We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food but service could be better” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pride of India

Pride of India
Ranked #98 of 155 Restaurants in Glenelg
Price range: $10 - $19
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Lovely food but service could be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

The food was really lovely, traditional Indian cuisine with the usual accompaniments. We sat out on the balcony which was fab, and a little cooler on a very hot night. However, the service wasn't great, and after our meal we got asked to leave as they wanted to close the restaurant!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Hellsbellsbarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    26
    9
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tumut, Australia
Level Contributor
106 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great food ...... worth finding !!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

We booked this restaurant on a Our Deal voucher and overall it was a worthy investment.
For $49 for two we shared a mixed entree, had 2 naans, enjoyed delicious Butter Chicken & Lamb Rogan Josh and had 2 soft drinks each . The lady finished it off with vanilla ice cream which was ok, but not outstanding.
Pride of India is a bit hard to find but worth it ..... this explains why their patronage is down.

It's a pity ..... coz the food quality is EXCELLENT !!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank TumutTravellers5142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Level Contributor
97 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“good Indian food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The food is good, and decent size serves, great value for the money.
The atmosphere is quite poor, unless you sit outside on the balcony. The staff are friendly and attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DebsAdelaide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
209 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Nice Indian Fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2013

Food was very tasty and melted in the mouth. Service was pretty good. Sat on the balcony and watched the trams and people pass by.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
adelaide
Level Contributor
119 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Decent tasty food but lack lustre service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

The Pride of India is pleasantly situated upstairs off Jetty Road Glenelg. We visited on a Tuesday night and over the course of the two hours we were there only five other customers were in the restaurant, though it would get busier on a weekend I assume. We had Mixed Pakhora, which was a pureed spinach and other vegetable content, deep fried into a ball, and Paneer Pakhora, which was deep fried paneer in batter- these ones were rather tasteless and the batter overwhelmed the paneer. For mains we share entree sized mattar paneer, which was tasty, Dahl Mahkni, which was good and thick and enjoyable, and Aloo Ghobi, which was fine as well. The Naan breads were well cooked and flavoursome. The food is well priced and good value. The service though was very lack lustre- I arrived first and ordered a drink, but when the others arrived we had to catch the eye of the waitress who was staring off in the middle distance behind the bar- this became a common occurrence throughout the night, and it was also odd that when our mains were served, she brought out the savoury dishes first, then went and slowly started clearing off a table away from us and we waited about 7-10 minutes for her to bring the rice and breads. This may have been an issue in the kitchen but overall the waiting service seemed detached and unenthusiastic. This really was the only flaw.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank khmersrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pride of India also viewed

Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Adelaide, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
Glenelg, Greater Adelaide
 

Been to Pride of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing