We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant walk after dinner”
Review of Glenelg Pier

Glenelg Pier
Ranked #1 of 24 things to do in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A pleasant walk after dinner”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We walked out onto the pier after very hot day and enjoyed the sea breeze and interested in seeing the type of fish caught by the locals. Great view from th epier looking back on Jetty Road and Norfolk Island pines along South Esplanade.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    297
    256
    83
    10
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
153 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Great beach and pier”
Reviewed February 18, 2014 via mobile

Took the tram from Adelaide to Glenelg. Loved the journey on the tram and the beach was certainly not a disappointment when we arrived. The sand is beautiful, with fine sand, but if does fly everywhere! Wouldn't advise eating there.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank DJinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Nice pier for a walk after dinner”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

At night, this is a well lit pier. The ocean breeze and sound of the surf make for an excellent walk after a big steak at BBQ Inn. Next time I'll bring a fishing rod.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank The_Traveler_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not a good look for the best tourist beach in a major city”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

The tram ride to Glenelg beach is most enjoyable, and the Glenelg pier walk is really nice on a hot day. Unfortunately my experience of the rest of Glenelg beach left much to be desired. It looks good from a distance or in pictures, but when we went the standard was just not good enough for a tourist beach in a major city, and I've travelled to a great many of them. The sand and water's edge was messy with weed and sticks, dogs were running or swimming amongst bathers who were swimming or playing between the flags, and even saw one dog peeing within meters of children at the water's edge - all while on a leash. Gross! One hopes this isn't the norm for this beach!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank NZvoyager53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great beach and town”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We caught the tram out to Glenelg from the city and loved the beach! I was hesitant about swimming due to recent shark sightings, but was glad I did.. the water was absolutely beautiful on a hot day and was so clean and clear. There is very little shade on the beach, except for under the pier, which was already packed. Pack a hat and sunscreen! Plenty of restaurants, cafes and pubs to choose from, but felt it is a bit of a tourist trap. Definitely worth a visit.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alethea1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Glenelg Pier also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Glenelg Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing