We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self-Catering with Onsite Restaurant and Bar Facilities but Pleasantly Surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Having read the reviews on here before booking I was hesitant to go ahead but decided it was probably the best location for our week long pre-Christmas stay before moving on to stay with family in Adelaide. Glenelg is a wonderful resort with lots of shops and restaurants and the tram into Adelaide takes around 30 mins and is reasonably priced. For families there are children's amusements nearby but a bit pricey. The fountain in the square seems to be a favourite with children.
This is a hotel of privately owned apartments and might explain some of the varied comments. We had a studio room on the 3rd floor. Good size and standard and yes there was only 2 sets of teaspoons and crockery but there were only 2 of us so why would you want more? On arrival we had to wait until 2pm before taking our room - this was the main downside. Having come in from Singapore on the "red-eye" arriving around 8,00am we could have done with a little flexibility here and I do feel that the receptionist on duty was "too busy" to check us in. Throughout our stay the hotel didn't seem too busy so imagine there were more rooms. Probably would have been quicker to check us in as the time it took to check our bags in for storage was lengthy. We made our way to the Rocks Restaurant - see also separate review - and had a fabulous cooked breakfast - good food and service. On checking into the room overlooking the park we were pleasantly surprised. It was a good size, clean and comfortable with modern fixtures and fittings. There was a fridge and a limited supply of tea and coffee. It was as expected and advertised which is fair enough. The restaurant facilities are separately owned which is why there is no room service and as long as you see this as self-catering accommodation with separate on site restaurant and bar facilities you will not be disappointed. The view over the park was fine we enjoyed watching life go by. We had a problem with the tv the first night - but this was quickly resolved. The reception staff do seem a little distracted by whatever it is they are doing on their computers but presumably it is work related. The preception is that you feel a little like you are interupting them from something more important. Overall we enjoyed our stay here and would use it again when we are next visiting our family in Adelaide.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olive1920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,013)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

865 - 871 of 1,014 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2012

Stayed in a two bedroom apartment, very nice with excellent views. Booked on day that we stayed and it was quite pricey! TV was difficult to use and instruction not that simple.

Room Tip: Book online prior to arrival to get a better deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livefornextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Had a fairly large apartment room on second floor. did have some trouble getting the key card to work which resulted in three trips to reception before they realised their card activator was faulty.
Great view looking south west.

Room was very clean.

Room lacked mini bar and room service facility for drinks.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with water views. You may have to pay more but its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bob6282
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Stranded in Adelaide on Christmas day. Rude staff. Unhelpful. Told us they were sold out so we booked on wotif.com at the reception desk! No food or drinks available, no mini bar - not even water! Air con not working so our Haigs chocolates melted and the movie was crap. Then couldn't even order breakfast. No housekeeping on Christmas day. Totally overrated. Wish we'd read the reviews before. Do NOT stay here!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Radelaidian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2011

Stayed one night in a two bedroom, two bathroom apartment overlooking the Glenelg beach. Check in and parking was quick and easy, the apartment was large and clean with a great view from the balcony. The bed was comfortable, the facilities good and it is very close to lots of restaurants at the pier and Jetty Rd. and only a short trip to Adelaide CBD.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notafussytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

we stayed here last weekend in a non beach facing room. Can only say that it was disappointing. Reception was rude and it was the first time (and I travel a lot) that I was asked to pre pay $150 on the card AND provide proof of ID (licence). Really? In terms of the room not sure what to say-we read in one of the other reviews that there was no cutlery - ditto. Two teaspoons and that's it! Air conditioning did not function properly and continually needed to be reset and then it blew the power so gave up and opened the door. That led to noise from below nighclub. All in all pretty sub standard. Wouldn't be rushing back.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OGPatrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Stayed for one night. A truly exceptional hotel - well appointed rooms, right on the beach, walking distance to the main street with lots of food options, breakfast was great, staff were all very friendly and helpful. Room was immaculately clean.

This hotel is my new mainstay when in Adelaide.

Room Tip: Ask for beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happiestcamper000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.5 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
801 reviews
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.0 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,393 reviews
6.7 mi away
Majestic Roof Garden Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel

Address: 16 Holdfast Promenade, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#3 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: $120 - $346 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The sensational ocean views and resort facilities of Oaks Plaza Pier, make this property an ideal choice for corporate and leisure travellers seeking fabulous Glenelg accommodation. Plaza Pier has undergone a full room refurbishment which was completed in September 2011. Enjoying an absolute beach frontage location, Oaks Plaza Pier allows you to really experience Glenelg. Luxurious 1 and 2 bedroom apartments feature wide balconies overlooking the beach or park, full kitchen and laundry facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing