We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean, good value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Buffalo Motor Inn

Buffalo Motor Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Buffalo Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Glenelg B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Clean, good value, great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

The Buffalo Motor In seriously needs a make-over. It's very much a motel stuck in 1983. But that's about the only complaint I have. Our room was spotless, the bathroom was super-clean and the beds were comfortable. Breakfast isn't included, but you get a mini-fridge, kettle and toaster. The customer service is also very good. The real reason to stay here, though, is the location It's about a 4 minute walk to the beach, the tram stop to the city and Glenelg's restaurants and shops. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Towards the back, so you're away from the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di_Sydney_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    35
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
14
29
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, vic
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights in a spa room upstairs, never had any problems with chemical smell as someone else has said, room was clean, some furnishings were outdated like the bedside table with the laminate wood peeling but other than that, clean well kept room, had the usual bits, decent sized mini fridge, lcd tv with pay tv channels, microwave, toaster/kettle etc. air con looked old ish but it worked a treat! even thou motel was on a busy highway still had decent sleep, there are other rooms back from road so if u were worried one of them would be better. location was great, so close to walk to many many restaurants for tea, main strip of glenelg and catch the tram into city, 2 min walk to the beach, would return and stay here for those facts alone everything was so close and stay was comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coonalpyn
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2013 via mobile

Friendly service but the rooms need a very much needed update. Although the rooms are meant to be non smoking there're was a very strong stale cigarette smell in the bathroom. A $200 credit card authorisation was held for over a week before the funds were released.

Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin Henry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glenelg hotels

Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2013

Within easy walking distance to Glenelg strip, Trams and Beach. Clean room with very tired furnishings and facilities. Always smelled of cleaning chemicals when entering the room. The bed must be the oldest still in use anywhere - brown stained, and the bedspread has very obvious spot-cleaning marks on it. We were happy to reuse towels but they were changed every day, regardless. No laundry facilities - not good for extended stay. Room has toaster etc but no plates or cutlery. Foxtel did not work properly - very limited choice and low res picture. Was offered $50 per night upgrade special to a room on the first floor with a view of the park... nah. Noisy with children playing on stairs and in car park. Smelly ashtrays in front of every room a feature!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

We purely booked a room here online as it was in a good location and was reasonably priced for the area. As a bonus it advertised a complimentary continental breakfast. The rooms are spacious and acceptable with everything you need. Basic place, nothing flash. When we checked out there was no mention of any free breakfast and when I asked the lady at the desk said it was a computer error and the free breakfast deal should have been taken off the website. As a result we got no free breakfast as advertised. This thoroughly disappointed me. She offered to get it for us eventually but it meant going back to our room to have it however our taxi was waiting to take us to the airport. Don't believe everything advertised!!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttons81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

Excellent motel great service from the time you get picked up at the airport excellent service at book in and clean quiet rooms . We stay there regularly and always get friendly service.l would be more than happy to recommend the motel to anyone. The people who drive the bus are always very pleasant and nothing is a problem to them. At check in you get excellent service. The people there are always happy and always very pleasant. Great motel to stay at.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaysmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

Very nice bloke on check in, couldn't have been friendlier and always let on when seeing us about the place.

This motel is comfortable and does the job. Perfect location at the end of Anzac and close to the centre of Glenelg.

Glenelg is very busy and expensive during the summer but this place was very reasonable at $110 a night. I would stay here again if I was to visit Glenelg and would have no problems recommending it.

It is a motel so don't expect the world but if you want good value, clean rooms, aircon and a central location then you can't go wrong here

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hostelhunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glenelg hotels
0.3 mi away
Stamford Grand Adelaide
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Tower Motor Inn
0.2 mi away
Ensenada Motor Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Oaks Plaza Pier Apartment Hotel
0.6 mi away
Seawall Apartments
Seawall Apartments
#1 of 7 in Glenelg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
0.3 mi away
Glenelg Beach Hostel
Glenelg Beach Hostel
#4 of 12 in Glenelg
4.0 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buffalo Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffalo Motor Inn

Property: Buffalo Motor Inn
Address: 766 Anzac Hwy, Glenelg, South Australia 5045, Australia
Location: Australia > South Australia > Greater Adelaide > Glenelg
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Glenelg
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffalo Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in seaside Glenelg overlooking picturesque Holdfast Shores Marina and Wigley Reserve. The closest motel to the beach, just a short walk to the many cafes, restaurants and hotels and cosmopolitan Jetty Road Shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Buffalo Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing