We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good value Chinese with a Malaysian influence”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Blue Ginger - CLOSED

Blue Ginger
Cuisines: Asian, Chinese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Good value Chinese with a Malaysian influence”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 9, 2013

This is a good value Chinese-Malaysian restaurant in Glenelg near the beach. Food is good for the price and it's clean.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEAN MARC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    2
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“nothing special”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Really disappointing for the price.
Ordered a seafood laksa & a red beef curry, both $12.90 a piece.

The laksa was 95% rice vermicelli, what soup there was was insipid, tasteless & watery, there was 1 prawn, 3 pieces of calamari & a few bits of fish cake [ie, seafood extender].
The red beef curry was slightly better, we ended up sharing it as the laksa was so awful. Even then, the red curry sauce was full of dessicated coconut, so quite 'gritty'.

Wouldnt waste my money there again when I know I can have better quality food cheaper pretty much anywhere else in Adelaide.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank livinginnasuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“great little spot, friendly service, good food at a very good price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

As usual the owner was cheery and keen to take care of our needs. There is a good range of dishes to choose from and they obviously use fresh ingredients at Blue Ginger. The quality and taste of the food makes this casual dining experience excellent value for money. We have never been disappointed and have eaten here many times.
We booked ahead for a table of 10, we had lunch and then ordered ice ream and cappuccino from Mio Gelato and the fish cafe next door. I had the lemon grass chicken, it was tasty and the meat was tender, perfectly cooked and of a good quality, the vegetables were still crisp and cooked to perfection. Chris had the Malaysian curry which was tender and full of flavour, The noodle dishes came out aromatic and piping hot! This is a great place for an inexpensive, casual meal.
This place is within walking distance of all Glenelg has to offer and is a must for locals and visitors to the area wanting a fresh meal of good quality and at a great price.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ausigirlcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Unauthentic, unsatisifying and extremely average”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Multiple hairs in food
Bugs in food
Minimal service
Not great value for money

It's in a good location and seems good in theory but the food is not great overall and regret making the decision to eat here

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hairyhoneychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
91 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Quality food on a budget”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

This little cafe has no fancy frills but it does have great Asian food at fantastic prices. Henry is always happy to do a banquet for a group of 4 or more and the food just keeps coming. The restaurant is clean, friendly and he keeps a good range of beers, wines and spirits to complement the food. His cuisine covers many areas of Asia including Singapore, Hong Kong and Malaysia. He also does take aways. Definitely recommended to anyone living in or visiting Glenelg.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank BobbyBAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Blue Ginger also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing