We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic large house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Glenelg Gateway Apartments
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Tumbi Umbi, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“fantastic large house”
Reviewed June 20, 2011

We were 4 senior ladies getting together for a 4 day break and this house was just what we wanted. The positon is wonderful, so close and within walking distance to the shopping centre, 20 mins by tram to city centre. It has 4 large bedrooms, 2 have a queen bed and 2 have 2 single beds. The rooms with the queen beds also have airconditioners and plenty of wardrobes. One main bedroom also has a large flat screen TV. There is aslo another airconditioner in the dining room that we were very greatfull to have as it was very cold when we were there. The 2 bathrooms are very modern and the house also has a very large modern kitchen. The home is very well maintained and clean. The kitchen is very well equiped but we were unable to get the gas cooker going. It could be helpfull to have some printed instructions above the cook top.
We only had a few minor negatives- that there was no soap, tea , coffee or sugar for when you first arrive to get started. We found this alittle disapointing as we had just flown in from interstate with no provisions with us. We would definately recomend this house for get togethers or even 2 families. They also have motel accommodation behind the house.
The rates are very reasonable for such comfort. Connie the lady who manages/owns the accomodation is very friendly and helpfull.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
10 Thank Coralie1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    33
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
48
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed here for 6 nights in May 2011. There are 8 apartments in the single building plus a large house at the front which is a separate building. All 8 apartments seem to have similar features. The apartment we used was upstairs at the rear of the building and had a adequate size balcony with a table & 2 chairs which got the afternoon sun. The inside consisted of 3 rooms, large lounge/kitchen/dining bench with 4 electric cooking hobs and a microwave oven, bedroom with queen sized bed shelving & wardrobe, and a very good size bathroom/toilet with a good shower. The advertised Internet connection worked well for us. The heating, if needed, also worked well. The location of the apartment was superb being only a very short walk to the tram station and a shopping centre containing supermarket, butcher, travel centre, Subway, greengrocer, and several other shops. This was important as being a non serviced apartment provisions need to be purchased. The main shopping street of Jetty Road is less than 1 minute walk away. Jetty Road has many restaurants, cafes, liquor shops, and may be probably another 200 shops. The Jetty Road shopping street could be 400 metres long but distance is no problem as there is a free tram that runs approximately every 15 minutes. The beach is 400 metres away which is an easy pleasant walk or one could use the free tram both ways.

The apartments address is Brighton Road which is a very busy traffic street, the apartments are set well back from the street and no traffic noise could be heard at all. We found it to be excellent for a peaceful sleep and also very quite during the daytime. Access to the Adelaide CDB for us was by the regular tram and this took 30-40 mins. A 1 day tram pass cost A$8.60 per adult and this could be used throughout the Adelaide Metro area (tram, buses, rail) including the Adelaide Hills. We found we had no need for a rental car, the public transport being more than adequate for us. Taxi to Adelaide Airport was A$21.00.

We found best features to be location to shops & restaurants, transport, and the apartment cost. In comparison to the very expensive apartment options close to the beach, these apartments have to be amongst the very best value in Glenelg. At about 40% of the cost of the modern high rises by the beach it is very hard to discard these apartments.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank AytonWellington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2011

We stayed for five nights. We had an upstairs apartment facing toward the beach (cannot actually see the beach). It is in an excellent location. Very close to Jetty Road. We walked to the beach and at night down to the restaurants for dinner. There are two supermarkets also within walking distance. The apartment had everything we needed, was spacious and very affordable. There was a laundry with a washing machine and dryer but also had an clothesline out side which was really good. Would definitely recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Kiwi_travel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whyalla, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2011

I have been staying here since 2001 why stay anywhere else always a pleasure to call this my second home close to the shops ,beach and tram ride is only 20 mins from the city

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank LebonFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2010

I stayed here with a group of friends. The house is a large, 1920s style place with four bedrooms and two bathrooms. Two of the bedrooms have queen beds (one also has a large screen TV) , the other two have two singles each, and all have wardrobes. In addition there is a large lounge room with big screen TV, a large dining room seating 8 and a well appointed kitchen (hotplates, microwave, fridge, all crockery and cutlery). The house also has reverse cycle airconditioning, although we didn't have to use it. Internet access is available free via ethernet. Everything was very clean and neat.
The house is in a wonderful position, only a short ride from the Adelaide Airport. At barely 50 metres from the Jetty Road/Brighton Road intersection, it is very close to the tram stop to go into Adelaide and see the sights there, as well as all the shops and restaurants on Jetty Road. The other corner of the intersection has a large supermarket and liquor shop so food is close by. There is a fair amount of road noise, especially on weekday mornings, and although it didn't bother me, some of my colleagues mentioned it.
There are other apartments run by the same people immediately behind the house, but the house is quite separate and there is no worry about noise.
Free parking is available - it is good to pull into the lane next to the house to get off Brighton Road, then open the gate to park in the driveway.
This is an excellent choice for groups or two families, and the cost was very reasonable for 8 people to share, at less than $200 a night.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank astrokath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.6 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
753 reviews
0.5 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.4 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.5 mi away
Oaks Liberty Towers
Oaks Liberty Towers
#1 of 12 in Glenelg
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenelg Gateway Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenelg Gateway Apartments

Property: Glenelg Gateway Apartments
Address: 35 Brighton Rd, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glenelg Gateway Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenelg Gateway Apartments offers quality fully furnished and self contained accommodation at very affordable and competitive rates. The apartments are conveniently located in Glenelg and are just a few metres away from the Jetty Road shopping precinct. These apartments are a one minute’s walk to the city-bound tram stop, supermarket and all your shopping needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your Glenelg Gateway Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing