We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing seeing wild dolphins but view better from the boat”
Review of Temptation Sailing

Temptation Sailing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin swims daily since 2001, in this time we have never been out on a dolphin cruise and not seen dolphins. In fact we will give you all your money back if dolphins are not seen on this cruise. Dolphins always come over to Temptation and you can stand or lay above them on our front nets. If you wish to swim, no worries (but book early to avoid disappointment) this is a totally wild experience, no feeding, no touching just viewing from within the water. Because these are wild dolphins we have strict rules to abide by (both for the safety of the swimmers and the dolphins) and sometimes it can be rushed to get the swimmers in the water and sometimes the crew do need to yell so that the swimmers know which way to look under water. If you book in for a swim and on the day change your mind, no problems we can refund the difference (direct bookings only), especially for young children who decide they don't want to swim, that way they don't need to feel forced to go into the water. Remember you will always see more dolphins from on board, but seeing wild dolphins underwater is just amazing.
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Having seen a temptation sailing brochure with Amazing pictures of people in the water with wild dolphins we were incredibly excited to swim with the dolphins. However, the brochure was very misleading I believe, as the pictures (and description) made it look like you snorkelled in the water with dolphins swimming around you. What actually happened was you were pulled along behind the boat on a rope. The boat feels like it moves extremely fast and it is very alarming to have water rushing in your face. I spent more time attempting to stop water entering my snorkel then looking at dolphins. Speaking of, the water was very murky and I was only able to see a dolphin when it sped very close by. I saw about 10 seconds of dolphins all together. I chose not to swim at the next spot, having been shaken by the first one and ending up seeing lots of dolphins playing and jumping which was great. A few members of the crew (not all) were very patronising, telling us off like naughty children when we didn't get in the water fast enough. All in all a disappointing morning, I would say that the swimming aspect is false advertising and the fact that you hang onto a rope behind a moving boat should be made very clear before booking.

Date of experience: March 2014
4  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Hi Paul,
We appreciate you taking the time to write your review, all reviews good or bad will help us become better at what we do.
We are sorry that your experience is not what you expected, we try our best to inform our customers that this is a 'wild' dolphin swim experience, therefore interaction and environmental conditions cannot be guaranteed. You will notice in our photos that on our brochures it does mention that swimmers will be holding onto a floatation line. You may have been referring to a third party brochure as we have many different agents that sell our products? Please be assured we do try our best to include as much information as possible and we are not trying to mislead our customers in anyway.
We are glad that you were able to see so many dolphins from the boat, and we hope that one day we will be able to welcome you back on-board.
Your review has been shared with our staff members, to ensure everyone receives quality customer service.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (342)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"dolphin swim"
in 22 reviews
"wild dolphins"
in 15 reviews
"their natural habitat"
in 8 reviews
"twilight cruise"
in 6 reviews
"an amazing experience"
in 13 reviews
"marine biologist"
in 6 reviews
"saw dolphins"
in 7 reviews
"common dolphins"
in 4 reviews
"fantastic morning"
in 3 reviews
"available for purchase"
in 3 reviews
"dolphin encounter"
in 3 reviews
"perfect weather"
in 3 reviews
"fantastic trip"
in 3 reviews
"recommend this trip"
in 3 reviews
"best experiences of my life"
in 3 reviews
"bucket list"
in 5 reviews
"sea life"
in 3 reviews
Filter

262 - 266 of 342 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2014

For 3 and a half hours you get your money's worth whether your swimming or just watching. Was taken to lots of different pods of dolphins and saw both bottle nose and common. If you love being out on the sea this is a must do.
Staff friendly and Louis really makes it for you.

Date of experience: June 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank hallie3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We have been very lucky with dolphin spotting and interaction over the past few months and have been seeing Common and Bottlenose dolphins on most trips. We are so glad that you were able to experience this with us.
We hope to be able to welcome you back on-board one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2014

Date of experience: April 2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

such a great experience, the dolphins come right up to you, and the crew will tell you everything they know about the dolphins. amazing experience

Date of experience: March 2014
Review collected in partnership with this attraction
Thank 182Helen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your review.
The dolphins can be very playful and come right up to you, we are pleased you got to experience this.
We hope to be able to welcome you back on-board one day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Temptation Sailing offers a magnificent experience, in which you get to not only see from the boat but also swim with! common and bottlenose dolphins. Being able to look under the water and witness this beautiful creature sometimes less than a metre away is incredible!!

I highly recommend it to everyone. The trip was safe, the instructors very helpful and the entire trip just a blast in general. You even get some relaxation time on the way back to the marina in which I know I used to catch some rays and take it all in.

Date of experience: March 2014
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are so glad that you enjoyed your experience with us, and in your own back yard. We hope to be able to welcome you back on-board soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptation Sailing also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
West Beach, Charles Sturt
 

Been to Temptation Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing