We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dolphins”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Temptation Sailing

Temptation Sailing
Book In Advance
More Info
$52.12*
and up
Dolphin Cruise from Adelaide with Optional Dolphin Swim
Ranked #1 of 4 Tours in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Temptation is a 58 foot sailing catamaran which has been doing wild dolphin swims daily since 2001, in this time we have never been out on a dolphin cruise and not seen dolphins. In fact we will give you all your money back if dolphins are not seen on this cruise. Dolphins always come over to Temptation and you can stand or lay above them on our front nets. If you wish to swim, no worries (but book early to avoid disappointment) this is a totally wild experience, no feeding, no touching just viewing from within the water. Because these are wild dolphins we have strict rules to abide by (both for the safety of the swimmers and the dolphins) and sometimes it can be rushed to get the swimmers in the water and sometimes the crew do need to yell so that the swimmers know which way to look under water. If you book in for a swim and on the day change your mind, no problems we can refund the difference (direct bookings only), especially for young children who decide they don't want to swim, that way they don't need to feel forced to go into the water. Remember you will always see more dolphins from on board, but seeing wild dolphins underwater is just amazing.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Dolphins”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked the morning cruise - glorious weather, smooth seas and around 5 pods of dolphins. It was amazing. We didn't go in the water but had a perfect view of all the dolphins from the catamaran. Knowledgeable crew. Would highly recommend this trip :)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank GillyPepper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Hi Gilly,
Thank you for your feedback and glad you enjoyed your dolphin cruise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    48
    23
    17
    14
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
1 review
“...”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The trip was fun and the crew friendly. If you want to swim with dolphins i would try it somewhere else because the water isn't very clear. I was able to see one under water but i got lucky a view of the guest on the boat didn't see any dolphins in the water. If I'm in this neighborhood again I would book just the watching trip and not the swimming because for taking pictures and watching them this is a nice trip. ( But maybe I just had bad luck in the water)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank YAri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
HI Yari and thank you for your feedback.
Water clarity changes depending on the time of year. This year during Feb and March we experienced hotter than average sea temperatures creating algae blooms giving us as little as 2m visibility, compared to the usual 10m at that time of year.
In the cooler months the visibility can be up to 30m.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adel
Level Contributor
148 reviews
80 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“TEMPTATION SAILING”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I did this attraction on a very hot morning with the forecast to be 39 degrees or more in Jan 2013. Of course it was difficult to want to wear a figure hugging wetsuit on a day like this, but this is done for safety as the wetsuit acts as a floatation device. Swimming with the dolphins on the back of the boat by holding onto the rope is not as easy as it sounds, unless I am more clumsy than others. I found holding onto the rope difficult as with everyone pulling on it at the same time, dragged the rope up to one or two metres below the surface of the water, whilst meanwhile my body kept floating up like a cork bobbing in the water, with the rope underneath in the water, plus wearing the snorkel and mask and breathing through mouth was not comfortable. I only got in the water once because of the difficulties even though the water was very calm this day. It was actually better to view the dolphins from the catamaran on this particular day. We came across about 6 or 7 pods but quite often people would be called into the water, only to have them move on to another area. Sometimes the dolphins would swim right alongside the boat, and I noticed they also swam upside down.

There was little commentary about the dolphins, other sealife in the area, or the region as a whole. I noticed we went past geologically significant areas such as Hallett Cove, with nothing mentioned, so I see missed opportunities with promoting South Australia, as there were many persons from both interstate and overseas on board. We were asked if we had any questions about the dolphins, but it would still be better to hear about them anyway.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lindatAdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for your review. Your feedback is very important to us and we will make sure to include more information about the surrounding areas and other marine life in our commentary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Review of cruise”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had Entertainment Book vouchers which clearly said that they were valid for any cruise. But they refused to honour them. They said it was a misprint on the part of the Entertainment Book, who disagreed. So we were disappointed about that.

The cruise was good. There was a group of us so we had a lot of fun. We saw lots of dolphins and were in and out of the water a lot, but the dolphins seemed to be at the front of the boat while we were at the back. A few did get a view of the dolphins under the water for a few seconds but not the rest of us. I think you would get a better view from the boat than in the water.

I think you would need to be able to swim to do this, because the boat does tow you a bit while they try to reposition it to give you a better view of the dolphins. Some people push the rope down so you can't really rely on it to keep you up. We didn't get any advice on snorkelling or what to do if you and the rope became separated. They did tell us how to indicate we were in trouble so they could throw the ring to you, but of course no one did get into trouble.

The wet suits were wet when we put them on, which was a bit unpleasant, but soon warmed up and kept you warm when you were out of the water.

They didn't say but I really hope they disinfect the snorkels.

They were very protective of the dolphins which was good, but could have provided more information on the way out about the life of dolphins which I think would have enhanced the experience. Apparently they had a dolphin expert as one of their staff who we could ask questions, perhaps they could have done this?

One of the other reviewers mentioned refreshments, we brought our own. There is not much room, but I have been on other cruises similar to this where they have managed to provide a small refreshment as part of the deal. This could be a nice addition.

On the whole, given the wet wetsuits, the refusal to honour the Entertainment Book vouchers, which did shock us, the missed opportunity to further enhance the experience with information and a few missed safety aspects such as where the life jackets were, and what to do in an emergency, I think it is an average rating. This is a great concept and a few small enhancements could turn it into an outstanding experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephen W, Manager at Temptation Sailing, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
Im sorry about your experience with the Entertainment Voucher - we did send them details of the ad we wanted them to advertise (which did say restrictions apply) however they chose not to advertise this. On booking, when you mention the Ent voucher my staff would have mentioned this.
Please note our snorkel and masks are disinfected after all uses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience!”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

A group of us celebrated a friend's birthday on board Temptation Sailing by having a dolphin cruise and swim, ticking our 'bucket list' of things to experience. It was a truly wonderful sight to see the dolphins coming so close and playing for us. Such grace and beauty, and the staff have respect for the dolphins so they feel safe to come and put on a show for everyone. Can highly recommend this experience. Extremely friendly and accommodating staff too.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temptation Sailing also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Temptation Sailing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing