We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stay somewhere else” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stamford Grand Adelaide

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Sydney
Level Contributor
85 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Stay somewhere else”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Stamford over the June long weekend. We didn't enjoy our time there and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone else.

Firstly, on the night we arrived we had to change rooms as we weren't able to sleep in the one we were in due to the noise coming from a high school formal being held in one of the function rooms on the ground floor. We were on the third floor. Granted the hotel upgraded us to a junior suite at no extra charge, but I still wasn't happy with the fact that we had to move in the first place. Also, the junior suite was nothing to write home about either.

Secondly, the hotel itself is quited old and dated and not really worthy of it's prestigious reputation.

Thirdly, the car parking arrangement at the hotel is terrible. The hotel doesn't have it's own car park. It shares a public car park located across the street from it's main entrance. This becomes a major problem when you want to park your car on a Saturday night but can't because the car park is full.

Finally, if you are going to stay in Glenelg, I wouldn't recommend doing so on a long weekend. On the Sunday night it seems that every young drunk in Adelaide goes to the Jetty Hotel or tries to get into the bar in the hotel itself. And to make matters worse, some of them decide to stay at in the hotel itself and run around drunk in the halls when they've finished their night out.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iammars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest
I am sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations but I thank you for sharing your honest and open feedback.
I apologise that noise from our functions floor disturbed your sleep but am pleased we were able to provide you with a complimentary room upgrade as soon as you brought this to our attention. Whilst we acknowledge that it is not to everyone's taste, our décor is very traditional, classic & elegant. We are continually making improvements to our facilities to improve our guests' experience such as the recent upgrading of all the guest room televisions to LCDs and our current project, the double glazing of guest room windows. We are also currently in talks with our designers with a view to refurbishing our guest rooms in the near future. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and count that, as well as our absolute beach front position, as our major points of difference among our competitors.
Thank you again for your time and I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and personally ensure that you have a great stay.

Kind regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,047 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    777
    705
    357
    129
    79
See reviews for
359
925
80
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (500)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

My wife and I, plus daughter and partner stayed two nights on a two night package deal to hopefully be pampered before their return to Brisbane.

The hotels reputation from friends had preceded them and I had read the reviews and often passed by on my travels around Adelaide. So the expectations were high.

I place a fair amount of importance on first impressions and this hotel did not let me down. From the valet parking which was brilliant to the friendly, smiling attentive staff at reception. Check in was simple. Our baggage was delivered to our rooms and within minutes of arriving we were checking out the beauty of St Vincents Gulf. My daughter was in awe of what they could see from their room. The rooms had everything you needed and were clean and well presented.

A simple phone call and within minutes our car was waiting for us at the door, the concierge always with a smile and a recommendation on things to see and do.

The buffet breakfast on both mornings that was included was of a very high standard and mixed it with some of the best I have tried in America. The staff once again attentive and always willing to "fill your cup" or "is there anything else I can do for you?"

Would I come back again. "You betcha". Check out was simple. The car was there before we even finished checking out. Tip: Try it : and just enjoy.

Room Tip: can be little noisy from party goers on weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ceejaybeeaust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your positive experience. We certainly value our guests and we love to know we accomplished our goal of making memorable stays. We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards,

Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times on business over the past 18 months. The hotel is located right on the beach at Glenelg with the Jetty Road shops at its doorstep.

Due to its beach side location this hotel is ideal as a base for a vacation. Beach, marina, Jetty Road Shops and restaurants all easy walking distance. Adelaide's only tram runs from the hotel into Adelaide at regular intervals - takes about 40 to 45 minutes.

The hotel restaurant is average and meals are not cheap - you are better off enjoying one of the many eateries on Jetty Road - many open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Have stayed in many different room types - all have been clean and not too dated.

You can rely on the Hotel's website photos - they are a true representation of the rooms and facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1birdie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to Stamford Grand Adelaide and for taking the time to recommend our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our excellent location and the great views. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night on one of the hotel's prommotional packages. No particular reason; just because we felt we deserved a break.

I have been an avid reader of reviews on trip adviser for a long time and it becomes apparent after a while that some people go out of their way to pick things to pieces or deliberately have a bad time. I can just picture people sitting on the toilet in the bathroom and examining every corner in the minutest detail to find a cracked tile or a trace of mildew. I fully understand that when you are parting with hard earned money you expect everything to be just right but let's face it, the world is not perfect and you can find fault with anything if you look hard enough. Pehaps some more careful research prior to booking wouldn't go astray.

I read the reviews on the Grand just for interest sake and found an interesting mixture. Surprisingly, I was even warned by some locals that "it ain't what it used be." so I was curious to find out what it's like.

Our stay? Arrived at 2:30pm and drove up to the front door and were immediately swamped by hotel staff. Valet parking? Brilliant. Check-in? Equally as good. Our registration form had already been completed and key cards readied. Required one signature and a swipe of the credit card. Took best part of a minute. Admittedly, people weren't queing out the door but we weren't alone either. The hotel reservation site clearly asks for room preferences and we were given presicely what we had asked for. Sea facing with balcony, away from the main entertainment areas on the 11th floor. The room itself was great. At the end of the day it's a hotel room that mirrors thousands of others around the world. It was clean, well presented and had everything you needed. Our only gripe is the extra charges levied for internet use and cable movies but the Grand is by no means unique in this area.

The buffet breakfast that was included in the package was first rate. Plenty of choice and of good quality. The service staff were especially good.

All in all a very enjoyable stay. Check out was quick and effecient and in the time that took, the car was brought around, loaded and we were on our way. Our tip is that unless you end up in "Faulty Towers", enjoy your stay and don't go looking for excuses to make yourself miserable.

Room Tip: Follow the instructions on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zaccy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is great to hear that our team made your stay so comfortable - this is exactly what we aim for each guest to experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to recommend Stamford Grand Adelaide, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is located in a fabulous location - right on the shore of Glenelg.

The negatives:
- Hair dryers. Ours worked, just not in the bathroom (dodgy plug) and our friends didn't work at all. Saying that - the hotel did replace it for her the next day so all good
- The bathrooms. Besides being a bit dated, we had a problem with the water. One day it was fine, the next day it was scolding hot and we simply could not get cold water to come through to the shower (although it worked in the bathroom sink). We had to get out of the shower, turn it off and leave it for a couple of minutes and then get back in and try again. It eventually worked, but when it's cold the last thing you want to be doing is getting in and out of the shower. This happened on more than one occassion.
- Tv just had plain television stations, no digital TV nor foxtel - not a huge problem as we didn't watch it much - it's more just a comment!
- We dined at the hotel on our first night and although it was not busy, it took a very long time for our meals to come.

The Positives:
- The hotel is in an awesome position. On the sea-side, right next to the Tram and main shopping area and cafes of Glenelg.
- The service - we didn't have any problem with the service. Check-in and Check-out was smooth. Concierge stored our luggage for us while we waited for our flight and we met the new GM who was very friendly.
- The rates - unlike other Stamford Hotels, this one is not too hefty when it comes to the room tariff. Saying that, the price matches the standard of the hotel, and that's always a good thing.

All in all an enjoyable stay and I would book and stay there again if we were returning to Glenelg.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell76Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Stamford Grand Adelaide, and for taking the time to review your stay - we do really appreciate all feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our excellent location. We are sorry to hear however that you had a problem with your dryer and the shower and we are looking into why this happened. We are also pleased to inform you that we are upgrading our TV reception system and will soon be able to recieve digital channels.

We hope that you will return soon and would be pleased to help you plan your next visit to Glenelg.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at the Stamford Grand Glenelg for a business trip in May.

Guest rooms, particularly the bathrooms are in need of a renovation. They are looking tired and dated but the rooms are clean, comfortable and quite large.

Hotel is located in a great spot close to shopping and great restaurants. Watching the sunset over the ocean is lovely (particularly when you come form the East Coast of Australia...you don't see that too often!). Would be beautiful in Summer.

Service is great, very helpful and very accommodating. I was coordinating a conference and the staff could not do enough to help. Conferencing F&B was really good - plenty of food for our delegates.

Gym is small and the cardio gear is a bit old but it has everything you need for a decent workout.

Great selection of food for breakfast, coffee not so great though! Had dinner in the restaurant one evening and it was quite good again, service was great.

They have a couple of good bars as well...again, would be awesome in Summer watching the sunset over the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade_Eliz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our location overlooking the Gulf St Vincent and the helpful customer service we strive for. We look forward to your next stay and would be pleased to help you plan your next trip to Glenelg. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if we can be of any assistance.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a great beach location, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It has great views on the ocean side.

The rooms are well fitted out and a decent size. Bathrooms are also good although I found the bath a little on the small size. There ares some good restaurants very close and also a good range of shops, banks, and a tram direct to town. Service was friendly and efficient in all areas. We hired the boardroom for the day and this met our needs well too.

I went with some business colleagues and we all decided it would be a good place to go back to and even have our annual conference.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocena view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Taustin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your recent stay. We have shared your compliments with our staff who works really hard to make every stay a great one!
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#13 of 58 in Adelaide
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,931 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing