We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded our expectations... lovely rooms and in the centre of Glenelg”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Exceeded our expectations... lovely rooms and in the centre of Glenelg”
Reviewed November 20, 2010

My husband and I stayed at this Best Western in a double room recently and we had a wonderful experience. It's 5 minutes from the airport and very convenient for arriving on a late flight, like we did. All their rooms have just been renovated. The rooms are lovely, good size, comfortable bed, good quality furniture, very clean and only one block from Glenelg Beach therefore in the centre of town. The hotel is located opposite a park and does not have a sea view. I don't like to sleep with the air-conditioning on and therefore being able to have the windows open was a big plus. I highly recommend staying here if you can't afford the high price tag of The Grand and don't require a swimming pool. The hotel exceeded our expectations. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetnessoflife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    108
    40
    12
    4
See reviews for
22
126
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2010

We traveled to Glenelg from the US, so we relied heavily on the hotel's description at the Best Western internet site. The web site claimed that the hotel "overlooks" the beach. Well, that is simply not the case. It overlooks a trendy area which is close to the beach, but you do not see the beach. Secondly, the BW web site rates this hotel as a four star. I would say not, at least not in US standards. Upon my return to the good ole US of A, I asked BW for a definition of the 4 star rating for this particular hotel. They said that the rating was issued by the Australian Accomodation Association, an association which I could not find on the web... nor could BW when I pressed them. So the rating criteria is a bit of a mystery. In my view, I would rate the hotel at a 2.5 star. The rooms are clean, but very small. And there is no elevator!!!! So after a few trips with luggage up the narrow stairs, you will wish you had stayed elsewhere. No restaurant. The Glenelg area is neat, and the Ensenada is close to some trendy restaurants, etc. But there are other alternatives. And BTW... no bargain either. Rate was spendy for what you received. A not-so-great value. There are essentially no services at this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank raas911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
frankston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2010

unfriendly staff at reception. bed shoved behind door so every time you opened door it hit bed. shower was dreadful.no hot water and no water pressure. toilet had no seal on seat. bed made-up during stay but bedspread left on floor. no allocated parking. first in best parking. don't stay out late no parking when you get back to motel.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nalaFrankston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2009

Only a 10-12 minute taxi ride to Glenelg from the airport, via Tapleys Hill Road...and i noticed the airport has gone through some extensive renovations.
The Ensenada on Colley Tce is a handy place to be located in Glenelg....a street away from the beach and the Jetty Rd shopping strip.
It was noisy on the Saturday night as the room was just off the footpath of Colley Tce, lots of party atmosphere and cars going by....but we did not mind.
The people of Glenelg are very pleasant and helpful, the mood is very laid back.
The rooms do not get vaccumed or swept thoroughly, the cleaners just go around furniture instead of moving them....alot of dust found under the beds and under the table, window sills, when we checked in.
We were not happy with the size of the second bedroom, hardly any room to 'swing a cat'...barely enough room to get changed in...the single bed is pushed up against the wall.
Staff were friendly and were helpful in their suggestions in what to do in Glenelg.
Had a great time during our stay, visited museums, Adelaide city, Brighton, walked all over Glenelg and its beaches, enjoyed great food and great service.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prozac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2009

As a business traveller I would normally stay in a city hotel, but the Clipsal 500 car race was on they were all booked out for the 2 nights I needed to stay.

Overall I enjoyed the stay, staff helpful and friendly. Had a room on the north side top floor which based on it's location would recommend top floor away from the street.

As others have said, there are stairs only. It's in a good location for tourists and I would stay there again with it being only a short walk to food and bars and some shopping. Also has the tram direct to the city just a few steps away.

Also clean the windscreen on the car over night which was a nice touch, chocolates on the pillow.

One minor issue, the tv was placed lower than the end of the bed, which meant I needed to sit up on the couch to watch it, decor dated but ok. Minor but I like the comforts. Happy to stay again, but if I was 70 would choose elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bam1748
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendora
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2009

This hotel is within a block of all the shops and restaurants in Glenelg and the beautiful beach. The room is large and roomy and the bathroom with shower is comfortable. It's no frills but clean and well-maintained. The desk staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovetoreadglendora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 26, 2008

I stayed here with my wife and had a good stay overall. We drove from Melbourne and it has good secure parking under the motel. As mentioned in other reviews, there are some stairs to climb but that should not bother anyone unless you're unwell or elderly. (2 floors) We stayed in what I think was one of the better rooms, up top and facing the front. The balcony was not accessible but we did not mind. The street is fairly noisy outside but we couldn't hear much due to it being hot and therefore having the window shut and a/c on. Some of the front reception staff were pretty "cool" but they seemed o k to me. Motel is starting to look a little tired inside but the room was neat/clean and comfortable. *note, If you are on the Qantas frequent flyer program, you can earn points by staying here.

  • Liked — Locality, value for money
  • Disliked — Nil
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HuzBuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
740 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#1 of 12 in Glenelg
309 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites

Property: Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Address: 13 Colley Tce, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia (Formerly Best Western Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ensenada Motor Inn & Suites has a selection of accommodation including Executive & Deluxe Motel Rooms, Self-contained Suites and two bedroom Holiday Apartments. •FREE Wi-Fi available in all motel rooms, suites and holiday apartments. •FREE secure parking available onsite. •Holiday Apartments are located nearby at 16 & 29 Colley Terrace. We are ideally situated opposite picturesque Colley Reserve, only a one minute walk to the golden sands of Glenelg Beach and adjacent to Moseley Square, famous for its cafes, restaurants and tram service to the Adelaide City CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenelg
Glenelg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing