We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too pricey for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
189 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
“Too pricey for what you get”
Reviewed November 7, 2012

Glenelg is a fantastic place and the hotel is perfectly situated on the beach. Ask for rooms on the 12th floor and enjoy the view to a lovely beach.

The hotel has four stars but not quite live up to that status. Although the rooms are quite expensive compared to the hotel is quite run down. They live in the 90s and charge for breakfast and Internet.

This is very pricey and feels wrong. Its should be included in the room rate. The breakfast costs $ 34 and the Internet 20 diollar a day. You end up with an extra bill of 54 dollars a day. It is annoying.

If everything is good, the service is nice. BUT if you have challange the service could have been better.

The food from room service is less then average. And the hamburger that i ordererd was a big disappointed.

But the breakfast very good. A average pluss hotel, but no more than that. The location is the best with this ecperience.

Its too pricey for what you get.

Room Tip: Ask for 12th floor with sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank localPatronOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us. We are fortunate to enjoy a great location and pleased that you enjoyed the view from your room. I agree the rooms are tired and for your information we are in the planning stages of undergoing various refurbishments in the hotel including our guest rooms. Thank you for your comments of which have been taken on board. I hope we can look forward to welcoming you back again soon
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    861
    785
    383
    133
    83
See reviews for
398
1,033
85
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the Stamford for one night. We were visiting from WA to see the Black Keys concert. We had a group of 6 and had 2 deluxe adjoining rooms. We travelled with our grown up kids aged from 22 down to 17. Right from the start with the greet from the concierge was our experience first rate. The location is second to none with access to the beach and a plethora of cafe ,bars etc within shouting distance. We were fortunate enough to strike a great weather window also and enjoyed the beach in near perfect conditions. This is the 3rd time i have stayed at The Grand and once again it was a pleasurable experience. Great value and great service from all the staff. Well Done Stamford Grand.

Helpful?
Thank gcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
327 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel on three seperate occasions now, and so feel in a position to form an opinion of the level of service that is offered. The experience has been pretty much the same on each occasion, with the only variable being that Mrs RTW was with me on the last visit.

Straight off the bat, I feel the hotel is vastly overpriced for what it offers. I find the rooms to be dated, the additional costs such as valet parking and breakfast, to be extortionate, and the staff to be mediocre in their attentiveness.

Sure, the location is great, however after enjoying seaviews (albeit in a room crying out for a refurb) on the first visit, the next two offered vistas of the car park, which I am sure is a structural masterpiece however not for me.

The bars have a quality of yesteryear, and unfortunately the service to match.

I found the breakfasts to be wholesome and leave you not worrying about eating for a while.

Since these experiences, I would not choose this hotel and have since used the Allegro in town with far better results.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pumperman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for providing your feedback. I agree the hotel is dated and for your information we are in planning stages of undergoing a refurbishment of various areas of the hotel which include our food and beverage outlets and hotel guest rooms. Some of which have been completed recently. We are fortunate to enjoy such a wonderful location. Once again thank you for your comments and we are always looking of ways to better the experience for our guests.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

The Stamford Grand is in need of a decorating upgrade. It's looking tired. We had drinks in the bar which was shabby. Our room was tidy, clean and comfortable but again the furniture was chipped and the decor is old. We had a pin up board on the wall with adverts pinned to it....very tacky!! However in saying all this we booked on wotif.com and satyed only 1 night as it was a quick visit from Melbourne to see a very sick family member. The cost included parking and a full buffet breakfast for two. It was a very reasonable price and was definitely worthwhile. We usually stay at the Oaks Plaza pier but didn't want to stay the min 2 night stay. I believe the Stamford Grand is the BEST located hotel in South Australia, it's situation is outstanding!!! Will definitely stay there again.

Helpful?
Thank Sonya4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 30, 2012

For anyone looking for a hotel in Glenelg and plan on having a romantic stay, this is a great hotel just for that. Sensational location right on the beach, ocean view room that we had was perfect and i would highly reccommend purchasing the 'Romance and seduction' package as it was simply brilliant! My partner and I had a great time staying at the Stamford Grand Adelaide. Just a minor aspect which could improve is the room showed a bit of age and could be updated but otherwise really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Ocean view room. We were on the 11th floor and was beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10Paul1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us.The Romance and Seduction package is one of our most popular, I am pleased to hear it met your expectations on youyr special occasion.
We are proud of our wonderful location and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. For your information we are planning for a room refurbishment in the near future and I look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide in the near future
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
116 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Attended a national golf tournament in Adelaide for a week in Oct 2012 with 100+ competitors staying at the Grand. They really looked after us. The hotel is right on the beach. Tram to the city at front door. Restaurants & hotels all within meters to cater for all tastes. Parking $20 a day adjacent to hotel. Street parking impossible except for short term. Rooms excellent. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast at $25 reasonable, but would be better if it was included with room deal. Buffet is good + omelettes and fried eggs by request.WiFi expensive, but Maccas has free WiFi just over the road. My city view room on the 7th floor had spectacular views. Intimate cocktail lounge was great but at $15 for a martini a little pricey. front bar is jumping with the young set. Gaming lounge for the more mature. Overall a very enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Sea views are best in summer (western side), but city views are also great (eastern side).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterperfect2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your stay with us. I was pleased to read that you were delighted with the service you received during your stay at the Stamford Grand.
We pride ourselves on providing exceptional service so your positive feedback regarding our staff was warmly received and has been shared with my team. We are proud of our wonderful location and I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I look forward to welcoming you back to the Stamford Grand Adelaide.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray Bridge, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Great customer service at the Stamford. Held our luggage as we had arrived early in order to attend a birtday party lunch. Speaking of lunch - magnificent! Service there was great also. This hotel is in a top spot if a nice beach walk is on the agenda after a long lunch!. Had buffet breakfast both mornings & that could not be faulted. Rooms were very clean & comfortable which is what most travellers want. All in all we had a lovely time & hope there are more birthday celebrations that we can attend at the Stamford Grand. Thank you to all the staff - they certainly go the extra mile!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil S, General Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay with us. Much appreciated.
Your comments are valued as they allow us to address aspects of our service or operation that may require attention. I am pleased to learn that you were happy with our service and our food and that you enjoyed your special occassion with us. I trust we will welcome you back again for another celebration very soon.
Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 57 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,079 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing