We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“NOT ALL GRAND AT GLENELG !!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Brisbane
Level Contributor
330 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“NOT ALL GRAND AT GLENELG !!!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014

My husband and I had a corner sea view room on the 12th floor. although the four night stay was comfortable, the over- all condition of the hotel is showing its age. The furniture is somewhat dated , there is a lot of painting needed. The best feature of the hotel is its location, to the beach front and to the near by shops . I love the foyer and the grand staircase .

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the beach or Moseley Square .
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susy1Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Susy1Brisbane

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

You will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment with stage one of this process now complete we are underway on stage two.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    752
    369
    133
    80
See reviews for
388
978
83
446
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (508)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2014

I stayed in this hotel one night with my family in July 2014. Hotels has this Grand , old appearance and situated facing the lovely Glenelg beach. You can walk across to the beach and to the pier and watch planes descending to the Adelaide airport from your room if you get a seaview room.

Receptionist was good and it was a smooth check in. Rooms and carpets look a bit old and tired. Shower over bath may not be the best soecially if you are old and got bad knees etc. No issues with cleanliness,

We did not eat from the hotel since a short walk leads to the square with a lot of eating out options, Car parking could cost you 20-25 AUD per day.

Overall it was a nice stay, mostly contributed by the Glenelg beach.

Room Tip: Magnificient sea views for a little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear amu2

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

You will be pleased to note that we are planning for a refurbishment of various areas of the hotel including our guest rooms in the near future.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

It seems petty to criticise a good hotel for its light switches, but despite previous alerts nothing has happened.
Maybe it's just the rooms we are allotted, but we have found that all lights, apart from the vestibule light, are operated by switches on one side of the bed. And you cannot have one reading light on and the other off. My wife wants to read, I want to sleep? Sorry, I have to have my reading light on.
I daresay the management will respond with the usual "We are constantly upgrading (renovating etc) our rooms" but after years of encountering this one problem that no longer impresses.
Would we stay there again? Yes -- an easy run into the city, Jetty Road is fun, the beach is right there. But we do wish they would rewire their lights.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Swaggie

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

I appreciate your comments and have taken these on board and are in the process of reviewing what our options are.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Level Contributor
120 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

After reading some reviews I was a little apprehensive about booking this hotel, but did so anyway because of the location for our business needs. I am so very happy that we booked the Stamford! Our room was clean, nicely appointed, and large ( ocean view w/ balcony). The view was spectacular. Every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful. The location wa great for leisurely beach walks, restaurants, and shopping.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JAR59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear JAR59

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our stunning, absolute beachfront position and I am delighted to learn that your stay with us was enjoyable.

We look forward to your next stay

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We stay at the Stamford Grand every time we are in Adelaide. The rooms are slightly dated but always clean and comfortable. The best part of this hotel is the location and views. On one side you have ocean views and city views on the other side both views are great.

You are also walking distance to some great restaurants and the tram which you can take in to the city.

The service at the hotel has always been very professional and check in and out is always quick.

If you like coastal locations, long walks along the beach and jetty this is a great Adelaide / Glenelg location to stay.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Jeff M

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback. We pride ourselves on our great location with rooms overlooking both the ocean and the Adelaide Hills.

We look forward to your next stay

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2014

The check in service was reasonably fast, The self parking car park is a 20 second walk from the hotel. There is only $5 dollars difference between self park and valet parking per day so it does make the self parking seem expensive. The room I had on the 7th floor was large enough with a desk, couch and a small dining table with two chairs. The room was very clean and well appointed. The bed was large and very comfortable with a medium to soft mattress. The hairdryer was a brand name but had seen better days with limited airflow and the nozzle had gone missing.
The only issue I had with the Stamford was with finding value or flavor in the two meals i had at the hotel. The first meal, a $30.00 Linguine Seafood Marinara whilst it had a reasonable amount of prawns fish and calamari it did not have any flavor in the Spicy tomato sauce that was i felt an very important part of the meal.. Maybe i was supposed to squeeze the supplied tomato sauce sachet to obtain flavor. The second meal was a $28.00 chicken schnitzel with Mash and a Mushroom sauce. The mushroom sauce was tasty but the crumbed chicken was very ordinary to say the least.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Adrian M

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

While I am pleased you enjoyed our guests rooms I am disappointed to learn of your dining experience. I thank you for bringing this to our attention and I would like to assure you that your concern raised has been taken on board and addressed with my Food & Beverage Director.

Thank you again for your comments, they are appreciated, and we look forward to welcoming you back some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014

I've previously given the Stamford Grand a review with a 4 star rating, but wanted to upgrade it on the basis of a small improvement to service and the consistently excellent stays I've had here.

I've been staying here once or twice a month this year - it's my business hotel of choice in Adelaide - and there is a strong consistency to the experience. They've also started taking room service orders directly via reception, which means immediate responsiveness and only one call (rather than the call back).

This hotel is always comfortable, friendly and responsive. I definitely aim for an ocean view room if possible as the rooms seem a little bigger and brighter. The Stamford is great for sole travellers as it has a warm ambience. This goes from the soft, comfy furnishings to the warm lighting and the happy, friendly staff who respond quickly to any requests. The room service deliveries are always top notch, too. Well cooked, fresh, good portion sizes and delicious! The amenities (tea & coffee, toiletries) are handy. The concierge is usually ready to open the door for you, give you a hand with your luggage, lend you an umbrella or hail a taxi. I really look forward to my stays here and it's a bit of a 'home away from home' for me. It's difficult to find a hotel with real warmth, professionalism and good aesthetics at a reasonable price, but this hotel manages it so well.

I have three suggestions for other travellers:

Definitely go for an ocean view room - I find the city view rooms a touch depressing in comparison. They often have good specials on their website.

If you're tossing up between the Stamford and the Oaks next door, the Oaks has larger rooms and a kitchenette but the furnishings are pretty hard and you have to byo ambience. There is no real service to speak of. This might be a good choice if you're staying with your family. The Stamford is smaller, prettier and more comfy, with service at every corner and a better choice if you are staying alone or as a couple, and can benefit from the time and space-saving amenities supplied.

Thirdly - check your kettle before using. I always rinse any room kettle out before using, and once I had some silt and sediment in it. I rang and they brought me up a new one immediately and apologised.

My only suggestion for the hotel would be to improve the instructions for the air conditioner. The operation panel is a little confusing at first visit until you trial and error your way through, and one of the other guests at my last stay was concerned by its volume...they didn't realise you could turn the fan onto low. Please thank the staff for being so consistently welcoming, terrific and kind.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are prettier and lighter. They also seem a bit bigger - is it just my imagination?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karasch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Karasch

I appreciate you taking the time to leave this feedback, I am thrilled to know that you had a wonderful and enjoyable stay at our hotel and we appreciate your positive comments regarding all facets of your visit.

I will certainly take the air-conditioning suggestion into consideration.

It is rewarding to learn that our staff delivered on service during your stay and I will be sure to share your positive feedback with the team.

We hope your memorable experience with us will continue to bring you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#12 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing