We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Grind It

Grind It
Ranked #44 of 155 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Adelaide South Australia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Consistently brilliant”
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This cafe has become a regular with our family and friends - always guaranteed to have a delicious meal or in the case of a coffee - the best in the bay!! It doesn't seem to matter what you order it is all mouth-watering. Fresh,quality ingredients and usually with a bit of a twist - not your usual menu - my only criticism is trying to decide what to order as it is alway so good!! The eggs are so flavoursome and the beef roll with beetroot etc is divine. As for the pancakes - the lightest I have ever tasted! Another positive is the cost - not at all expensive however they maintain a very high standard with the quality of their meals. The friendly staff ensure that things keep ticking over in what is usually a busy cafe. Relaxed atmosphere with great food - could not ask for more! You can't make reservations but any wait is certainly more than worth it.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BilferG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    40
    8
    6
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Friendly service”
Reviewed May 19, 2012

Interesting menu and the waiter was very friendly to us

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank italianlavender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best Breakfast In Adelaide”
Reviewed April 30, 2012

The food here is amazing. Much more is on offer than your usual 'bacon & eggs'. I've been here on 2 occassions and had the French Toast and the Homemade Cinnamon Crumpets with Banana & Maple Syrup. My husband had the Grilled Haloumi & Chorizo with Sourdough when we visited together - it was spectacular! The coffee is also good and, despite some people saying otherwise, I have found the service to be really good. However, because it is so popular, arrive early to avoid disappointment! I have been at opening time both times and there have been people lining up and the place is full within 5 minutes! This has definitely become one of my favourite places to eat.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank soph83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Good atmosphere great coffee. Staff very attentive even though they were busy

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank smithhome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level Contributor
302 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Great food and service.”
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Trip advised Glenelg for lunch for myself + 6&8 year old. First option was full. This is nothing to look at but the food and service were great. Big sensible menu. Big list of 'sandwiches' that you can have in wrap, roll or baguette for just $9. Fresh ingredients and tasty too. One child had bacon and eggs the other a stack of 2 pancakes. Both were well presented and very filling. To top it off the staff were really friendly and helpful. Thx for a great lunch in an unknown (to me) town. 100% better than the chains on the high st.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank olthomas44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grind It also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Grind It? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing