We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Actively negative service!”

Tomiko Japanese Steak House
Reserve with
Tomiko Japanese Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #49 of 162 Restaurants in Glenelg
Price range: $7 - $45
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Tomiko Japanese Steak House is one of Adelaide's premier restaurants, specialising in a fantastic range of fresh, high quality food prepared by our expert chefs! Since opening in 2011, we have quickly established a reputation for quality & Our philosophy is to provide our valued customers with a unique and exciting dining experience, by carefully selecting and preparing the highest quality ingredients for our dishes, whilst delivering an exceptional level of service. Located on Adelaide's Marina Pier, our restaurant is the perfect spot to enjoy the sunshine and fantastic views of the Marina in the summer, or indulge in the warm and cosy atmosphere of our sheltered Teppanyaki grills in the winter. Our Menu features succulent cuts of beef including Wagyu, Chateaubriand and Hibachi; delicious seafood such as Lobster, Salmon, Scallops, and King Prawns; plus a fantastic range of Sushi, as well as an extensive and flavoursome Degustation Menu. Our speciality is Teppanyaki, a modern style of Japanese cooking that lets you sit back and watch as our expert chefs prepare and cook fresh, flavourful Japanese cuisine right in front of you and your friends! We also have The Secret Room, a fully air conditioned, Japanese-themed private function room seating up to 20, where you can enjoy the finest food that Adelaide has to offer, whilst our dedicated staff provide you with first class service. Tomiko Japanese Steak House is guaranteed to be an enjoyable and unique experience so contact us now to reserve your place at one of Adelaide's finest restaurants!
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Actively negative service!”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

Our small middle aged family group (cashed up and ready to spend) went to Tomiko for a weekday lunch. There was only one other group in the restaurant and we wanted to dine inside to have the advertised teppanyaki banquet at one of the Tepanyaki stations - a suggestion made by the male waiter when we had passed by there the previous day. The lady who attended to us suggested we should sit outside (on the plastic seats) and order. We said that we wished to eat the Teppanyaki inside and she was very resistant - saying that she could bring each course as it was cooked. The obvious problem was that there the cooking stations seated 6-8 and we were a group of 4. Clearly this lady was hoping for a larger booking to walk up and repeated - you sit outside - yes? we said no thanks and eventually left. The male waiter chased after us and we told him we had wanted to sit outside he was apologetic, but we had already decided to choose another restaurant that was far higher service on the quiet Monday lunch and cheaper! We were amazed that the Tomiko could turn around diners on a Monday lunch when they only had 6 others in the restaurant - obviously the HUGE prices meant more customers were not required. Suggest Tomiko train their staff about customer service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    29
    18
    7
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Greed spoils a great place”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Dined today - was disappointed. We ordered the Bento box - our previous experiences had been good but not today - for example the lettuce was brown around the edges and limp and the fruit was soggy. We were asked if we wanted water then found an $8.50 charge on the bill - they used to provide filtered water and we order another drink - this seemed like a blatant way of upping the bill total. If this is the new concept then unfortunately they have seen the last of our custom. The service was lovely it's such a shame management has introduced this new charge that will hike up the already expensive price tag.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank TessAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
108 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A Real Rip Off”
Reviewed October 12, 2013

I had bought a Scoopon Voucher for $35 for 2 which entitled us to 1 sushi choice each from the sushi train and a choice of main each and a glass of wine. Well that part was ok and food was good but very small servings for the prices actually charged on the menu.

We also order a fried rice, table water and an extra 2 glasses of wine. When we asked for the bill I was shocked to see that we had been charged an extra $42.50 on top of our $35 Scoopon. They had charged $17 for the fried rice which I thought to be outrageous, $8.50 for some so called Danish bottled still water when we had asked for just normal table water and $16 for the extra 2 glasses of house wine which we had expected.

I had been here a couple of years ago when it was called Sumo Train and it was terrible, poor food and absolutely terrible non-existent service and swore that I would never go back. Since the name change and new owners we thought that we would give it another go. If we hadn't strayed from the coupon menu we would have been ok but who has Asian without rice and who charges for water unless specifically requested? We felt very misled and will not be back.

The only good thing I can say is that the waiter we had was friendly and attentive. I know that the rents must be high for the Marina frontage but please don't rip off your customers, charge acceptable prices and you will improve your patronage or stay as is to your own peril!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Watson_Inc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Delicious Japanese food”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We decided to have dinner here on a cold Monday night when everything else in the area seemed very quiet and this restaurant was nearly full. We were very happy with the choice. We went for the 8 course degustation which was just the right amount to fill you up. Our favourite courses were the Sashimi and the beef. We had sake and rice beer to accompany the meal. The bill was around $160 which is expensive but worth it for a wonderful meal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
138 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Not Bad Japanese But Super Expensive!!”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I know the rent along the harbor there must be expensive so I'm assuming it explains the outrageous prices! Look, really nice spot to sit outside and enjoy all the area has to offer, pretty good Japanese food, pretty good service too. But we did have to wait for our meals a while and when you are going to charge double what everyone else does then you had better make sure it is absolutely spot on. Enjoyed the experience but just too pricey!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ausrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tomiko Japanese Steak House also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Tomiko Japanese Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing