We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn Anzac Highway(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
$147
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$72
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
$82
$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seawall Apartments(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
$182
$110
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites(Glenelg)(Great Value!)
$82
$71
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$90
$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,073)
Filter reviews
3,073 results
Traveler rating
1,251
1,064
481
167
110
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,251
1,064
481
167
110
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspromenade restaurantwinter wonderlandgrand bargreat locationocean viewcocktail loungeglenelg beachjetty roadbuffet breakfasthigh teabalcony roomvalet parkingtram stopcityadelaideconciergeconference
Filter
Updating list...
2,930 - 2,935 of 3,073 reviews
Reviewed March 20, 2011

She,s old and tired , Stamford deserves a slam because they obviously have not spent any money reinvesting , hotels generally require a a refurb every 5 years and i dont thinkthey have done anything major for 15 years ..it just felt like they were holding it together with wet paper, the pool area was well below par ,dark,dirty pidgeon poo , rusty pylons, the main bar again dark chipped and worn out . The restuarant chipped and old furniture... The room service breakfast whilst large was the worst quality I have ever had... 2.5 stars to 3 at best for this hotel...my advise to Stamford close it down gut it,start again!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peteredwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2011

Dear Guest,
I am sorry to learn that we did not meet your expectations but I thank you for sharing your honest and open feedback.

Whilst we acknowledge that it is not to everyone's taste, our décor is very traditional, classic & elegant. We are continually making improvements to our facilities to improve our guests' experience such as the recent upgrading of all the guest room televisions to LCDs and our current project, the double glazing of guest room windows.
We are also currently in talks with our designers with a view to refurbishing our guest rooms in the near future. We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and count that, as well as our absolute beach front position, as our major points of difference among our competitors.

Thank you again for your time and I hope to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future and personally ensure that you have a great stay.

Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2011

We stayed one night in a city view room. Room was spacious. Bed was comfy, TV good, bathroom OK - bath too small. Very noisy air conditioning
The best thing was dinner at night in the restaurant - a really great meal at the end of our 10 days in SA.
We would stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rojaan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about the Stamford Grand Adelaide. Many thanks for your comments concerning our hotel and its restaurant. I do look forward to the opportunity to once again welcome you to our hotel.
Best Regards
Raj Kakarla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

We stayed on a Saturday night when the hotel had full occupancy and the staff from the porter through reception and onto room service all provided us with exceptional and friendly service on a night when they were obviously very busy. We were lucky to have been upgraded to a stunning suite with views of the beach and city (absolutely fabulous) that was clean and beautifully appointed - a great anniversary surprise! We can also highly recommend the breakfast in the restaurant (shame that our stomachs were not as big as our eyes). Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank love_day_spas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2011

Dear Guest,
Congratulations on your Anniversary and thanks for your review.
We are really pleased that your stay with us was a good one and you received the best possible service that we are committed to giving all our guests. Many thanks for your comments concerning our hotel, its cleanliness and restaurants. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy their stay and your feedback is very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Kind Regards
Raj Kakarla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Fantastic location right on the beach front, and close to all the local shops and tram stop. Very friendly staff. Room was clean, uncluttered and fairly modern. The only drawbacks for me was the noise from the in-room air-conditioning and the lack of air-conditioning in the gym.
This hotel also offered a $10 refund for each night that you didn't get your room serviced when staying for more than one night as an eco-friendly incentive.
Breakfasts were great with a good choice of fresh fruit and lighter options as well as the full cooked breakfast.
I'd love go back here to stay on a non-business trip so that I could see a bit more of the surrounding area.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank weekending_couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2011

Dear Guest,

Thanks for your review. We are really pleased that your enjoyed your stay with us. We have a dedicated team here and it is really important to them that our guests are comfortable and enjoy their visit. The Gymnasium is air-conditioned and might have been turned off by other patrons when you used the facility. We have now taken steps to ensure that the air-conditioning controls are more visible and accessible to the patrons.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to enjoy the beautiful Glenelg.

Kind Regards

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2011

Stayed last Sunday night and loved the location. We were on the 10th floor facing the city which had a nice view. The bed was fantastic, huge and we had a great sleep. The room however needed a serious renovation as it seemed very dated, and the bathroom needed a paint job and refit with a bigger bath tub. (currently kid size)

Dinner and breakfast were very nice and the cocktail bar overlooking the beach was sensational at sunset.

Overall a good experience, just needs a big reno and will be brilliant!!!

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sneides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RajKakarla, Manager at Stamford Grand Adelaide, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2011

Dear Guest,
I am delighted you enjoyed a great night's sleep and our wonderful facilities. We do have rooms with large corner spa baths, so be sure to ask for one of those next time you book. We are also continuously upgrading our facilities and bathrooms is defintely one of our priorities. Thanks for your comments and feedback.

Kind Regards

Raj

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews