We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No problems, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Outback Jack's

Outback Jack's
Ranked #114 of 155 Restaurants in Glenelg
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Horsham, vic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“No problems, good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

Decided to eat here as we walking by and thought may as well try it despite some bad reviews, found the service to be fine, no rude staff, food was quite nice, plenty to choose from, prices not too bad for a restaurant in this area, enjoy the full sit down service. would highly recommend the ribs they were delicious.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    30
    29
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
“Only good thing was the view.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2013

My girlfriend and I decided to treat ourselves to a girls night out and as we were walking at Glenelg we stumbled upon outback jacks so we went in (mistake number 1)

We were served by a short frumpy woman who's name appeared to be Lynda. Lynda seemed generally high up in the business as she was wearing a responsible persons badge. Lynda was quite blunt and rude throughout the whole night.

We sat outside so we could watch the sunset (which was beautiful - only thing we don't regret) and were almost forgotten about - Lynda even admitted it!!
We both ordered calamari (mistake number two)

It took a good 45 minutes to get our calamari meals out! And when we did get them they were cold and the chips were soggy and gross!

After mentioning the disappointing meals to the Asian waitress she did nothing to try and help or sort it out - almost like she didnt even understand us.

We decided not to argue as we were so hungry at this point that we just ate what we could and went up to pay

We went up to the bar and were again greeted by Lynda who asked how our meal was - when we expressed our disappointment she replied with 'if you had mentioned it when your food came out we could've fixed it then but it's too late now coz you ate the food' we then explained that we tried to tell the Asian worker and that she did nothing Lynda then responded by turning it back on us and making it seem like our fault

We then paid the bill - in full - with no discounts of any type - and left

We will NEVER be returning -

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Taylorleenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice food, rude staff”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We went here for a celebration for my Dad's birthday with some family. First when we arrived the staff at the counter spent 5 minutes finding our booking because they had misplaced it. Two of the girls serving us drinks and taking our orders were pleasant and always asking if we needed more drinks (a little too often, had I hide my empty drink so I would stop getting asked). An older lady came out and handed us drinks asking who was whose, she was quite awkward. One of the girls at my table ordered a cocktail and when she brought that out and she asked who ordered it we joked and said it was my Dad and then straight away said no its hers. She then started saying " oh it's always the older ones" and called him a pedophile! After we told her that was quite rude and out of place she said she was sorry but then called said "Sorry, i just thought because of the bald hair" and walked away. We found her extremely rude and It ruined ourexperience. Steak and drinks were wonderful.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charliedn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“A Bit Expensive but ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Took our son and girlfriend out for a meal. Service ok even though really busy at 830ish. Decided to order something to tide us over until main course as knew there would be a wait with all the customers they had. Good idea! Paid $20 for 2 serves of something that resembled basic garlic bread instead of Bruschetta (spelling?) So hungry we ate it but disappointed. Chicken meal very basic but spare ribs and steak ok. Overall not worth the $230.00 spent and just another version of Hogsbreath. Wouldn't go again just because not good value really.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
150 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Degustation last Sunday”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

$60 per head six course degustation show casing Haan wines. Food was reasonable but organisation was terrible. After watching diners in the front of the restaurant get their meals we did not start until 40 minutes after the stated start time. Then we had to sit thru a sales pitch instead of letting the wines talk for themselves. During service wines trailed service, plates were removed and then replaced and then the croque-en-bouche came out with the strawberries per the menu. The only redeeming feature was they had overcatered for wine and did not want to take it home. I gather the next degustation is $180 per head; I don't think the food, service or venue can justify these $$$$'s

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thegrayghost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outback Jack's also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Outback Jack's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing