We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Grand Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel as we attended a family members wedding at the venue. Upon arrival we checked into our room which had been booked via lastminute.com to find that we were upgraded to a massive room that resembled more of a suite than one of their budget rooms. Staff were friendly and helpful throughout our stay and the room was wel appointed and extremely spacious. We had a lovely balcony which unfortunately had a view of the carpark, but as our visit was only for one night that was ok.

Very impressive overall, the wedding was also well facilitated by staff and the venue was lovely.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cateeliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 27, 2010
Dear Guest,
We always appreciate the time taken by our guests to write and advise of their experience within the Hotel, as it provides us with an opportunity to ascertain the areas that can be improved or where we are exceeding the customer’s expectations. I will certainly ensure that the staff here are informed of your comments.
Thank you for your time and I trust that we may look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the near future.

Kind Regards.
Stamford Grand Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,056 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    709
    358
    129
    79
See reviews for
360
928
80
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
middlesbrough
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

Stayed here as part of our honeymoon travels in Australia. First time in Adelaide for both of us. Booked through mystery hotels website by my friend who lives in Melbourne. She recommended it for good hotels on the cheap with last minute deals.
We got our room for 2 nights for approx half the published price, and were very happy with what we found.
Upon arrival the staff were pleasant and helpful. Our room overlooked the city and had a MASSIVE bed. Fully stocked mini bar which was sooo hard to resist.
Amazing power shower, my husband still says it's the best shower he's ever experienced. Clean, large, roomy, tidy and very comfortable room.
The hotel boasted an outdoor spa and pool area, but unfortunately during our stay Adelaide was experiencing high winds and plenty of rain, so the hotel closed those facilities, much to our disappointment.
We had received a free drink voucher as part of our booking deal so used it in one of the hotel's comfortable and cosy bars. Being the Australian winter, everywhere was rather quiet so we ventured out to Glen Elg on our first night and had a tasty chinese meal. After spending the next day in the city (the geln elg tram is great fun and only half an hour ride into the city). We returned to try the indian restaurant based in the hotel itself. Unfortunately, as is common in Australia, brown chicken meat is the norm and I was unable to eat my order of chicken tikka masala (the sauce incidentally tasted nothing like tikka massala) as brown meat makes me retch. That was the only negative thing I could say about the place and I didn't let it ruin my visit.
Adelaide is a lovely city and I certainly plan to return there, hopefully with some better weather. Glen Elg is a beautiful and sedate suburb and if you can get a cheap deal, certainly try and stay at this hotel, it's position on the seafront is amazing.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank helencos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Congratulations again on your recent marriage! We were delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay even though the inclement weather prevented your use of our pool deck.
Just wanted to let you know that Gandhi's Café, whilst within the hotel, is an independently owned and run restaurant. I will be sure to pass on your feedback to the operators regarding your dining experience.
Looking forward to have you visit us again and enjoy the beautiful Glenelg.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth, australia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

My partner and I stayed at the Stamford Grand for 1 night before we could check into our apartment the next day. We got a great deal on Wotif which included valet parking, which is needed in Glenelg, late check out, 2 for 1 breakfast buffet. The room was nice with a city view. The hotel sits on the beach and we asked at check in if we could be upgraded to an ocean view but were told that they were full. But....for $50 we could get an ocean view room. Glenelg is a pocket of energy, a much smaller version of Venice Beach in Los Angeles. Had great eggs benedict and mexician food. Did some shopping and people watching.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bkcPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2010

Had the pleasure of spending 4 nights, enjoyed the room and the views. Close to everything you could need. Highly recomend. Lovely beach. Too cold when we were there though. Did prime tours to the wineries which made up for the cool weather.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bouchee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Australia.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2010

We only stayed for the one night, but I wished we were here longer. The location is perfect and the view is amazing. It is an older hotel, and has classic decorating and we much preferred it to the ultra-modern shiny rooms that we have stayed in at other times. We found it to be very quiet, comfortable and the bed was large and we had one of the best nights sleep on our holiday. Breakfast was excellent, with a wide range of hot food and fresh fruit available, and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

Hi stayed for one night and have been before and found the location great, however it is being left behind by not upgrading, 5 stars you expect a good sleep with quality towels and bed linen and mattress - not provided by this hotel. old small TV with limited channels pin board in the room with advertising stuck on with tacks NOT rather tacky, breakfast boring, great location

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank molly200033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2010

I wont harp on about things already said, just give a list of my good and bad points!

GOOD POINTS:
Excellent location.
Staff very helpful (where possible) and friendly
Gym and pool are not the best but okay. Pool is small so no laps, gym is small but has all types of machine and good free weights

BAD POINTS:
AC DOES NOT WORK - despite what they tell you. If the AC is on and the room is hot, then the AC ain't working!!!
Fridge barely kept anything cool - I bought some milk in the evening and by morning is was very close to becoming yoghurt!
The water pressure is woeful, and the shower is still one of those where you stand in the bath and there is a shower curtain giving you not even a meter between wall and curtain. I spent most of my time in the shower pushing the curtain away and trying to get wet - and forget trying to fill the bath tub!!!
The lifts... what can I say, I think I waited 10 minutes on one occaision!
A minor thing, but I was put on the executive floor, and the advertisement claimed those rooms all have flat screen TV's. Well my collegue was in a lesser room and it was EXACTLY THE SAME. The only difference was I get a free small bottle of water each day, and my soap was a little better.

I wont stay at this hotel again until they shut it down floor by floor and fix everything up!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nikita-simpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 673 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing