We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unacceptable” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Seymour, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Unacceptable”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Booked for 5 nights. On returning to hotel at 6pm on the 2nd night, room was like an oven as aircon had broken down. This was during an Adelaide 39 degree heat wave. Was moved to an inferior room with no assistance. This room had not been serviced properly, with used soap and shampoos etc still present.

The next night water was streaming from a downlight in the bathroom. Reception casually told me that this can occur during spells of hot weather. I advised that I was worried as water and electricity are generally not friends. Was advised yet another room was available but once again would have to move myself. I elected to stay, and placed a bin in the bathroom to collect the water. Listening to the dripping noise did not make for a good nights sleep. The bin remained there, even after the room was serviced the next morning.

I confronted the manager about my experiences and he provided me with a 20% discount on my bill, which was at an inflated rack rate anyway.

These things can happen, however the lack of assistance and attitude was most disappointing.

Room Tip: Rooms vary a fair bit. Rooms facing the sea are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racer3661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is dissapointing to read of the issues you faced during your stay. As you have mentioned some of the issues were beyond our control and the only solution was to reallocate your booking to another unit. It is unfortunate that you were faced with a similar issue in the new unit and we are able to assist guest with such request subject to the availabilty of a staff member. We appreciate your feedback and as compensation for your inconvienence we offered a discount on your stay which was accepted in consultation with you. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

849 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    351
    147
    77
    51
See reviews for
178
323
35
175
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eltham, Australia
Level Contributor
197 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I booked 2 apartments at top rates for Easter and was told to ring a day before arrival to see if early check-in could be arranged depending on availabilty. I rang the hotel on the evening before arrival and was told that my request was approved and both rooms would be available by my ETA (10am). Fantastic, so far.
On arrival, reception clerk was suprised to see us, then on checking the booking notes on the computer advised that we had adjoining rooms on one level but only one was ready. The second would be ready in a couple of hours, certainly by 2pm.
Bad news, but not fatal. on checking 2 hours later, the second room was not only not ready, but now it was not available at all. The owner had supposedly turned up unexpectedly. We were offered a different second room on a different level. After meaningful discussion we were offered two new rooms both on one other level. One was ready, the other would be ready in half an hour. Reception would ring when it was ready. We went back to first room to re-pack and wait. Ten minutes later reception clerk knocked on the door and insisted we move to the new rooms straight away as she wanted to give the first room to other guests. She assured us both new rooms were ready. On arriving at the new level we found a bewildered house-maid preparing to start cleaning one of the new rooms and wondering why it should be ready before normal check-in time. Again we gathered ourselves into one room which was ready on that level and waited. Fortunately the maid was conscientious and helpful. It only took her 10 minutes to come and tell us the second room was ready.
No apology of any sort from reception or management. When I was at reception another guest was complaining that she also had not been given the room she had specifically reserved (having been there before) and her third child had nowhere to sleep. Her pleas for help received a poor response from the other clerk who was attending her.
This is my third consequetive poor reservation experience in three different Oaks properties. There will not be a fourth. Pity, as it was a good property.

Room Tip: Pray that you get the room you reserved.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is dissappointing to read of the issues you faced on check-in, we will certainly discuss your feedback with the concerned staff member to assist with any improvements inorder to handle similar situations more appropriately. We sincerely hope that in the future you may choose to stay with us again and allow us the opportunity to show we can provide a more pleasant experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Definitely worth staying. If you're able to get a room with a view of Glenelg Beach, you'll be glad you stayed there. The apartments are very comfortable and spacious with everything you need. There are a couple of bars and restaurants in the lobby area which is very convenient although I didn't eat there. Very close to the shops and eateries in Glenelg. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leerja74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your unit overlooking the Glenelg Beach and found your apartment very comfortable and spacious. It is also nice to know that you liked our location close to the shops and restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Nice and close to the shops at Glenelg. Lovely having the beach so close and plenty of walks.

My stay started badly after being advised by staff that they do not have any parking and that they do not control the parking under their own building, the local Council do. Paid parking 24 hrs a day and Council Wardens to enforce the parking 24hrs a day as well.

So what happens when 2 parking machines swallow your money, nothing, Oaks don't want to know about it, contact the parking people. Waste of time that.

The room was spotlessly clean. The bathroom was a bit mouldy and looking a bit tired and in need of a make-over but the service at Oaks was quite good.

The parking issue was the biggest problem as once the car park is full, and it's open to the public using the beach, then you have nowhere to park. Great intro at check-in time.

Better value to stay in the City or somewhere where they still have their own parking.

Not up to the regular Oaks standard.

Room Tip: Seaside View Room, up on the top floors and leave your car at home!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brent S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our location being close to the beach and shops. It is dissappointing to hear of the issues in regards to car parking. We do have a public parking under our building and in the event this area is full reception staff are able to allocate an alternative space. It is also glad to know that you found your unit clean and liked our services. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timaru, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

These apartments are awesome with great sea views, a lovely beach and great restaurants very close by. We stayed for a couple of nights in the 3 b/r apartment in early March. They were very clean and serviced daily. Extra towels for the beach available at reception. if you want to go to the city to shop and look around, it is about 20 mins on the tram.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to know that you liked your stay in our ocean view apartment and enjoyed our close proximity to the beach, restaurants and the city tram. We are alos pleased to know that you found your unit clean and we look foward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mildura
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just wanted to thank the team at Oaks Pier at Glenelg I took my parents who are in their 80's who had a week in a seaview apartment and for safety and independence needed a walk in shower. The apartment was perfect they had a fantastic week and a big thankyou to Nadia at reception who answered all my and their queries and the team in the restaurant who looked after them so well for all their meals. It is interesting that there are so few apartments with walk in showers so I was so relieved that we were able to get one as the weeks holiday would not have been possible with out it. It is something I hadn't thought about much however being a baby boomer as I age and still want to travel I'm sure that the demand for accessible showers will only increase rather than a shower over the bath as is so often the case. The food in the restaurants was enjoyed good quality and great service, along with the pool and the view. The apartment was spotless and the cleaning staff were really considerate of mum and dad. Thanks again for the care and time spent ensuring that my mum and dad had a wonderful stay. As we own an apartment near by but has stairs and live in regional Victoria I am just so relieved that they will be able to continue to enjoy family visits to Glenelg.

Room Tip: The room was on the North side so they had views over the beach and the Marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mildura177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to know that you had a wonderful week staying with us with your parents and happy to assist with your request of a 2 bedroom unit with a walk in shower. We are delighted to know that staff were able to assist with all your queries and I will pass on your compliments to the staff member. We once again thank you for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

What a top spot to stay. Lots of restaurants and shops close by. Over looking the beach is just to die for. The apartment was well appointed. Clean and comfortable. Close to the airport and easy to transport for going into the city. A great place for a family holiday. The staff were friendly at reception and in all restaurants and bars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your unit being clean and comfortable and our close proximity to the airport and city. We are also glad to know you found our reception staff friendly and enjoyed your time in Glenelg. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
Crowne Plaza Adelaide
#6 of 58 in Adelaide
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
6.2 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Property: Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Address: Ramada Pier 16 Holdfast Prom, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing