We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top location,reasonable tariff & so clean”
Review of Buffalo Motor Inn

Buffalo Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffalo Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 8 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 28, 2009

Arriving by taxi to the Buffalo Motor Inn prior to Clipsal 500 starting and everyone was so friendly and keen to assist with our luggage to the 1st floor. On arriving in Room 37 I was surprised to find that our room faced the Marina, what a great view of the bay and at just $135 per night, we stayed for 2 and found the ammenities in the room very clean and maintenance free (everything worked). I would classify it as the best spot in town, so conveniently located, just a short walk to the Supermarket, Jetty Road (main street) restaurants, Morsley Square and the beach. Give it a go, the bed was comfortable as well. Thank you so much to the Buffalo Motor Inn

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lewiglen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
There are newer reviews for Buffalo Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 73 of 73 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2009

We stayed two night’s mid-week which I booked through [-] for $99 per night for a standard room which was good value. This is an old style motel with ground floor and first floor rooms with free parking in the courtyard. The area has obviously changed a lot since this one was built as the other accommodation in the area is of the smart, multi-storey hotel and apartment variety.
The more expensive Marina View rooms are at the front overlooking the marina reserve. Our room was away from the street and was very quiet. The room had not had a major renovation in a long time however it seemed to have been painted regularly and maintained. The room was small but clean and bright with standard motel facilities of TV, 'fridge, coffee making and toaster. However to use the toaster you will need your own plates, knives etc. The bed was not saggy. The bathroom had been renovated at some stage and was clean and convenient with a shower over the bath tub.
The great strength of this place is its location. It is only a few buildings away from the end of ANZAC Highway where it hits Glenelg beach. There is a modern hotel across the road and a bakery a few doors down. More importantly ANZAC Highway runs parallel to Jetty Road, the main tourist/dining/shopping street of Glenelg, one block away. Just a pleasant walk along the promenade by the beach is the Promenade Hotel with a fantastic location for sunset drinks, overlooking the jetty, the war memorial, the Town Hall tourist centre and the end of the tram line into the city. Loads of dining, drinking, ice-cream and coffee options line the main strip. The walk further along South Esplanade by the beach is gorgeous.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DaisyClover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2008

We had a girls' weekend here. I actually live quite close to Glenelg, but the other girls don't, and therefore wanted a location which 'had it all'. I have passed this hotel numerous times and suspected from the outside that it may be a little 'ordinary', to say the least.
We had tried to secure accom at other more notable hotels in this popular beach side area, but no luck. The Buffalo was the only one available on this long weekend.
I was SO surprised at the quality of the Marina View rooms... newly & attractively decorated, well furnished and fully equipped. Size is adequate and the view across the road, of the Glenelg Marina, is very pleasant.. HUGE window, yet very quiet despite passing traffic. Beds are comfortable and electric blankets appreciated on this cold night. Air con, lights & TV are remote from the bedside consul. Full bathroom facilities include bath and large vanity.
Breakfast to the room is available; continental or full at your discretion and well priced. Free on-site parking, also.
MOST amazing is the price. A double room, (some with an additional single bed at no extra cost) was AUS $125! Per NIGHT, not person.
This Hotel is perfectly placed to enjoy all that Glenelg, the premier seaside town in Adelaide, has to offer. Steps to an abundance of bars, restaurants and shopping.( Girls' weekend, honeymoon, getaway.. all great here)
I think the back rooms of this hotel are less desirable, and therefore cheaper, but for the price, in this area, there must be none that beat the MARINA VIEW rooms, for such value. Other hotels, without a view, in the same area were charging between AUS $250 and $380 per night.
I was soooo surprised at this value for money on my own doorstep. I know they don't have a website, but take the time to ring or Fax them...it's with the effort.
Well done, Buffalo, your Marina rooms are fantastic!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank kathryn5353
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elyluly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2015 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015
Thank s_modolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2011
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biara010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.1 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
769 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn Haven Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Motor Inn

Address: 766 Anzac Hwy, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range: $93 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in seaside Glenelg overlooking picturesque Holdfast Shores Marina and Wigley Reserve. The closest motel to the beach, just a short walk to the many cafes, restaurants and hotels and cosmopolitan Jetty Road Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Buffalo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing