We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired Nice location but old”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 17, 2010

Nice staff there but..........
Tired and old rooms
cozy entrence
Not bad food
Nice pool
would have been better if rooms were more modern!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank waves92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,810)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,692 - 2,698 of 2,810 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2010

* Carpark facilities seem to be more of a public carpark - urine soaked stairwells to get in and out of the building. As they advertise the carpark belongs to them, it needs to be cleaned up. Not a nice way to start your stay at a self rated 5 star hotel.
* 5 star self rating needs to be reviewed. Whoever reviewed themselves at that level must have been drunk. 4 star at best at this stage.
* Reception staff member seemed not to like her job very much. it would have been nice to be greeted with a smile considering we are guests
* Air conditioning in room sounds like the engine of a boat all night long.
* Hallway of my room smelled of sewerage for the entire stay. When advised Reception didn't seem shocked so can only assume it happens regularly
* Room service cost close to $30 for a coffee and small cake.
* Spa jets didn't work
* There were marks all over the bathroom walls, not sure what it was. Hairs in bathtub.

At a 5 star hotel, I would expect to be asked how my stay was by Reception when I check out. Perhaps they are sick of hearing that their hotel is sub-standard so have stopped asking?

View and location were nice, but given all the other hotels in the area, this would be the last on my list to recommend. Nowhere near a 5 star hotel in terms of facilities, staff attitude or rooms.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tantakesontheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2010

The Stamford Grand was great! It's easy to find, has great views out to sea, or of the City depending on which side you are staying. It's well positioned for the bus and tram to Adelaide and to the airport. The rooms are huge and clean and classic in decor. Our bathroom was also very plush with gorgeous complimentary goodies. Staff were helpful and friendly. We felt like we'd walked into hotel heaven when we entered the smart lobby area and was proved right!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A_J_Mann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2010

I booked and paid on a wotif.com mystery deal for $AU120.95 including the $AU4.95 wotif.com booking fee.

The deluxe room had a city view room and a king bed and an old fashioned TV set with some cable TV stations but the movies are charged. The room was adequate for our stay and did have a distant city view. The room was also noisy as being a Saturday night there was noise from the car park, a nightclub adjacent and from the streets below and the noise continued all night long I might add. Impossible to get a good nights rest! For the price the room was adequate, the bed reasonably comfortable and the bathroom facilities were good but the entire feel of the room was ‘tired and worn’. Be wary of good deals offering cheap prices in 5 star hotels is all I have to say!

Both arrival and departure were easy. An efficient check in but not overly friendly. On departure reception was again efficient and speedy and the concierge motioned for a taxi for us on our departure and assisted with our luggage.

We were also offered two drinks vouchers with our deal and these were given to us on arrival – we enjoyed a beer and a bubbly in the bar at a table with a view of the ocean.

The hotel is central to Glenelg restaurants, the beach and the tram. Its best asset is that it is located on the esplanade to the beach with no road in front on one side - great if you have a sea view room and you will pay the price for a sea view room.

We didn’t dine in the hotel but there are up market dining options available if you wish to dine in.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripping-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2010

We spent two weeks in South Australia and stayed at some amazing historic hotels and had beautiful experiences. We stayed at this hotel on the last two nights of our holiday and what a disappointment. We spent the first night in the midst of winter in a cold room as the air conditioner wasn't working. Maintenance fixed the unit in the morning but left the room spelling of gas. We opened doors and windows in attempt to rid of the smell but to no avail. We contacted reception and asked if we could move which they did - to the floor below in the same room type. So we spent our first night freezing, first morning dealing with maintenance, feeling nauseated, attempting to air out the room, initiating a move which should have been offered, repacking and moving. And thru all of this, not one apology from the staff or management. We expressed our discontentment to concierge while moving and he suggested that we speak with the Duty Manager. The manager informs us that things happen and with attitude tells us that 'because we paid a low rate, there's not much they could do for us'. We then spent our last night listening to noisy air conditioner unit, noisy water pipes and hearing everything in the nearby rooms and noisy nightclub below till early hours of the morning. We were due to check in the morning at 4.30am to catch a flight. Sleepless night to finish off a bad experience. What a waste of time and money! We should have read the reviews prior to booking. Never again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arikane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2010

Stayed 5 nights, its in a great spot right next to the tram station and pier
Breakfast was expensive and you had to pay extra for a coffee!
Some of my colleagues had little sleep due to the nightclub below there rooms, don't get a room at the bar end of the building

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rigseismic67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2010

This hotel is located right on the beachfront at Glenelg and is within easy walking distance of many restaurants and the shopping strip.
Nothing was too much trouble for the staff & all requests made were followed up within minutes - I was really impressed with the service.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Naiadjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
816 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
6.1 mi away
Hilton Adelaide
Hilton Adelaide
#18 of 56 in Adelaide
2,422 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range: $114 - $326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing