We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms bit dated but great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Rooms bit dated but great location”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights in April for our 10th anniversary whilst visiting family in S.A. Great reception and concierge service. We had ocean views and it was worth it. Nice clean room comfy big bed. Only downfall is the bathroom needs renovating. I hate a shower in the bath and it was slippery as no bath non slip mats. Great location with beautiful walks along the beach.

Room Tip: Ocean view for sure.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenandGazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear JenandGazza

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us last month for your 10th wedding anniversary. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found our staff to be both pleasant and helpful. You will be pleased to note that we are about to start work on a major refurbishment which will include our guest rooms and public areas and most of the guest room bathrooms will have the bath removed and a walk in shower in its place. We will retain some baths for families travelling with small children and also retain spa baths in our suites. Congratulations on your milestone anniversary and I trust we can look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    785
    383
    133
    83
See reviews for
398
1,032
85
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Stayed there for a birthday party get away. Rooms are rather standard for the price, but can't beat the location and the view.

Really good restaurant, love cocktail lounge.

The only complain is the non stop noise from a large night club.

But other than that, would recommend this place for anyone who wants to have a beach side view and wants a bit of night life as well.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fran M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Dear Fran M

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your stay with us at the end of last year. I was pleased to read that you took advantage of our great location, lovely restaurant and popular cocktail lounge. Our upcoming refurbishment will include our guest rooms and this will further enhance our already iconic hotel. I do hope we can look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The hotel at Glenelg was great - good location, clean and well appointed room (ocean view), lovely staff. The pool was excellent, but cold. Check out the temperature if you are booking for the pool - even the kids shivered.

Room Tip: Depends on the view you want - ocean during the day is fabulous but at night the city lights are equ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthea R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Anthea

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. I was pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our staff particularly helpful. I trust we can look forward to hosting you and your family again next time you’re in Adelaide.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

The hotel need some TLC. The bed was very soft, sheets had holes in them and clearly needed to be thrown out and pillows not plush. Rooms are fine but nothing special.
Location - right on beach but grange or Henley beach is much nicer than glenelg

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank becpaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear becpaus

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay. You will be pleased to note that we are about to undertake a full refurbishment of all our guest rooms including the replacement of all beds and furnishings. As you mentioned, we enjoy a wonderful location right on the foreshore at Glenelg which also means we have great views over the city and ocean. Thanks again for your time and I look forward to hearing what you think of our rooms following the renovation.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2013

We would stay here again in a heartbeat. Reception and Concierge staff very helpful, provided us terrific advice for touring around Adelaide, the Hills and the Barossa Valley. Our room was superb and the view out to sea we will never forget. Can't wait to return to this terrific hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear Tracey

Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay so much and that my capable team was able to assist with your sightseeing plans. We do enjoy a wonderful location in the heart of Adelaide’s premier beachside suburb and the choice between city and ocean views is a difficult one. I’m very pleased we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
68 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Good comfortable hotel in the beautiful beachside suburb of Glenelg in South Australia.
Shops within easy two minute walk, beach frontage at the doorstep and all with nice facilities within the hotel.
Transport to the city of Adelaide provided by the tram located two minutes away.
Great restaurants within easy walking distance.

Room Tip: May be worth paying a bit extra for the beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ranch100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear ranch100

Thank you for posting your review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and were able to take advantage of our great location. I trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide next time you’re in South Australia.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2013

excelent chef with excellent service!
we stayed here for 4 days and we love this so much. its a little bit expensive but worth it.
we will stay here again soon. :D

the location is perfect overlooking at the ocean.
Oh how i love to stare on the sea.
i realy love the spot were it is standing.
i walked on the side of the hotel where i feed the naughty birds.

i enjoyed the food and i wont forget tose guys that even made our stay enjoyable! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank iamfishydolphin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, May 9, 2013
Dear iamfishydolphin

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us so much and plan to return soon. I was also pleased to note that you chose to dine in-house and loved the food. Our Executive Chef has created an extensive menu which caters to all tastes and dietary requirements drawing local diners as well as in-house guests. Thanks again for your time and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing