We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memories” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mamma Carmela Cafe Pizzeria

Mamma Carmela Cafe Pizzeria
Ranked #10 of 155 Restaurants in Glenelg
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bridgetown WA
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Memories”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

Mamma Carmelas is an institution for my husband and his friends. In their youth (30 + years ago) Mamma's was the place to go when cold and wet after a swim etc. Good reliable service, good prices, reliable food quality, family atmosphere.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LindaBridgetownWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    116
    61
    22
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Level Contributor
263 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Fresh food, quick service ..... Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

Garlic bread, a beer and a simple chilli dish total $29. The atmosphere of sitting outside in the mar quay was amazing for me. I was so simple impressed I ate inside the next night. Same simple food and service. Thank you from the management down. Simply impressed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MyHoliday8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
180 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Breakfast well cooked & enjoyable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Went for breakfast we shared it was large enough for us the eggs perfect & the sausages tasty well priced & good location we will be back

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank donna d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“underwhelming and overpriced”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

nicely located not far from the esplanade and sea we (myself, my wife and 8 year old son) ventured in here as we were hungry and struggling to find anything nice

Anyway, pretty ordinary looking menu (pizza, pasta, kids menu etc)

Not feeling like a pizza I looked for steak and saw some pretty ordinary options - which should have alerted me to the state of this place. Anyway, the 'surf and turf' was $38.00!!

Foolishly I went ahead and ordered this. To keep in context $38 steak implies towards the high end menu. We waited until we realised there was not table service and we had to go up and order. Not exactly what you would expect for $38. Anyway we ordered and it was terrible. Cheap poorly cooked meat and chips with a couple of tough prawns thrown on top

If it had been $18-$20 I would have been ok with it but not for twice the price

After we ordered the 'waitress', agressive full of tattoos and piercings, dropped the plates and cutlery on our table and left us to set the table ourselves

Anyway, not worth going unless you want to experience 'rude ripoff by the sea'

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DuffMan12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
60 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Good gluten free pasta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I enjoyed a great pasta dish with gluten free pasta. Few Italian restaurants offer gluten free pasta but most offer gluten free pizza bases. It was nice to choose a pasta this time. The menu had gf options clearly marked. A busy place and I would go again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BrissyGirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Carmela Cafe Pizzeria also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Mamma Carmela Cafe Pizzeria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing