We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its fair value and location is perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“its fair value and location is perfect”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

the reason you go is for the location... it simply cannot be beatedn.

we upgraded to a suite and i believe that they have been renovated where other rooms need a renovation.

choose your room carefully but its definitely 4 star

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aussie2and2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Aussie2and2

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your time with us and trust we can look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the hotel next time you’re in Adelaide.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    808
    392
    137
    88
See reviews for
420
1,084
88
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (519)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The location of the Grand is sensational. We had a room with a balcony, so had a fantastic view of the ocean & the Glenelg foreshore. Weather was very hot, but air conditioning in the room kept us cool & comfortable. Staff very friendly & helpful. Rooms are looking a bit dated & tired, making them overpriced. However, the room was clean & comfortable, with the exception of a squeaky bed. :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear jobaum59

Thank you for taking the time to post your review after your recent stay. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. You will be pleased to note that we are about to undertake a major refurbishment of our guest rooms and public areas, further enhancing our wonderful location and attentive staff. We are purchasing new beds as a part of this refurbishment. I trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Found this hotel to be extremely good. Right on the beach and the local mall, your never to far from the action. Would highly recommend the dolphin swim while there. We had the seafood buffet downstairs and that was fantastic if maybe slightly on the expensive side. All in all it was a very positive while in south Australia

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leobrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Leobrophy

Thank you for your positive review following your stay with us last month. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much, took advantage of our delicious Saturday night seafood buffet and also some of the great activities available in the Glenelg area. I trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide very soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Stayed at the Stamford Grand Adelaide, which is literally situated on the beach at Glenelg, a great tourist spot in Adelaide (about 25 minutes by tram to the city centre). The Grand is a beautiful designed building with rooms facing the beach and on the other side facing Glenelg area.

We arrived at around 8 am on Friday of a long weekend for Adelaide. It as a great start when they said our room was available! We are Stamford Senator club members and as such are entitle to a one night free upgrade and although we were staying for 3 nights the duty manger approved us an upgrade not only for the 3 nights but put us into a junior king bed suite facing the beach (huge room). What a view and great start to our weekend.

I digress here and talk about the bonuses of being a Stamford Senators club member. If u travel to the major cities then u should really look at staying at the Stamford hotels and definitely become a club member. Great bonus including instant 10% off the going price for their rooms. Also If available, late check out ( we were given until 2 PM to checkout) and one free night at a Stamford hotel per annual membership which at the moment is $260.00 P/A ( the one free night almost pays for the annual membership). But the best part of being a member is the discount off meals at the hotels. if u are with some one you get all meals 50% off including breakfast and dinner. The other bonus is that u don't even have to be staying at the Hotel to get the food discount. ( no i have nothing to do with the Stamford hotel chain just a good piece of advice for free! :-)

The grand hotel is about a $25 taxi ride from the airport. As with all Stamford Hotels it is a magnificent 5 star establishment. Full buffet breakfast at the Hotel was really nice especially the fresh yummy bacon.

If you are looking at a weekend escape then don't hesitate, book this hotel. Why would u book a hotel in Adelaide city when you can book a hotel like this one which is only 25 minutes from the city and has a beach as its backyard.

Just opposite the tram stop ( which is next to the Hotel) there was a great italian restaurant call Europa with very reasonable pricing for a exceptional great meal, highly recommend it. Glenelg has a long line of shops on both sides of the main street to shop to you drop with a Coles supermarket about 400 metres down the road on the left hand side. Not far from the hotel off one of the main exit roads is a great message shopfront who provide Chinese messages for a great price(Message Me is the name).

Lastly we searched trip adviser for a day out at the wineries and picked one of the most popular small chauffeur driven tours of the wineries, Taste the Barossa. Dallas the driver is the owner ( so is Nikki) and he was terrific. Being born and raised in the barossa, he had a great hands-on knowledge of the area. We visited 4 great wineries and had a really nice lunch which included local made bread, cheese and cold meats. It was ideal with our wine we bought for lunch. At around $100 its really cheap day out ( i told him to increase his prices as such). They pick you up and drop you back to your hotel. Great day out.

Enjoy! :-)

Room Tip: I guess it wouldn't hurt to ask for a free upgrade when u first arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pedrotheswift
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear pedrotheswift

Thank you for posting your comprehensive and complimentary review following your recent stay. I’m sure the information you provided will prove very useful for others planning a trip to Adelaide. I was delighted to read that you are a Stamford Senators Club member, enjoying all the benefits that come with that. We are, as you say, in a wonderful location right on the beachfront and our restaurant and bars take full advantage of our fantastic views. I was very pleased you enjoyed a lovely stay with us and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,391 reviews
381 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,112 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We have stayed at the Stamford numerous times due to business & have always found the location to be perfect. Having the beach, swimming pool, tram, shops & restaurants at your fingertips is wonderful especially on a hot summer's day in Adelaide.

We booked the oceanfront balcony room for a week which was comfortable & clean. The rooms & hotel certainly need updating which we have found in all Stamford Hotels within Australia. However; the location, service & amenities take away any grievances.

Check-in - All went accordingly to plan without any hiccups. Staff were friendly & efficient.

Room - 716 - Lovely beach views & having a balcony was an added bonus due to the sea breezes. Although there is no table or chair to sit on. The room is adequately furnished with king size bed, air conditioner, working desk, lounge & mini bar.

The bathroom is small & certainly needs an update.

Facilities - I used the swimming pool every day & enjoyed it although with a little imagination & money spend on it with an upgrade the pool area would be more appealing. The gym is excellent with plenty of machines. There is a restaurant on-site & a pub connected to the hotel.

Overall: We love staying at Glenelg as we like being near the sea & the Stamford is ideal for those who are happy to have a comfortable stay with the added bonus of having everything at your fingertips.

Room Tip: Oceanfront balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Ellemay

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your recent stay with us. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found my staff to be friendly and efficient. We are unable to put furniture on our balconies for safety reasons but appreciate that some of our guests like to enjoy a glass of wine on the balcony. You will be pleased to note that we are about to commence a full refurbishment of the hotel which will include both guest rooms and public areas and I am sure this will enhance your next stay with us.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Stamford Grand has a lovely location in Glenelg right on the beach. However, my room was terribly outdated and some features of the room were in a shoddy state. The staff were pleasant but kept odd hours, with housekeeping knocking one morning as early as 8:30am to clean the room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgoldrd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear mcgoldrd

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us. You will be pleased to hear that we are about to commence a full refurbishment of the property including guest rooms and public areas. I was glad to read that you found my team pleasant but apologise for the miscommunication which lead to them knocking on your door so early in the morning. I have addressed this with my Executive Housekeeper. I trust we can look forward to hosting you again next time you’re in Australia.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
123 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

I always find it strange that you would work in hostipality or at a front desk of a hotel if you didn't like people, however people do. The woman at the front desk ignored the 3 people waiting to check in and then when she did serve us it was with eye rolls and deep sighs ..... Then when my card didn't work that seemed to be inconvienient as well ...... I would have said for me. ... However more so for her !!!
The rooms are dated, grubby and just aren't worth what we paid for it
It is in a sensational location though, on the beach front, top of jetty road, have facilities but there are plenty of better places to eat on the marina or up jetty road. If you could get a cheap last minute deal it would be worth it
Oh the card didn't work again, however this time the duty manager helped me and couldn't have been better, fixed the problem and even made sure it worked in the lift. ... If only he was my first impression .... However it wouldn't have fixed the state of the room unfortunately ... But better in any case

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whatithink2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear whatithink2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your candid review following your recent stay with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for the less than professional manner in which your check in was handled. I would be very grateful if you would contact my Front Office Manager, Stuart Riddell, via the hotel’s switchboard so that we can discuss this in more detail with you, as our guests’ experience with us is of paramount importance. I was pleased to read that the Duty Manager left a far better impression with regards to customer service. You will be pleased to note that we are about to commence a full refurbishment of our guest rooms and public areas with work to begin very soon. Thank you again for your time and I trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
729 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
2,142 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing