We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location but old small rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Good Location but old small rooms”
Reviewed December 5, 2013

The location is great, within walking distance to shops, restaurants and pier. The hotel has a small amount of parking but the bays are very tight and really not big enough, although they have signs up on the walls (park within the lines) it still only gives you cms of space to get out. The stairs to get inside could be awkard for elderly as there is no lift to get to the rooms or reception. The rooms themselves are very small, so small that when you open your door to your room it hits the bed. The bathrooms even smaller, if your larger you would not cope well. Although clean the hotel seemed more like a B&B with rooms of a hall, so could hear noise and the water temperature changed when showering. We had no soap in our room and asked for soap and were told it was in the dispenser, however the dispensers on the wall both stated "Shampoo". The breakfast delivered to your room and very basic, scrambled eggs was sloppy and cold toast. A lovely gesture that they clean your car windscreen over night. One negative is that the pillows provided are very high and hard and the other 2 in the cupboard are the same, perhaps you could offer different types as I hardly got any sleep for 2 nights. Good location but would say it was a great hotel, very basic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frequentoztravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenelgManager, General Manager at Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Frequent Traveller,
Thank you for your review. Here at the Best Western Ensenada Motor Inn we value feedback as it helps us improve our performance and/or our property. Our car park is also secured by a sliding security gate operated by a PIN number, giving our guests total peace of mind and our parking is FREE as well. Unfortunately, our property was built before elevators became mandatory, but is only a two storey building. So as not to catch anyone unaware, we highlight "no elevator access" on our website homepage. In an improvement to keep up with the "environmentally friendly" policy, we have placed 3 dispensers in each room; Hand Wash, Body Wash & Shampoo - all clearly marked. Every room has all 3 dispensers. Our pillows are very high and rightly so, all bedding was brand NEW this year. We have a pillow menu in the information compendium in each room. I wish you had called us at Reception so we could have assisted you in having a more restful night. Thank you for noting our great location; just metres to the beach, shops, restaurants, tram stop and night clubs.
Kind Regards,
Rob McBride - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    108
    42
    13
    4
See reviews for
23
129
18
44
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bracknell, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed one night en route to Adelaide Airport & the Inn perfectly met our needs. Located within walking distance of Glenelg & its bars / restaurants / beach with own secure parking, drive to airport took 10-15 mins. The Inn has on site laundry facilities.

Our room was clean & tidy, equipped with tea coffee facilities etc, no dining room but a good breakfast was served on time to our room. Staff friendly, when we went back to our car in the morning they had even cleaned the windscreen!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BobLiz15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights. We found the front desk staff to be aloof and not very friendly. The rooms are small, but do have a fridge and toaster. The bed was very comfortable. The location is good, nice and close to the beach and tram line, however it is also close to bars that pump music loud and clear most of the night. The motor inn fronts onto a very busy road, with lots of both motor vehicle and pedestrian traffic. The Glenelg community Centre and the Beach club are right across the street. Even with the double glazed windows, it was noisy. If you want to be close to the action this is the place for you. If you want quiet digs, not so much!.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of the hotel are right on a very busy street. The hotel is right across the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Airdrietraveler_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights and found this Motor Inn average for the price. It was expensive and relied on the location. The bed was very comfortable and the quality of the linen excellent. It was clean but needed some maintenance on faulty blinds and squeaky doors.
There are a lot of workers staying there and they are noisy very early in the morning. Also, don't stay on the side where the kitchen and laundry are as you will get a lot of noise from a very early hour.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Joanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
342 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Great rooms and even better location. The staff is very helpful. One block from the beach is a perfect location. The tram line is right there. Off street parking is available plus laundry facilities. This is my second stay here and yes, I would return in a flash!

Room Tip: Get a room off the main street so it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

I must compliment the staff of the Ensenada for their level of service. Everyone we encountered was friendly and helpful. We were actually shown to our room which was a revelation. The hotel is clean and in good condition and of course the location is ideal for a visit to Adelaide and regions.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I stayed here for two nights while in Adelaide on business.

The hotel is situated right in the thick of the action in Glenelg, with restaurants, bars, take away, tram and the esplanade all right there, very convenient.

The hotel itself is old looking from the outside, and even when you go into reception, and walk up the stairs and through the corridors, it looks a bit old and tired, but when you step into your room you will be pleasantly surprised. The rooms have been tastefully refurbished, and it has a nice modern but still cosy feel.

The bed and pillows are comfortable, and the lounge and table & chairs are also comfy. The room has all that you need. The bathroom has also been reno'd and looks good. It had a auto smelly thingy on the wall, which kept making a "pppffftt" sound, which got annoying, so I turned it off. One thing was the shower gel.... it was truly awful, it smelt like a commercial cleaning agent.

I had issues with the internet that took about 2 hours to resolve, but the staff were helpful and did make sure it was fixed, which was appreciated.

The room service breakfast was really good.... I asked for crispy bacon, and normally that request gets ignored by a hotel, but this was spot on, just exactly how I like it.

I got a great deal, and this was a really good value place to stay. Next time I am in Adelaide, I will be coming back here to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheClarkeClan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.1 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.2 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
753 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#1 of 12 in Glenelg
310 reviews
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites

Property: Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Address: 13 Colley Tce, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia (Formerly Best Western Adelaide)
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Ensenada Motor Inn & Suites has a selection of accommodation including Executive & Deluxe Motel Rooms, Self-contained Suites and two bedroom Holiday Apartments. •FREE Wi-Fi available in all motel rooms, suites and holiday apartments. •FREE secure parking available onsite. •Holiday Apartments are located nearby at 16 & 29 Colley Terrace. We are ideally situated opposite picturesque Colley Reserve, only a one minute walk to the golden sands of Glenelg Beach and adjacent to Moseley Square, famous for its cafes, restaurants and tram service to the Adelaide City CBD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Glenelg
Glenelg Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing