We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Location, Location”
Reviewed June 18, 2011

I have stayed at this hotel numerous times on business over the past 18 months. The hotel is located right on the beach at Glenelg with the Jetty Road shops at its doorstep.

Due to its beach side location this hotel is ideal as a base for a vacation. Beach, marina, Jetty Road Shops and restaurants all easy walking distance. Adelaide's only tram runs from the hotel into Adelaide at regular intervals - takes about 40 to 45 minutes.

The hotel restaurant is average and meals are not cheap - you are better off enjoying one of the many eateries on Jetty Road - many open for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Have stayed in many different room types - all have been clean and not too dated.

You can rely on the Hotel's website photos - they are a true representation of the rooms and facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a beach view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1birdie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your continued loyalty to Stamford Grand Adelaide and for taking the time to recommend our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoy our excellent location and the great views. We hope to welcome you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,476 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    973
    857
    415
    141
    90
See reviews for
463
1,145
91
500
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (527)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

My wife and I stayed one night on one of the hotel's prommotional packages. No particular reason; just because we felt we deserved a break.

I have been an avid reader of reviews on trip adviser for a long time and it becomes apparent after a while that some people go out of their way to pick things to pieces or deliberately have a bad time. I can just picture people sitting on the toilet in the bathroom and examining every corner in the minutest detail to find a cracked tile or a trace of mildew. I fully understand that when you are parting with hard earned money you expect everything to be just right but let's face it, the world is not perfect and you can find fault with anything if you look hard enough. Pehaps some more careful research prior to booking wouldn't go astray.

I read the reviews on the Grand just for interest sake and found an interesting mixture. Surprisingly, I was even warned by some locals that "it ain't what it used be." so I was curious to find out what it's like.

Our stay? Arrived at 2:30pm and drove up to the front door and were immediately swamped by hotel staff. Valet parking? Brilliant. Check-in? Equally as good. Our registration form had already been completed and key cards readied. Required one signature and a swipe of the credit card. Took best part of a minute. Admittedly, people weren't queing out the door but we weren't alone either. The hotel reservation site clearly asks for room preferences and we were given presicely what we had asked for. Sea facing with balcony, away from the main entertainment areas on the 11th floor. The room itself was great. At the end of the day it's a hotel room that mirrors thousands of others around the world. It was clean, well presented and had everything you needed. Our only gripe is the extra charges levied for internet use and cable movies but the Grand is by no means unique in this area.

The buffet breakfast that was included in the package was first rate. Plenty of choice and of good quality. The service staff were especially good.

All in all a very enjoyable stay. Check out was quick and effecient and in the time that took, the car was brought around, loaded and we were on our way. Our tip is that unless you end up in "Faulty Towers", enjoy your stay and don't go looking for excuses to make yourself miserable.

Room Tip: Follow the instructions on the web site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zaccy321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is great to hear that our team made your stay so comfortable - this is exactly what we aim for each guest to experience. We really appreciate you taking the time to recommend Stamford Grand Adelaide, and we hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

This hotel is located in a fabulous location - right on the shore of Glenelg.

The negatives:
- Hair dryers. Ours worked, just not in the bathroom (dodgy plug) and our friends didn't work at all. Saying that - the hotel did replace it for her the next day so all good
- The bathrooms. Besides being a bit dated, we had a problem with the water. One day it was fine, the next day it was scolding hot and we simply could not get cold water to come through to the shower (although it worked in the bathroom sink). We had to get out of the shower, turn it off and leave it for a couple of minutes and then get back in and try again. It eventually worked, but when it's cold the last thing you want to be doing is getting in and out of the shower. This happened on more than one occassion.
- Tv just had plain television stations, no digital TV nor foxtel - not a huge problem as we didn't watch it much - it's more just a comment!
- We dined at the hotel on our first night and although it was not busy, it took a very long time for our meals to come.

The Positives:
- The hotel is in an awesome position. On the sea-side, right next to the Tram and main shopping area and cafes of Glenelg.
- The service - we didn't have any problem with the service. Check-in and Check-out was smooth. Concierge stored our luggage for us while we waited for our flight and we met the new GM who was very friendly.
- The rates - unlike other Stamford Hotels, this one is not too hefty when it comes to the room tariff. Saying that, the price matches the standard of the hotel, and that's always a good thing.

All in all an enjoyable stay and I would book and stay there again if we were returning to Glenelg.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shell76Brisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing to stay at Stamford Grand Adelaide, and for taking the time to review your stay - we do really appreciate all feedback. We are pleased that you enjoyed our excellent location. We are sorry to hear however that you had a problem with your dryer and the shower and we are looking into why this happened. We are also pleased to inform you that we are upgrading our TV reception system and will soon be able to recieve digital channels.

We hope that you will return soon and would be pleased to help you plan your next visit to Glenelg.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

Stayed at the Stamford Grand Glenelg for a business trip in May.

Guest rooms, particularly the bathrooms are in need of a renovation. They are looking tired and dated but the rooms are clean, comfortable and quite large.

Hotel is located in a great spot close to shopping and great restaurants. Watching the sunset over the ocean is lovely (particularly when you come form the East Coast of Australia...you don't see that too often!). Would be beautiful in Summer.

Service is great, very helpful and very accommodating. I was coordinating a conference and the staff could not do enough to help. Conferencing F&B was really good - plenty of food for our delegates.

Gym is small and the cardio gear is a bit old but it has everything you need for a decent workout.

Great selection of food for breakfast, coffee not so great though! Had dinner in the restaurant one evening and it was quite good again, service was great.

They have a couple of good bars as well...again, would be awesome in Summer watching the sunset over the beach.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jade_Eliz79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 22, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are delighted you enjoyed our location overlooking the Gulf St Vincent and the helpful customer service we strive for. We look forward to your next stay and would be pleased to help you plan your next trip to Glenelg. Please do not hesitate to get in touch if we can be of any assistance.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a great beach location, away from the hustle and bustle of the city. It has great views on the ocean side.

The rooms are well fitted out and a decent size. Bathrooms are also good although I found the bath a little on the small size. There ares some good restaurants very close and also a good range of shops, banks, and a tram direct to town. Service was friendly and efficient in all areas. We hired the boardroom for the day and this met our needs well too.

I went with some business colleagues and we all decided it would be a good place to go back to and even have our annual conference.

Room Tip: Ask for an Ocena view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taustin100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us on your recent stay. We have shared your compliments with our staff who works really hard to make every stay a great one!
We look forward to your next stay with us.

Kind Regards

Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2011

I travelled to Glenelg with a group of 8 people and we decided to have breakfast at the Stamford due to the view. We were greeted by Suresh who told us we had to sit inside because we were not hotel guests even though the restaurant had very few people in it and outside dining was empty. I complained to another staff member and they allowed us to sit outside, shortly afterwards we saw Suresh telling that staff member off for allowing us to sit outside. Considering the price we were paying for breakfast we didnt appreciate the lack of hospitality. Once we were seated DON introduced himself and made our breakfast delightful. He was extremely helpful and turned our experience around. I would recommend the food and the views if you are permitted outside.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smith2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, June 1, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your balanced review on TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincerest apologies for the incorrect information given to you at Promenade restaurant. Promenade has a very good reputation for its sea views, good food and friendly service. The restaurant and its deck area is open for all guests and serves breakfast, lunch, high tea and dinner. We actively encourage both our in-house guests and the external patrons to use the deck area and can confirm that there is no such policy as any area of the restaurant being restricted to in-house guests only.

I can assure you that your comments have been discussed with the staff to ensure that this is not repeated. Thank you for your notation with regards to Don who was helpful and turned your experience around . I will certainly ensure that he is informed of your comments.

Looking forward to welcoming you back to Glenelg and Stamford Grand Adelaide.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2011

The stamford Grand was in a great location, the room was overlooking Glenelg which was nice and the beach is just outside. The room was clean and well appointed, albeit a little dated with its appearance. The rooms we well maintained and everything was comfortable and convenient. The price was a little high, but it seems to be the norm for Glenelg..

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crawf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this review, May 28, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip advisor following your recent stay at the Stamford Grand Adelaide. I was very pleased to hear that you overall enjoyed your stay with us and we very much look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Raj Kakarla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glenelg
0.2 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.3 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
752 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
Stamford Plaza Adelaide
#15 of 57 in Adelaide
2,246 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
6.3 mi away
The Playford - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stamford Grand Adelaide? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Grand Adelaide

Property: Stamford Grand Adelaide
Address: Grand Hotel 2 Jetty Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Glenelg
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Grand Adelaide 5*
Number of rooms: 220
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stamford Grand Adelaide is one of the best luxury accommodations in Glenelg Adelaide, located on the absolute beachfront. Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel is an ideal base for you to discover all that Glenelg and Adelaide have to offer. Our Glenelg accommodation is perfect for those who are looking for a beachside location that is close to Adelaide's special events, yet out of the city! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Travelocity, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stamford Grand Adelaide reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Grand Adelaide Glenelg
Stamford Grand Adelaide Hotel Glenelg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing