We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing oysters”
Review of The Oyster Bar

The Oyster Bar
Ranked #6 of 161 Restaurants in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $29
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing oysters”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We ate, and ate and ate. the oysters were amazing... we just had to keep having more. The service was quick, and the beer cold. Realy enjoyable experience.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    60
    17
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Midlands, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lively bar/bistro”
Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

We visited this bar on a Saturday at around 6pm and are really glad we did. The place had a great atmosphere and the wines were reasonably priced. We shared a prawn calamari and shoe string chip platter which was delicious. The staff were friendly and it has a fantastic location over looking the harbour.

Helpful?
Thank Lucy12344321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenelg, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A home away from home”
Reviewed November 4, 2013

Casual relaxing place for a drink and a chat, (sometimes live music) with wonderful juicy Coffins Bay oysters.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty dozen”
Reviewed October 17, 2013 via mobile

I don't ever not eat a dozen oysters if I order them but I could have made them in the boot of my car better than the mixed dozen I got today. Wine, service n location were good but suppose to be an oyster bar so focus on the oysters!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kieran H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
768 reviews
305 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

We tried to get a seat at the oyster bar on Wednesday night, not knowing that was half price oysters, so we went back on Thursday night, and seating was not a problem. Magnificent oysters, so fresh and tasted amazing. I had the grilled oysters with pine nuts. We sat outside and it was no problem for the staff to start the heats for us. I will be returning when I am next in Glenelg.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tryatleastonce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oyster Bar also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to The Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing