We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent restaurant”
Review of Zucca

Zucca
Ranked #17 of 161 Restaurants in Glenelg
Price range: $22 - $87
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Voted best Greek Restaurant in Australia 2010 is national restaurant & catering awards
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

great food--- try the Duck!!! Set amongst many restaurants at the Marina in Glenelg, this restaurant has stood the test of time due to (Iam sure) the quality of their food

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank john m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    90
    36
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely dining experience - highly recommended”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

The first time my partner and I went to Zucca's was for a seafood platter and we were not disappointed. We were so pleased to see that seafood was not all deep fried like many other restaurants and that there was a good selection of seafood on the plate. It was a nice day so we sat outside overlooking all the lovely boats. From that day on we promised to go back for a proper meal.
We returned a couple of months later without prior making a booking but we were lucky enough to get the last table with ocean views which we loved. We ordered four mezze plates which was enough for the two of us and decided to order all seafood. We were in love with the food!!! My favourite was the prawns wrapped in potato string - sounds odd but delicious.
Our waitress was professional, friendly and experienced. The wine list was not overwhelming and had a good selection of local wines. The atmosphere was warm and dinners seemed to enjoy the intimate setting.
We are going back soon to try the other mezze shared plates and I'm sure we won’t be disappointed.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilandnev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fab food highly reccomebd eating here”
Reviewed April 5, 2012

We went two nights iin a row we were so impressed with the food. We tried the steak and duck 1st nifht and mezza plates 2nd time all lovely.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Annit2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Always delicious with stunning views of the marina”
Reviewed February 21, 2012

Even though Glenelg Beach in South Australia has a multitude of restaurants both along Jetty Road and along the Holdfast Marina pier, good quality and price can sometimes be a bit hit and miss.
This is my local terrain, so I know the restaurants well and Zucca is definitely one I keep going back to. On a beautiful sunny day, there is nothing more delightful than sitting on the marina, looking out over the sparkling water lined with yachts with a cold glass of good-quality white wine in hand. There are both inside and outside tables but I recommend sitting outside if possible, or alternatively ask for a sea-side window seat if its too windy and you need to sit indoors. Other tables are fine, its just the views aren't as good.
The food at Zucca is meze, which means a slightly smaller than main-sized serve . Cost is between $16-$20 per plate and I suggest 1-2 plates per person. The difficultly is not being tempted to over order - because there are so many delicious things to choose from... you will want to try everything!
I can never go past the lamb or chicken souvlaki (served with a lettuce salad with dill and tzadziki) or the cabbage leaf pork dolmades with a white wine sauce. On this occasion we also chose some crab, zuccini and potato croquettes and some taramasalata with hot greek pita. But as mentioned, there is a huge selection and something for all tastes. We were both too full for any desserts.
I highly recommend Zucca if you seek consistently good quality food and the wine list is excellent too. Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CosmicCarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great greek”
Reviewed February 8, 2012

a great venue on a fine day - friendly staff and authentic well presented food from a well balanced menu. a little too expensive for frequent visiting.

Helpful?
Thank COLOMBUSAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zucca also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Zucca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing