We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected More”

Bracegirdle's Chocolates Glenelg
Ranked #1 of 7 Dessert in Glenelg
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Expected More”
Reviewed May 19, 2013

I took my daughter here to celebrate after her tour of her high school for next year. The food was lovely, however the waitress spilt our iced chocolate all over/in my handbag and my daughters phone. Accidents happen and she was very apologetic and we got wet clothes to clean it up, however I was disappointed that no one came back to check if the phone or handbag was ok or there was no offer to compensate for a new hand bag/cleaning, there wasn't even an offer of a free chocolate for my daughter. I wouldn't go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Escaping_the_ratrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    82
    22
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide
Level Contributor
147 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Well worth experiencing this divine pleasure”
Reviewed May 13, 2013

Great place for the BEST, yes the BEST hot chocolate in Adelaide, possibly Australia, possibly the world. The hot chocolate here is absolutely divine, perfect airy texture and delicious to the taste.

They have hot chocolate in dark, milk and white hot chocolate.

Amazing desserts, chocolates, and scrumptious muffins

Its so divine that you will never forget this amazing experience and will want to go back again and again

The place at Glenelg is small and cosy, a bit pricey (cheaper with vouchers from the entertainment book;)

there is seating on thye ground floor and upstairs and outdoor seating on the small balcony upstairs, make sure u come early as the place fills up and there is always the take away option

a large variety of different chocolates to purchase too, but everything in store is a bit on the pricey side, so save for special occasions or if u can afford it spurge

call them to find out their closing time if you are going late as it varies

Jetty Road Glenelg location, no toilet or parking facilities, also easy access from city with Glenelg Tram

I hope this review is helpful :)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adelaidesurflifesavr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Embarrassing...”
Reviewed May 8, 2013

Although the hot chocolate was delicious, nothing can excuse the service of this establishment. The restaurant is filled with tacky little laminated signs instructing patrons on "what they must not do", do not move tables, do not open this door, do not sit here, do not eat food from other places, etc etc.
Yet customers basic needs in this establishment are not met at all. Water provided was warm and glasses provided were filthy, tables were dirty and sticky and best of all no bathrooms are provided for patrons. They are for staff only and you must walk to the Coles car park to use the bathroom.
Please note, do not open a cafe if you can't even provide a most basic human need. Even your staff where embarrassed to tell me at 10pm that I had to walk in the darkness to a car park just to pee!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NCTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“For those who appreciate fine chocolate”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Bracegirldes specialize in fine chocolate. NOT expensive, because if you appreciate good quality chocolate, you will pay the price to have a divine chocolate dish!
If you're going to come here and then whinge about the price, please just go buy a block of Cadbury and go home! You're not going to get hand crafted award winning Belgian chocolate for cheap.
It's not only the chocolates and dishes here that are great. Their vast arrange of beverages are to die for. Their peanut butter frappes are delicious, as is their creamy iced and hot chocolates.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi_renee4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
169 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Adelaide (+surrounds) has an abundance of chocolate based cafes, this is just another”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

In and around Adelaide there is an abundance of Chocolate based cafes and this ranks as just another one.
Being a chocoholic this is probably the last of the bunch I have tried and unfortunately it doesn't rank as one of the best. Many people had recommended the place and so when I eventually got to try it maybe my expectations were too high.
Trying a standard hot chocolate and a selection of chocolates I can't say I was amazed and in fact the experience was just standard. Bit old fashioned, shop could do with a face lift and the service was a bit plonky (as in plonk there's your drink).

Adelaide has a number of Chocolate cafes that are much more exciting, fresh and new when it comes to flavours. Sorry Bracegirdle's you didn't float my boat.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank zuzahandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bracegirdle's Chocolates Glenelg also viewed

 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Bracegirdle's Chocolates Glenelg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing