We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced small rooms but location excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced small rooms but location excellent”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Originally I tried to book direct and was told there were no rooms, but when I rang the Best Western number I got put thru to a lady in the USA who had no qualms about a 1 night rental. We arrived just after 8pm to find it all locked up and hard to get into so for security concerned people you would like this, I found it unwelcoming. The room was really small and really average with outlook over carpark. Expensive at $180 for 1 adult and 1 child, no breakfast. An extra child sharing same room is another $40 ripoff. The best part of the hotel is that you get a carspace in a suburb where parking is impossible.

Room Tip: Everywhere else we stayed on this 8 night holiday was twice as good for same or less money
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annabanannake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenelgManager, General Manager at Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dear Annabanannake,
Thank you for your review. We value all feedback as it assists us to improve our product and service. The reason we did not provide you with a room when you rang us direct was that our receptionist realised we did not have a room suitable for and adult travelling with a child. That is why the room you booked through a USA call centre was unsuitable as they have no knowledge of our property. There was no additional cost for the child as the rate for 1 or 2 persons is the same. As you've mentioned, our security is excellent, the Reception door locks at 8 p.m. but can be accessed by guests by using their electronic key. Guests who haven't arrived by 8.p.m. simply push a button to gain access. Thank you for highlighting our FREE car parking. Some hotels near us charge up to $25 per night for a park.
Kind regards,
Rob McBride - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    104
    39
    12
    4
See reviews for
20
123
18
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 17, 2014

The good: Comfortable beds and very close to the beach and where the action is in Glenelg.

The bad: Very old fashioned and in dire need for a makeover, so unless you like the grandma’s kind of style you should probably look elsewhere. Strict 10am check-out time.

And the awful: Very noisy rooms facing the busy road right outside. A group of pigeons camped right outside the building, never resting and causing sleepless nights due to the lack of sound insulation. Extremely slow Internet connection, both wired and wireless. Was asked to call the service provider myself, they couldn’t care less and although promised to call me back, they never did of course. Was told this was a free call, but still charged for it at check-out.

Lesson learned: Stay somewhere else next time.

Room Tip: Away from the busy and noise road in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoloWorldTraveler_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenelgManager, General Manager at Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear SoloWorldTraveler,
Thank you for your review. All feedback helps us improve our product and service. You noted our great location, close to everything and where the action is. Unfortunately, with such a central location comes crowds of people attracted to the shops and beach. This does create some pedestrian and vehicle noise however we have had all our rooms double-glazed for sound proofing. They are quite effective when the windows are closed. The local council conduct a eradication program annually to control pigeon numbers in the area. It wouldn't matter where you stay in Adelaide, pigeons camp everywhere. Décor is subjective and I'm disappointed you didn't like ours. The rooms were fully renovated in 2010 with all new furnishings and décor. I apologise for the slow internet but unfortunately internet in Australia just isn't as good as available in Europe. January is the busiest month of the year in Glenelg and we do have a 10 a.m. checkout time. This then enables guests arriving to be able to check-in on time.
Regards,
Rob McBride - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Great stay, value for money. Comfortable clean rooms. Perfect location . Very pleasant helpful staff. Close to airport 15 minutes in taxi. Great breakfasts. Feels safe. Bit of street noise in front rooms but got used to that after first night.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sfairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
606 reviews
283 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 470 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We got what we were looking for. A decent value for money room

You drive in for free parking in the hotel courtyard, as others have said the spaces are tight, but they were acceptable

The rooms are small, but adequate. We left early so did not take their breakfast. I probably would not want to stay a week here, but for a one night stay close to the airport, I was quite satisfied

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moraira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

You are on a budget? You have good location, with car park available, security, just a stroll (not even 5mins) to the beach, shops, pubs, restaurants, tram is right there, if you want to go the extra with view to the ocean and beach then maybe look at the Stamford or the Oaks Hotel.
But overall it is a very budget like place.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TATAMATA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Isa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Clean, secured parking, good location, all facilities within 5 minutes walk, beach 5 minutes away.
Public transport (tram to city) 1 minute away. Stocked bar / fridge in room should you arrive late. Very affordable and value for money.

Room Tip: Any room will do, however if you have heavy bags ask for the ground rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neels B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
144 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The location is great, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and pier. The hotel has a small amount of parking but the bays are very tight and really not big enough, although they have signs up on the walls (park within the lines) it still only gives you cms of space to get out. The stairs to get inside could be awkard for elderly as there is no lift to get to the rooms or reception. The rooms themselves are very small, so small that when you open your door to your room it hits the bed. The bathrooms even smaller, if your larger you would not cope well. Although clean the hotel seemed more like a B&B with rooms of a hall, so could hear noise and the water temperature changed when showering. We had no soap in our room and asked for soap and were told it was in the dispenser, however the dispensers on the wall both stated "Shampoo". The breakfast delivered to your room and very basic, scrambled eggs was sloppy and cold toast. A lovely gesture that they clean your car windscreen over night. One negative is that the pillows provided are very high and hard and the other 2 in the cupboard are the same, perhaps you could offer different types as I hardly got any sleep for 2 nights. Good location but would say it was a great hotel, very basic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentoztravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenelgManager, General Manager at Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Frequent Traveller,
Thank you for your review. Here at the Best Western Ensenada Motor Inn we value feedback as it helps us improve our performance and/or our property. Our car park is also secured by a sliding security gate operated by a PIN number, giving our guests total peace of mind and our parking is FREE as well. Unfortunately, our property was built before elevators became mandatory, but is only a two storey building. So as not to catch anyone unaware, we highlight "no elevator access" on our website homepage. In an improvement to keep up with the "environmentally friendly" policy, we have placed 3 dispensers in each room; Hand Wash, Body Wash & Shampoo - all clearly marked. Every room has all 3 dispensers. Our pillows are very high and rightly so, all bedding was brand NEW this year. We have a pillow menu in the information compendium in each room. I wish you had called us at Reception so we could have assisted you in having a more restful night. Thank you for noting our great location; just metres to the beach, shops, restaurants, tram stop and night clubs.
Kind Regards,
Rob McBride - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.1 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#1 of 12 in Glenelg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites

Property: Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Address: 13 Colley Tce, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia (Formerly Best Western Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ensenada Motor Inn & Suites has a selection of accommodation including Executive & Deluxe Motel Rooms, Self-contained Suites and two bedroom Holiday Apartments. •FREE Wi-Fi available in all motel rooms, suites and holiday apartments. •FREE secure parking available onsite. •Holiday Apartments are located nearby at 16 & 29 Colley Terrace. We are ideally situated opposite picturesque Colley Reserve, only a one minute walk to the golden sands of Glenelg Beach and adjacent to Moseley Square, famous for its cafes, restaurants and tram service to the Adelaide City CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenelg
Glenelg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing