We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Level Contributor
33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Location, location, location”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Very few hotels could match the ambience and feel of being right on Glenelg beach. This was my 4th visit for and I really look forward to returning. If 5 star luxury is your thing, you probably will be disappointed but the general standard is still fairly high. As noted by other reviewers it is not cutting-edge modern has a solid feel. Bathroom is good, bed a little hard for my liking and I couldn't get the pillow right but if the are some niggles (and every hotel has some) all you have to do is walk out the back door to the promenade along the beach and they quickly fade away.

Staff are very good, professional and good humoured on the front desk. Our company had to cancel planned meetings and accommodation at the stamford back in March and they allowed us to postpone until July although not strictly bound to do so. The meeting/conference rooms on the first floor open onto a verandah overlooking the beach around the building to Jetty Road- fantastic for meeting breaks and to freshen up mentally.

The breakfast spread is pretty good but I baulk at paying $25-30 for breakfast no matter how good it is. I don't NEED a breakfast that good but you pay that much even if you just want a bit of cereal, fruit and yoghurt and a cup of tea or coffee. My whinge about this applies to many hotels so the Stàmford is not unique here. If I have time I usually find a nearby cafe where B&E on toast with coffee can be had for 15 bucks or so.

There are so many fantastic restaurants up at Holdfast Bay (a mini-Darling Harbour but with class) that I haven't actually eaten at the restaurant so can't comment on that. Overall plenty of major positives and on a few negatives. The worst thing that happened was Agar getting out for 99! Deserved a century.

Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank EllvisPresley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear EllvisPresley
Thanks so much for posting your comprehensive and even entertaining review following your most recent business trip to Adelaide. I, too, wish Agar had managed a century! I was delighted to read that you’ve enjoyed all of your stays and that you’ve been able to take advantage of our idyllic location with walks along the beach to clear your head. You will be pleased to hear that we’ve just replaced all the beds in our guest rooms and we’re about to commence a full refurbishment so there will be even more reason for you to return either for business or for pleasure. We look forward to welcoming you when you return.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    862
    786
    383
    133
    83
See reviews for
398
1,035
85
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
167 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Some places stay popular because of location alone. This is one of them. Whilst the staff are OUTSTANDING in their service, the parking is expensive and not included in the room rate, the internet is the same, and is an OUTRIGHT RIP OFF. The room has the 2 star card system for power, and there is a back packer style noticeboard in my room promoting hotel services VERY TACKY. The room furniture has had a cheap makeover that looks ...well....cheap, wood is decaying. TV doesn't work. LOOK AROUND BEFORE YOU STAY HERE.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JalanJalan69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear JalanJalan69
I was disappointed to read that you did not enjoy your business trip with us earlier this month as you found the room you were allocated to be unsatisfactory. I’m sure you will be pleased to know that we replaced all the beds in our guest rooms in the last two weeks and that we are about to undertake a full refurbishment of our guest rooms so, should you grant us the opportunity to host you again, I’m sure you’ll see a significant difference. I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be outstanding, which is very encouraging as often exceptional service makes the difference between a good stay and a bad one. I do hope you’ll give us another chance to host you next time you’re in Adelaide.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights on a work trip. Stayed in a ocean view room with balcony on a high floor (?10th) and would highly recommend having a balcony as the views were lovely.

This hotel is quite tired as many reviews have noted but maybe that adds to its charm? The room was a little dated (which is fine as hotels can't be expected t update every year!) although still having cork boards in the room is pretty dated! Despite previous comments on the service, I was very impressed, the staff were attentive and very friendly. Had breakfast in the hotel which was included in the rate and was very nice (not sure how much this costs seperately but probably wouldn't pay for it as an extra).

Great location being on the beach. The Glenelg area has a "mini gold-coast" feel to it especially the restaurants and shops which personally hate.

Overall - great service and nice views from the Ocean view rooms, albeit a little tired.

Room Tip: Ocean view room definitely
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear JKNZ

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent business trip. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff to be attentive and friendly. We do have wonderful views here at the Stamford Grand. Many people choose the ocean views but the city views are spectacular at night. I trust we can look forward to welcoming you back next time you’re in Adelaide.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
103 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We unexpectedly had a night that we could get away after working 7 days a week for many months. The Grand was the perfect location for our one night get away. We booked on-line and took advantage of the $1 breakfast buffet offer. Our room rate also included a late check out and car parking (self park). The room (311) was very large (possibly designed for disabled guests). The staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was a good buffet style breakfast - we loved the egg station. The Grand is walking distance to all of Jetty Road and Holdfast Shores and a tram ride into Adelaide city. The views over the beach at Glenelg from the restaurant are lovely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kate H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear CurlsOnTop

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your “mini-break” with us. I am so pleased you were able to give yourselves a well earned rest and that you chose to do that here at the Stamford Grand. I was delighted to read that you had such a wonderful time and you took advantage of our great value Winter Warmer special. The full buffet breakfast is very popular with the locals as well as our hotel guests so I’m pleased you were able to enjoy that too. Thanks again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you have a chance to stay.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We decided that we would like to have a high tea for our daughters birthday and booked at the Stamford Grand, asking to overlook the beachfront. Upon our arrival we were shown to the atrium area at the front of the Promenade Restaurant which over looked the lawn and beachfront. Soon after being seated we were served coffee and our high tea requirements were confirmed. Soon after our high tea was served and one of the attentive staff explained the sandwich fillings and hot food contents. Our waiter, I think his name is Chiandra, was very attentive and constantly was replenishing drinks etc. The quality of the food was of high standard, the scones were warm and very fresh. There was adequate servings and no issues with ordering extra cream. The only down side was the amount of room that we had on the table with four of us and all the food. The high tea was presented beautifully and we had a very enjoyable day. Highly recommended.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Travellingbeagles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Dear Travellingbeagles

Thank you for posting your review following your daughter’s birthday high tea. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the array of food presented for your celebration and that my team looked after you well. I trust we can look forward to hosting you again soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Arrived very early Saturday prepared to leave our bags and were surprised that our room was ready. Had requested a king bed (see my other reviews about bed sizes) but were given a "terrace room" with 2 doubles. Decided to leave it as we wanted to get out and explore. The terrace is only a square of roof with air conditioner vents and a table and chairs - not a plant in sight and very unappealing. Very restricted view of the ocean but we were not there for the view. Having risen at 4am to get our flight, by that evening were very tired and ready for bed by 9pm however there was a huge function in the ballroom, one floor below which was going on till midnight - the noise was really bad then there were the drunken revelers returning to their rooms. By about 1am we finally got to sleep but then amazingly, we heard hammering and furniture being moved around - lots of banging etc. Really fed up by this stage, I called reception and was told they would investigate. About 3am the noise stopped and we finally got to sleep.
Unfortunately, we had a full day of sightseeing booked for the following day and started by requesting a room change at 7am. We were only there for 2 nights so very disappointing that our stay was spoiled by the noise and having to change rooms. The manager offered to send up champagne in apology but that never arrived.
On the good side, the hotel is in a great location right by the tram in Glenelg and if you can score an ocean view, has a lovely outlook. The cocktail bar is very nice for sunset drinks (however it is advertised as place to relax, read and write but on the first night there was a roped off noisy function going on there and the lighting is so poor, you could not see to read after sunset anyway!). Good gym facilities and the pool is outdoor but protected from the wind. I would stay again but only if I could specify the room as a high floor ocean view. Reception and porters all helpful and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank critique17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear critique17
Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay with us last month. I was pleased to read that your room was ready when you arrived early on the Saturday and that we were also able to accommodate your request for a room move after your first night was disturbed by noise made by other guests of the hotel and late night revellers in the local area. I can appreciate that you would have been utterly exhausted after having risen at 4am that morning and this would have been quite upsetting. I do hope you’ll grant us the opportunity to host you next time you’re in Adelaide as our friendly and professional team will happily accommodate any requests for particular rooms types, occupancy permitting.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wonderful location and that's it.
One of the most tired an dated hotels we have ever seen.
There is absolutely nothing grand about it. Staff are incompetent and the door boys are just downright stupid. Stayed in a Raffles Spa Suite - obviously no-one here has been to Raffles, the room was so ugly and tired and booked through Hotel Club which advertised it as a separate lounge room - this is not the case the lounge is stuck at the end of the bed. On complaining to management we were upgraded the following night to a VIP suite - it was horrible. The hotel is incredibly noisy and the noise went right through to 4am. The breakfast was very average and the Promenade restaurant where it is served is again horrible with hose through floor tiles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear David_Sydney

Thank you for taking the time to post your candid review following your recent stay. I was very disappointed to read that neither your room nor our service met with your expectations in this instance. Whilst I acknowledge that our classic decor is not to everyone’s taste I have taken your comments on board and confirm that we are planning a major refurbishment with work to commence shortly. Thanks again for your time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,084 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing