We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good budget motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Motor Inn Toowoomba
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A good budget motel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2012

Good:
- Affordable, clean rooms
- Breakfast option
- Central location in Toowoomba, yet quiet at night

Not so good:
- $100 security deposit taken upon arrival (never heard of that)
- Tiny wash basin in bath room due to elongated shape of bathroom

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitework
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobGap, Owner at City Motor Inn Toowoomba, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
We would like to thank you for your review. It is great to get feedback about our motel, which we are very proud of.
We just wanted to explain about the $100 security deposit.
The majority of guests are genuine, honest people in need of accommodation but sadly there are guests who are not.
Due to certain circumstances, we introduced a security deposit for guests who pay via Cash, EFTPOS or Debit Card (Either by cash, charge to a card or a Credit Card imprint). Debit Card quite often don't have funding to pay for additional charges.
A guest paying via Credit Card will not be required to pay the security deposit.
From experience staying in Hotels & Motels around the world. I can not even stay at a Hotel or Motel without supplying a Credit Card imprint (and Passport) on Check-in. Many of our guests don't have either of these.
There are situations where guests do not look after rooms, smoke in room or charge back accounts to their rooms. It is very difficult for the motel to recoup any repairs, charges or damages done once the guest has checked out, if a guest has paid by Cash, Debit Card or EFTPOS.
The transaction is very simple at the time of check-in and then refunded immediately at check-out.
Again, we would like to thank you for staying at the City Motor Inn, Toowoomba and hope to see you again on your next visit.
Rob & Adam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    49
    14
    4
    15
See reviews for
29
58
18
39
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fremantle, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2012

I spent a night while working in Toowoomba, I originally stayed here because it was very cheap when looking at options online. To my surprise I dsicovered it is also very clean and comfortable, the hosts have put alot of thought into including neccessities for business travellers. Breakfast was fresh and lovely, service fantastic. I will be using this accommodation for all my future business trips to Toowoomba.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lando343
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2012

If you want good value for money spent -- then look no further . Clean and tidy , with off street parking available , ensures you have a good place to stay without breaking the budget . The continental breakfast that is on offer has plenty of variety , and is continually topped up by the owners , -- a good way to kickstart the next day . We have stayed at the City Motor Inn 6 times over the last 14 months , and the standard has always been consistant . Good value and a great place to stay . Graham & Anne , QLD .

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mundubbera, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2012

I stayed here because it was close enough to the city centre for my needs and because I found a great special. The hotel is easy to find, and is lovely and quiet. The rooms were confortable and modern and well equiped.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise_Qld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2012

I have been travelling to Toowoomba every two months since January 2011 for work and have stayed at CITY MOTOR INN every time and will continue do to so!

The rooms are very reasonably priced considering how clean, comfortable and well appointed they are. After staying in plenty of motels around Australia I can honestly say that this one ticks all the right boxes, including keeping the boss happy with low tariffs!

A yummy and fresh continental brekky in a nice little 'restaurant room' is only a few extra dollars which includes a couple of newspapers, the news on in the corner and a chat with other guests. There's even a big communal lounge with computer, printer and bigger telly with Austar (which all the rooms have too). I've also stayed in one of the family rooms on a visit which was HUGE and even had a kitchen.

As a young female travelling alone, it's reassuring to know that the premises are secure and the hosts are just a phone call or visit down the hall away. A laundry, off-street parking and a nice outdoor area are also provided.

Of all the motels I could stay at in the area, I still keep going back to City Motor Inn for the value, comfort, handy location and friendly hosts. HIGHLY RECOMMEND!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emily P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2011

I would stay here again. What I liked: polite owners, clean rooms, comfortable beds, and a large bathroom. I also noticed that the rooms are very quiet considering there is a lot of traffic around.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quilpie, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

I have stayed at a few different motel in Toowoomba and I must say this was the best one, l know that it is the only place that l will be staying at when ever l have to go to Toowoomba. As for the bad reports l don't know what your problem is there is nothing wrong with the place. As for the Managers they are nice and very friendly.
Rooms were very clean and tidy with plenty of room in them.

Room Tip: All rooms would be great
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Faye-07-1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Toowoomba hotels
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Grammar View
Comfort Inn Grammar View
#9 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 169 reviews
0.7 mi away
MAS Country Platinum International
0.1 mi away
Highlander Motor Inn
Highlander Motor Inn
#1 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Downs Motel
Downs Motel
#13 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
0.7 mi away
Leichhardt Motor Inn
Leichhardt Motor Inn
#16 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.3 mi away
Coachman Motel
Coachman Motel
#24 of 43 in Toowoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Motor Inn Toowoomba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Motor Inn Toowoomba

Property: City Motor Inn Toowoomba
Address: 195a West St, Toowoomba, Queensland 4350, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Toowoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 Hotels in Toowoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Motor Inn Toowoomba 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The City Motor Inn has reasonable rates (overnight or weekly). Clean, comfortable & quiet rooms. Located 150m off the Warrego H'way.Continental buffet breakfast available. Free wireless broadband. Guest lounge & internet access. Guest laundry. Direct dial phones. Directly opposite Toowoomba Base Hospital.Close to Toowoomba city centre, City Golf Club, Toowoomba Show Grounds. Nearby, local attractions, shopping centers, fast food & restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your City Motor Inn Toowoomba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing