are in the area.

Room Tip: Apparently room 710 and 711 are the best rooms in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_P84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you had an excellent stay in our one bedroom ocean view apartment. It is also nice to know that you enjoyed the ocean views from the unit and liked the upgraded unit. We look forward to welcome you back to the property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

The apartment was crisp and clean. Its a great location with scenic views and pleasing atmosphere. Ideal for the 1st timer and seasoned traveller. I would have booked for my return visit to celebrate my anniversary if its not for the 'By law' attitude displayed by their front desk staff members, this is including the manager himself. We were a family of 4..prior to arriving at Oaks we had email our request for a late check out. (No reply from Oaks and Booking.com)-No fuss, we can manage it. After we had checked into our room, we realize our request wasn't reflected in the sign in acknowledgement slip. I called to reaffirm my request..it was warmly granted: 'It's all been arranged sir'. Upon check out we were charged for an additional night's stay..throughout the conversation at check out, the key phases were Policy, Protocol, Procedures & their staffs are all well trained to not accept late check out unless on very special reasons..nothing else was helpful other than being 'educated' about loss of revenue on their room rates. We were able to name the staff who had granted us the extension..when confronted he declined there was any room to reception calls made that evening!! It was only after I challenged the manager to review the time of call from my room and go to the extent to review the phone conversation before going to the local authorities..when the manager checked the system..his face went pale as he was frantically trying to key into the computer. After all that is done, he told us about his 'good will' to waive off the charges and how pathetic this whole saga will cost him and his team their Jobs..wow!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikaeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you found your apartment clean and enjoyed the scenic views from the unit. We do appreciate your feedback and regret the issues on departure. As advised we do have a late check-out policy and due to which we were unable to offer a 4pm departure without an additional cost. Our departure time is 10am and any late departure would incur additional charges as it affects us renting the unit on the day and prepare the apartment for a 2pm check-in. We strive to provide our guests with a favourable experience that exceeds expectations and it is unfortunate that we have been unable to do so in this instance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenelg hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 695 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 57 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#2 of 12 in Glenelg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: Ramada Pier 16 Holdfast Prom, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing