We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 1 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Grand Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great 1 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

Booked a room with city view , however was given room 504 , overlooking beach and jetty.

Room recently refurbished , lovely decor , kids enjoyed the room too , very clean and they enjoyed the pool

Would stay again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakapplegal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear oakapplegal

Thank you for posting your review following your stay with us in February. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed yourselves and, whilst you’re a long way away, I trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide next time you’re in the country.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    710
    358
    129
    79
See reviews for
361
929
80
435
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haslemere
Level Contributor
412 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Unlike some earlier reviews our experience was good and the sea view room on the 10th floor appeared to have been redecorated (albeit good decorators must be hard to come by in this area!), with a good carpet and everything clean. Location right on the beach is perfect with great sunsets directly out to sea.
Hotel seemed pricey, but our visit coincided with a major city event (Clipsal) and the hotel took advantage. Slightly annoyingly, despite a top end charge there was still a ridiculously overpriced fee ($25 a day!) for internet - Mcdonalds and another coffee shop next to it provide low speed free wifi, so i recommend you avoid paying for wifi here.
Glenelg is lively with some good restaurants, but quietened outside each evening by 11:00.

Room Tip: Based on seeing some earlier negative reviews request a room that has been renovated and if possible...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete_Gill_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Pete_Gill_Haslemere

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay during Clipsal earlier this month. I was pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay overall and took advantage of our fabulous location. We take a flexible approach to wifi charges with guests able to purchase as much or as little wifi as required, capped at a $24.95 maximum per day. Guests can also enjoy free wifi in The Grand Bar with any purchase or can take advantage of a business package which includes wifi. It is a good idea to keep an eye on the specials which regularly appear on our website as well. With a major refurbishment around the corner I trust we can look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the future.

Kind regards 
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

Stayed recently and was very disappointed with the high rate (busy Clipsal weekend but still an excessive amount) for such a tired spot in desperate need of a revamp. While we were greeted with wonderful service and a smile at front desk, that was unfortunately where the compliments stopped. The rooms are average at best and room service food/timing left a lot to be desired. A request for ice took over 45 minutes! Not sure I would stay here again in a hurry.

Room Tip: ask for an ocean view room, but only if it's high up as especially on weekends the bar can get v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Siobhan

Thank you for taking the time to post your candid feedback. I was pleased to read that you found our staff to be friendly and helpful during your stay over the Clipsal weekend. You will be pleased to note that we are about to undertake a full refurbishment encompassing guest rooms and public areas with work to commence shortly. Whilst you’ve indicated you would be reluctant to stay again I trust that, by the time you’re ready to stay again, our rooms will be more to your liking and the hotel will not be quite so busy.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

In my years of travelling I have stayed at backpackers hostels and I have stayed in 5 star luxury and being an Adelaidian and having stayed at the grand a few times over the past 20 years I'm am very sad to say the Grand is sitting somewhere in the middle while still trying to pretend its a 5 star hotel... It may have the 5 star location but that's where it ends.
It seriously needs a facelift and someone to spend some money on upgrading it... In my room the window had electrical tape holding the window frame together, the bathroom had mould in it, the air conditioning didn't work properly and the tv reception was not great, and in the morning the breakfast was stone cold and really basic. One other thing I noticed was the little cafes that used to be downstairs have gone making way for a dodgy little art dealer which reminded me a lot of being in a low budget hotel in Asia.
Now you may skim over my review thinking I'm just a person who's hard to please but I'm usually the opposite this is the first time I've ever written a bad review on a website I just like to get what I pay for and I feel that the Grand can not keep charging 5 star rates when they are only a 3 star hotel, plus i also feel sad that what was once a luxurious hotel has gone down hill so much.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JOJO74_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear JOJO74_10

Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay back in November. I was quite saddened to read of your disappointment in the condition of the hotel. Having taken up the position of General Manager at this property in December, I am excited to advise that we are in the final stages of design for a major refurbishment including guest rooms and public areas. We hope to have our first prototype room completed by the end of this month. This is a lovely hotel in a wonderful location so I am looking forward to seeing it shine in the months to come. Thanks again for your time.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed on Wednesday night on the top floor 12. The Concierge (Jarod) and staff were brilliant, friendly and very welcoming. I can see that the hotel gets some bad reviews but we can not fault a thing the views are beautiful. Room was clean. The wine was chilled and the air- conditioner was already on. the spar was great. and the beach view at sunset - breath taking.
Well done Jarod and team, thank you so much. we will be back and will definitely recommend you guys.

Room Tip: Ask for room 1220. It's the best in the hotel. Quite A/C great spacious and just stunning views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank danno948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear danno948

Thank you for your lovely comments about our location, facilities and staff. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service and take great pleasure in hearing that our guests have enjoyed their time with us. I hope your wife enjoyed her birthday and we look forward to hosting you both again in the near future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2013

I lived in Glenelg when "The Grand" as it was called then was built. The ground floor bar had the best position in Glenleg with views over the beach and pier. It was expensive then but worth it for the view and service.
I went into the bar the other night for the first time in years. The wine and beer we asked for was out out stock no excuse for this on a Tuesday night as you have had time to restock after any busy weekend rush you may have had!
When we did get one of each it was over $17 so still obviously an expensive bar! The two boys behind the bar were rubbish and I would have sacked them both, customers were an inconvenience to thier discussions.
The bar tonight, Sunday, had about 10 customers a DJ and lots of cheap disco lights flashing. It would appear that the grand has taken over from the dumps that used to exist in Hindley Street way back when. They have now all had makeovers and the grand should follow suit.
It still has a fantastic location but needs to be avoided like the plague unless of course your 18 and like cheap tacky washed up nightclub type venues.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JagJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear JagJohn

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments about the Grand Bar. Whilst I appreciate it is not to everyone’s taste and may be quite different from your experience of it back when the hotel was built, the Grand Bar is the most popular bar in Glenelg among the younger set and one of the top 5 in Adelaide. We have recently installed new flooring and furniture and continue to make improvements. With an equally spectacular outlook and more ‘laid back’ atmosphere you might find that our Horizons Cocktail Lounge, with its leather chesterfields and table service, is more to your liking next time you’re in Glenelg.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

Once a great venue the hotel is struggling. We payed for an ocean terrace room, however the terrace was very average and tired. Two very old chairs and small table with a view obscured by a safety railing of chocolate brown wood. How about a sun lounge! There is a sliding door but no fly screen, our room was full of mosquitoes. Little things but they add up.

The mini bar was never replenished over a three day period, and they charge $5 for a bucket of ice! The bed has a microscopic bed side table and the suites featured on the website and in house TV guide must be somewhere else! The spa was out of order.

For the elderly the shower was a very old fashioned shower in a bathtub...there is very high bath edge to step over to get into the shower. If you are less than flexible you won't be washing. The hot water was patchy. If you are going to Glenelg try one of the newer boutique venues.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a 3rd floor ocean terrace...no real view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin_Higgins, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Wayne G

Thank you for your frank review following your stay with us. I was disappointed to read that the room you chose did not meet your expectations. Had you made us aware at the time my team would have done their utmost to find you an alternate room more to your liking. We don’t charge for ice or the delivery of it, so I apologise that you were given the impression that that is what the $5 charge was for. I have taken on board your comments regarding the terrace rooms and will certainly consider your suggestions during our upcoming refurbishment. Thank you again for your time and I trust we can look forward to hosting you in the future.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 674 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,944 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing