We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Booked this hotel on their website for $139 a night. I really didn't expect much at that price, although its been given a four star rating as Aussie hotels (especially those in tourist spots) aren't really up to par with overseas hotels. In any event I came with low expectations and ready to put up with less than average but was very pleasantly surprised! We stayed in apartment 427 which although did not have an ocean view, at that price you can't complain. It was very clean, and came with everything you would need - kitchen, washer and dryer, large bathroom a king size bed (very clean linens and super comfortable) and bonus, a sofa bed! (even though when I emailed and enquired about the possibility of one the answer was no). The room was serviced the next morning with fresh toweling, clean linens and a tidy up. Now this I really wasn't expecting at all at the price we paid, and honestly, it impressed me. Well done to staff and management. Location right on the beach is perfect, and a mere three minute walk from restaurants at the marina one way and to jetty road the other way makes it ideal. The only gripe I would have is that the parking lot under the building is not the hotels but rather a public lot which could have you worried about your car overnight and the check in staff working on the night of 4th February could crack a smile if he likes (admittedly we did arrive well past 10:00 pm but there is 24 hour reception). Overall, very impressed. I will return.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seashellseashore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our serviced apartments. I am very glad to know that you had a pleasant stay and we were able to go beyond your expectation as our guest. It is also nice to read that you found your unit clean with our standard room amenities.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (928)
There are newer reviews for Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 930 reviews

Reviewed February 5, 2013

right on the beach between the marina and the jetty, great spot. really nice rooms, very clean.
Only gripe, not enough secure car parking. Paid $20 a day for parking and couldn't get a park in the under ground secure park, tried 2 or 3 times each day, but it was a long weekend!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunnurs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found your unit nice and clean. It is also nice to read you enjoyed our close proximity to the marina and the beach. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed at this hotel at the end of our 5 week tour of NZ and Auz and used it as a base to visit familly in the area. Modern and a little souless but it made up for this in the size and comfort of the rooms and the sheer umber of restauarant and bars in the vicinity. We were on the fith floor and the view from our huge balcony and room were superb especially the sunsets. The rooms are very well appointed including full size fridge, cooker, microwavw, dish washer and very importantly to us a washer / dryer which came in handy for doing our own laundry

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beech and as higher floor as possible, if you have car/ hire car pre-book your...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MVWokingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased that you enjoyed your unit being modern and comfortable and the views from the balcony of the sun setting which is simply quite magical at times. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Lovely family getaway, we booked 4 apartments in total, all 4 clean and well maintained.. The beach view was by far the better room, purely for the amazing view.. The Hotel is placed nicely in the middle, Jetty road shopping & eateries one side or the Marina the other side offering some amazing choices... From booking direct with Jonathon until we checked out The Oaks Plaza was a great experience, fun weekend ... We will be back xxx

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CeoJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is wonderful to read you enjoyed your family getaway with us and you were happy with your units being clean and well maintained. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here on my night in Glenelg. I think its 1 of 2 better hotels in Adelaide. It has magical views, and its so close to everything. Down stairs, the have a pokies room, 2 restaurants(1 indian and the other a seafood), Another Restuarant around the corner Great for breakfast and at the other is a Pub and a great nightclub on some nights.
The staff are nice, The prices are bit out there but what do you expect when you stay on the beach of one of the best beaches in Australia.
And the Room was massive, we really enjoyed our stay. Thanks.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samantha F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 3, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and loved your views from the unit. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff nice and our close proximity to restaurants. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We had a lovely stay with family and our children enjoy a lot, the room was absolutely great with great view. The property also have lot of choices for eating but there are also few choices on jetty road as well. Bit of complain from the bar as it was very noisy. The staff was absolutely lovely Leig was very good while checking and his customer service was great, we had a problem with the dvd player and one of the staff member promptly came and fix it, he was all rounder as he also fixed our washing machine and cleared our bins as well. Highly recommended in summer

Room Tip: Great stay
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarrah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is wonderful to read that your entire family enjoyed the room and the views. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff lovely and they were able to assist you at all times. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Great views, great apartment, close to shops and beaches. No oven trays in oven which was a bit of a pest but would buy cheap one for next time. Rooms clean and modern and very liveable. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking beach are fantastic.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OaksPlazaPier, Manager at Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time to comment on your recent stay at Oaks Plaza Pier. It is wonderful to read that you liked your unit, the views and our close proximity to shops and beaches. We are also pleased you found your room clean and modern. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
6.0 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: $116 - $338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing